We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 147: English reviews
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not many places you get serenaded as you eat! Good food and talented staff. This is a lovely wee village so interesting and the hotel is at the centre. Macadamia nut sellers abound in the streets. One ticket covers all the little museums.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maizedaisy
Villepreux
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great stay in the Bank House. Very friendly welcome from the staff and sleeping in a 1900 type of room was a great experience. We also had a very good dinner at the hotel's restaurant. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philippe S
Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We did not expect much of PIlgrims Rest, thought it would be a ghost town and a few fruit sellers next to the road, until we got the biggest surprise of our lives, it turned out to be a fun stay at the Royal Hotel, wonderful staff, food (those chicken peri peri livers for breakfast to die for, friendly service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erickE8063HE
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Erick Thank you so much for your positive review. Pilgrims Rest is a beautiful little town, and we're thrilled that you enjoyed your time here. Please watch our facebook page Royal Hotel MRTT, for special offers in December this year. Kind Regards Lella

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We stayed at the Royal Hotel in August for our babymoon for 2 nights. While the town is pretty and the hotel charming and staff helpful and friendly, it leaves a lot to be desired. The bed in our room in the Bank Annex was terribly uncomfortable, though the room is beautiful and the bath and finishing lovely. Breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarozaneS
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Ms Marozane Thanks for your review. We will certainly address your complaint regarding the "uncomfortable bed", our mattresses have recently been replaced. I am sorry to note that you din't enjoy the breakfast. Our food is frehsly prepared, and we are strict on the quality. Our coffee is a well known Dutch brand which is enjoyed internationally, however,...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We recently stopped at the Royal Hotel - initially for a hot drink after a long bike ride but ended up having lunch there as well. Although they were set up for a buffet style lunch we just ordered a smaller a la carte meal which was good. Nice sized portion and well-priced. The service was very good and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona_and_Mark_RSA
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Fiona and Mark Thank you for your positive review, we are encouraged by guests who enjoy their time here. I will address the various "street sellers" as they are aware that we do not allow them to offer goods to guests who are eating on our verandah. There are numerous committed local business owners who are trying very hard...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Traveling around the Sabie and Graskop area, my family and I visited Pilgrims Rest for the first time in 11 years. We were apprehensive, as so many negative publicity and talk about this historic town made the rounds. After a busy day, visiting natural wonders close by, we decided to enjoy lunch at the well-known and historic Royal Hotel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hennelie
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Hennelie Thanks so much for your positive report. The team is always thrilled to hear about what we are doing right! Please feel free to like our facebook page Royal Hotel MRTT, and lookout for December Specials on accommodation. Kind Regards Lella

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is pretty unique, this area is totally unique. It's hard to actually express the feelings you get at the Royal or in the town. Wander around in the stillness of the night, after a fair few sundowners in the hotel bar, and step back 150 years into the old South Africa. Look into the skies and see the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Richard Thanks for your review, we're thrilled that you feel the beauty and unique stillness of the town and area, Pilgrims really is a very special little place! it's very encouraging to hear from people who feel the Magic! I am working hard together with our team to change our food style, and I believe next time you visit...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The hotel is very nice! The quality of the food at the restaurant (self service) is not acceptable, it was the worst experience (actually the only bad one) we had during our three-weeks stay in South Africa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andreanic198
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Andre We're really pleased that you liked the hotel, but very sad that you didn't enjoy the restaurant. Please would you be so kind as to send me an email with details about your experience, so that I can address the problem areas with the team. (royal@rhpilgrims.co.za) Thank you and kind regards Lella

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We had lunch at The Royal Hotel in a recent visit. This is the only building left in Pilgrims Rest that looks like it is being properly cared for, the old hotel looks the part as the town meeting place and is popular as a lunch stop. The food was simple but good and they catered for children with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrendanL26
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brendan Thanks for your review, the team at The Royal Hotel are always pleased to hear about what we are doing right! Please do keep spreading the word that Pilgrims Rest is still alive, there is a committed community doing everything they can to work together with Government to ensure that visitors continue to enjoy the experience. Kind Regards...

Cape Town
Reviewed 18 August 2016

There was something incredibly special and genuine about this hotel - time stood still and my team and I were at complete rest. The staff and service was incredible with wonderful food served. Only the pillows were a little uncomfortable to sleep on, but overall we really enjoyed our stay surrounded by a multitude of natural wonders.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 721devond
Lella S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Devon Thanks so much for your positive review, and we're thrilled that you felt how special the place is! I will certainly address the pillows, would you be so kind as to inbox us with regard to which room/s you stayed in, if you can remember? Thanks again Kind regards Lella

197 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (86)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilgrim's Rest
9.6 km away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
495 reviews
21.4 km away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
24.3 km away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Nkambeni Safari Camp
Nkambeni Safari Camp
#96 of 166 in Kruger National Park
323 reviews
6.7 km away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
471 reviews
9.8 km away
Westlodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Main Road, Pilgrim's Rest 1290, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Pilgrim's Rest
Price Range: $105 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Pilgrims Rest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in the *Bank House in a 'honeymoon' room, which turned out to be a HUGE suite.”
 of 5 bubbles kjdbjd1983, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay away. This hotel is poorly managed.”
 of 5 bubbles 729marcd, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Loved the bank house the most”
 of 5 bubbles Sami365, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“There is no Fuel filling station or Cash Machine.”
 of 5 bubbles RENSHAWWELSH, 30 Nov 2015 | Read review
“We had the room up by the court house - It was quiet, comfortable and just so pretty!”
 of 5 bubbles Imissafrica, 9 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay