We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Palace of the Lost City

Hotels.comUS$241*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$519*
US$241*
Great Deal
US$248*
US$256*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Palace of the Lost City
The Palace of the Lost City
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,837 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Palace of the Lost City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,359: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had 3 nights in a double room on the 8th floor, spectacular! We really felt like we were staying in a royal palace - the amenities were outstanding. The buffet breakfast and afternoon tea were really special. The staff are very professional yet friendly. We loved the valet parking on arrival and our experiences just got more impressive as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PennyMc2212
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear PennyMc2212 thank you so much for your 'awesome" review of your stay at The Palace. Fantastic to see you had such a wonderful time here. We hope to see you soon again!! Kind regards

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice clean room with great amenities...very attentive staff and the food is always on point. We attended a golf tournament charity event and truly enjoyed ourselves. You must walk the golf course to see the crocs!!! You can also see the elephants walking around on the hills and other wildlife on the course including snakes!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Eric T Wonderful to see you had such a wonderful time at The Palace. Walking the pathways on the golf course is a must indeed!!! Kind regards

South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We used to visit the Palace many years ago. Returned after approx 15 years. It's still iconic and beautiful. The service is top notch as it should be. From arrival to departure. Our room was upgraded. The room is exactually how it was years ago. Only the Nespresso machine is new. But was wonderful. Can only praise the staff. Highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirls45
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Shirls45 We appreciate your review of your stay at The Palace!! Hope to see you soon again!! Warm regards

Kolkata
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was a grand experience....the size...the grandeur....the rooms ...the landscaping....the buffet spread ...all worth it. The room service and housekeeping were good too..the coffee maker was excellent. We had 2 interconnected rooms and everything was simply nice except for the size of the loo...it was simply too small(can't say how an oversized person would fit in) . And above can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulmamoon
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Paulmamoon Great to see you had such a wonderful experience at The Palace. Kind regards

Iran
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

hey guys this hotel is amazing i really enjoyed the food and the rooms view was great you can see the city when you go up (top of the tower ) you can also go there for water park ,quad bike or zipline you can relax 😎 there with your family people who work in this hotel they're really kind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kianafi
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear kianafi Wonderful to see you had a great time here. As you say there are a lot of activities that can be done here. Kind regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is stunning. Designed by the man who brought us Atlantis in Dubai and Nassau, you can really see the similarities. The only major downside for me was there was no system in place to combat the flies going on all the food. In the lesser star hotels on the resort of Sun City they had better systems so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs H
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Mrs H Your review is appreciated Kind regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I recently stayed at the palace for my wedding anniversary for 4 nights. I was really looking forward to it and being a 5 star hotel I expected the the appropriate level of service. The Palace let me down on 3 occasions. 1. Our room was not being cleaned properly and we were not receiving fresh water each day. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roma B
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Roma B please accept our apologies for the poor service received during your stay. We, as a management team will investigate all the matters raised and put systems in place to prevent reoccurrences. Yours sincerely

cape town
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment you arrive, you will be treated like royalty at the Palace of the Lost City. The surroundings and rooms are beautifully decorated and everything screams 'lush'. Well trained staff, a short walk to the valley of the waves with free access. Once you parked your car inside the resort, you will not need it again as every...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank scarletmat
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear scarletmat Thank you so much for you "treated like royalty "review. We are glad we created so many lasting memories. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Palace Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A beautiful hotel, but the management and service were lacking. We had booked through booking.com for two adults and a child and upon arrival the child was not reflected on their system. We had the booking confirmation which indicated the child. So instead of giving us a family room and resolving it on their side later. They made it our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ameera_Faber
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Ameera_Faber We apologize for the poor service received. We will investigate how the booking was made, and why your child was not reflected in the booking. Yours sincerely

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Is not my cup of tea, is very luxurious, rich and big, many facilities, excellent service, food is mediocre. The pool is big and clean, you will always find something to do. Once again, if you like it......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deddie C
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Deddie C Thank you for taking the time to review The Palace. Kind regards

2,771 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2268)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (709)
Viewed
Dining (186)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (182)
Viewed
Room/Suite (190)
Viewed
Bathroom (80)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (838)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (403)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Luxury Family Room (78)
Viewed
Luxury Room with Pool View (71)
Viewed
Luxury Twin Room (81)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)
Viewed
The Palace Pool Deck (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.6 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
596 reviews
383.9 km away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#4 of 6 in Sun City
459 reviews
3.8 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.6 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
5.4 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
630 reviews
32.4 km away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Price Range: $359 - $733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Palace of the Lost City staff and other travellers.
71 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (71)

Questions? Get answers from The Palace of the Lost City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on the West Side has a pool view”
fortunes957, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Pool Facing Suites”
shirleyf697, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Bring your own shampoo conditioner and bottled water”
chardraper1, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on higher floors give a good view”
Ramanagg, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were great (We had 4) and all were amazing!”
333Gary, 17 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$241* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$248
PricelineUS$256
AMOMAUS$519
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates