We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Cecil John Rhodes Guest House

    138 Du Toitspan Way | Northern Cape, Kimberley 8301, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017Check In 30/10/2017Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Traveller (9)
    Room & Suite (18)
    Dining (2)
    Overview
    • Excellent35%
    • Very good40%
    • Average11%
    • Poor14%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “guest house” (6 reviews)
    “a lovely stay” (2 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Airport Transportation
    Suites
    Business Centre
    Laundry Service
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    View all 0 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (34)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 31 reviews

    Reviewed 9 September 2017

    The room was an average room. We were not told it had no shower and it had a smallish slipper bath and we could not change for a room with a shower. The bed creaked everytime you turned The aircon was either malfunctioning because it...More

    Thank amandagrobler7
    Response from Melezaan, Owner at Cecil John Rhodes Guest HouseResponded 11 September 2017

    Thank you for the review. Is was nice to have you and Heinrich with us. We were fully booked and the only available room had a Victorian style bath. Unfortunately when you changed your booking date, the guest house was already full, so we could...More

    Reviewed 8 September 2017

    Sick of staying in the usual soul-less modern hotel room, we opted for a guest house on this occasion and were glad we did. Our two rooms were far from identical in this quaint heritage home and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The beds were...More

    Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
    Thank Eric L
    Response from Melezaan, Owner at Cecil John Rhodes Guest HouseResponded 11 September 2017

    Thank you so much for the kind words. We honestly get so much joy out of reviews like this. We love our old house and is makes it so much nicer when our guests like it too.

    Reviewed 27 August 2017

    We found the rooms to be comfortable and large. They have a lovely garden. As we were leaving early the following morning, we had our breakfast at 7am. The service was prompt and the breakfast was very tasty.

    Thank AnnKzn
    Response from Melezaan, Owner at Cecil John Rhodes Guest HouseResponded 29 August 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We appreciate the kind words.

    Reviewed 20 June 2017

    We were made to feel very welcome at home by the staff and the service was excellent. The room was everything one would expect of such a comfortable home. It really does feel like home from home. Breakfast was freshly made according to every individuals...More

    Thank TheunsvdMerwe
    Response from Melezaan, Owner at Cecil John Rhodes Guest HouseResponded 21 June 2017

    Thank you for the kind review. It is always a pleasure to pamper kind and friendly guests like yourselves. We are glad you could sleep in a little and enjoy a late breakfast with friends. We hope to see you again on your next tour.

    Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

    After 3 weeks of correspondence we got a final sad letter stating more excuses than apologies with apsolute no payback or retribution of any kind. Firstly there is no tea garden or beautiful garden as advertised. Instead we found a dirty unkept patio with bird...More

    Thank 779antoinettef
    Response from Melezaan, Owner at Cecil John Rhodes Guest HouseResponded 20 June 2017

    It is very difficult to respond to this review after more than 5000 words have been written in correspondence. We have stayed calm and professional throughout. It is abundantly clear that the only reply this guests is interested in, is a refund (free stay). Review...More

    Garden Court Kimberley
    326 reviews
    #1 of 10 hotels in Kimberley
     
    Kimberley Anne Hotel
    55 reviews
    #2 of 10 hotels in Kimberley
     
    Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
    245 reviews
    #3 of 10 hotels in Kimberley
     
    Kimberley Club
    146 reviews
    #4 of 10 hotels in Kimberley
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Laundry Service
    • Airport Transportation
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$82 - US$86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 8
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cecil John Rhodes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Northern Cape >
    • Kimberley
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (9)
    Room & Suite (18)
    Dining (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (5)
    Nearby
    Kimberley Club
    146 reviews
    .63 km away
     
    Protea Hotel by Marriott Kimberley
    245 reviews
    1.55 km away
     
    Garden Court Kimberley
    326 reviews
    .16 km away
     
    Kimberley Anne Hotel
    55 reviews
    2.74 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Mohawk Spur Steak Ranch
    67 reviews
    .15 km away
    The Kimberley Club and Boutique Hotel
    80 reviews
    .64 km away
    Panarottis Kimberley
    43 reviews
    .47 km away
    Nando's Kimberley
    16 reviews
    .59 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    The Big Hole Kimberley
    576 reviews
    1.69 km away
    Kimberley Mine Museum
    178 reviews
    1.62 km away
    McGregor Museum
    73 reviews
    1.07 km away
    Felidae Centre
    27 reviews
    4.80 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Cecil John Rhodes Guest House staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Ask if you prefer a shower instead of bathroom when booking"
    Read review
    "Request a room at the back of the house away from the busy main road."
    Read review
    "All rooms are spacious and charming."
    Read review
    "The family room."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing