We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hulala Lakeside Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
Start your review of Hulala Lakeside Lodge
 Click to rate
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The setting is absolutely stunning, the food excellent and the room definitely worth mentioning. The rooms have a private lounge with the most beautiful timber beams. Unfortunately the rooms don't have bar-fridges but the management were quick to supply one on request. The main building has the most beautiful seating areas and a very cosy little library were one can...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 55andmore
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight and the views of the lake were totally amazing. The accommodation is beautiful and very comfortable beds too. We missed the sunset cruise but will definitely be back there for a longer stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haba01
Management response:

thank you so much for your wonderful review. we look forward to welcoming you back to Hulala very soon kind regards

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I spent a night at Hulala on our way home after a visit to Thornybush. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the main lodge building is charming. However the rooms are rather tired and in need of a facelift.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
Management response:

Thank you for you very nice review. with regards to the rooms there will be revamps happening later on in the year. i will make sure that the staff is given the great feed back that you have given regarding them. we look forward to welcoming you back to Hulala . kind regards the Hulala Team

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A step back in time almost. A very colonial style hotel with wood paneled library and oriental rugs everywhere. A fantastic setting with the lake, a nice pool and very pleasant bar for the evening G&T. Close to kruger for the game drives and Gods Window and other scenic attractions within an hour. Would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HughWB
Management response:

Thank you for your wonderful review we look forward to welcoming you back to Hulala in the Future

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 15 January 2017

A lovely relaxing stay, beautiful setting and helpful staff, even putting a small bar fridge in our room as we had to keep medication cold.Dinners were like reasonable home cooking, adequate but not exciting, breakfast again were adequate but perhaps could do with a little more imagination. Room was clean, comfortable and had all amenities you would need. The little...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X7884IEdaves
Management response:

Good Day thank you for your review. The Hulala team likes positive feed back on all points as this keeps us on our toes and makes us go the extra mile. All the points that you have brought to our attention will be noted and dealt with we look forward to welcoming you back to Hulala

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The Lodge is in a lovely location with a pool and view over a lake in the distance. Food was good and service friendly. One small problem: the kettle, which worked at reception, would not work in the bedroom where there was electricity, perhaps because it was too powerful for the sockets there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
JHB
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We decided on a last minute booking at Hulala where I had last stayed 25 years ago . great to see that some things don't change but just get better. We enjoyed the birdlife and outdoor activities. An ideally situated location for exploring the Lowveld.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 313rolandb
Management response:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. it is when our guest experience this kid of enjoyment it only encourages our team to go that extra mile.

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

i cannot fault Hulala for excellence in food , service and rooms. A real effort was made by both staff and management in respect of all interactions with us. This is a boutique hotel but with a personal feel which suits both family and business guests. My only small quibble is that on Christmas Day where an extra R320.00 pp...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank FreewheelinJames
Management response:

thank you so much for your wonderful review for Hulala. we will keep in mind your comment on the placing of he table, for future reference. and apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused yourself and your guest. the Hulala team looks forward to welcoming you back to Hulala in the future.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

I stayed there many times before. The breakfast was not good with flies climbing on the food and nobody to look after the food. Waiters are not trained well and misunderstand requests and that was imbarrising with a partner.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 919hermans
Management response:

Thank you for your Review , i will personally be looking into your comments and making sure that when you visit the lodge again that all the concerns that you have mentioned would have been taken care of . the Hulala team look forward to welcoming you back soon

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

This lodge offers 2 options of day or sunset boat cruise. The cruise is an hour long with snacks served on board but drinks are own expense. Enjoyed spectacular views and the serenity!! The cost is reasonably affordable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (68)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these White River hotels
3.9 km away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
218 reviews
5.5 km away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
182 reviews
12.0 km away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#2 of 10 in White River
277 reviews
2.0 km away
Casterbridge Hollow
Casterbridge Hollow
#3 of 10 in White River
290 reviews
3.2 km away
Nut Grove Manor
Nut Grove Manor
#2 of 37 in White River
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hulala Lakeside Lodge is situated on the da Gama Dam surrounded by a Forrest of Indigenous Trees and is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Enjoy our daily Cruise around the Dam and take in the peace and tranquility while experiencing the extensive Bird life. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hulala Lakeside Lodge

Address: Farm Etna R40 between White River and Hazyview Mpumalanga 1240 | P. O. Box 1382, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Price Range: $178 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hulala Lakeside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hulala Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hulala Lakeside Hotel White River
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hulala Lakeside Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hulala Lakeside Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The king size with the view of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles 477dm, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms with view over lake are the best”
 of 5 bubbles nb12015, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 22 Good view over the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles neliakuys, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Depends on your choice, garden view or lake view”
 of 5 bubbles Bridgit312578, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room close to the reception.”
 of 5 bubbles gustavon462, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5