We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cabanas, Sun City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

632 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 569: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Paid almost $300 per night to stay at the cabanas sun city. The room was so small and claustrophobic. They did not replace any toiletries , and I had to phone housekeeping daily to even get clean towels. Worse if all is that we had to stand in long queues to have buffet breakfast in the morning, yet they had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renu P
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The cabanas is a hotel with 380 rooms, not very spacious but got everything you need. Flat screen TV with a lot of channels to choose from. Comfortable king-size bed and a powerful shower to cool off, Cause it's hot here! Rooms were redone so it's quite nice in white and green. Coffee /tea station in room.Shuttle bus service to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nella64oosthuizen
NicolevSchal, Secretary at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for the feedback on your stay with us. We are happy that we exceeded your expectation. We try and create this environment for all our guests staying with us. Hope the memory will last until you visit us again Kind regards Nicole van Schalkwyk Secretary to Vanessa Hoover Cabanas Hotel Manager Sun City Resort

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went there expecting a 'wow". Just a hotel that is not cleaned properly with smelly drains. Kids enjoyed themselves though. Would not recommend to anyone maybe other places to but not the Cabanas. The reception is terrible, had to wait in a queue upon arrival and checkout. How can you have 1 receptionist working during festive season.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tshireletso N
NicolevSchal, Secretary at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Guest Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and your family at our hotel. We are pleased that you alerted us on this so that we can address it and it must never happen to anyone again. We have spoken to the Front Office management for lack of service in this areas. We hope you find it...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was recently revamped. The rooms are small but just large enough for a couple for I would say not more than a weekend. Entry to the value of waves is included in the room rate as well as a buffet breakfast. The room we stayed in was equipped with a shower, smart television, hair dryer, small bar fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tishaf243
NicolevSchal, Secretary at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Sun Cabanas. We hope you took lots of memories back home to share with those who have never been to Sun City. Hope to see you soon Kind Regards Nicole van Schalkwyk Secretary to Vanessa Hoover Cabanas Hotel Manager Sun City Resort

Reviewed 1 week ago

A one night stay with family at the Cabanas in December was not the "wow" experience I had hoped it would be. Staff were friendly enough and I have to commend staff at concierge desks and those driving guests around the resort - they were extremely helpful and polite. I had been told about the extensive "upgrades" made to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GJBV
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for the review on your stay at the Cabanas. We apologise that we did not meet your expectation in all areas you went to during your stay. We value the time you took to give us extensive and useful feedback about your overall stay. We try and create great memories for all our guests...

Liskeard,Cornwall
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Cabanas for one night in December 2016 with my family. The staff seemed very friendly and willing to help in my experience. However, when entering the hotel room, the second sofa bed was basically just a futon that pulled out into a mattress on the floor. It wasn't particularly comfortable either. No bedding was supplied for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank hammonda
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for the feedback on your stay in December. We are thankful for your comments as they will make us continue to improve our service. We apologise that not all our services met your expectations. We hope that you will accept our apology and return to Sun City resort for your next holiday. Sincere regards Ntebi Mathope...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Maybe my fault for looking to manage budget on a 3-night stay in Sun City recently so booked a family room at Cabanas Hotel. Check in (luckily) was okay - though by no means welcoming. Room was distinctly average and motel-like. Sofa bed bedding was pretty grotty looking. The TV is internet linked and was not working so we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank njhh2014
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for the review on your recent stay. We are sorry that not all your expectations were met. We try hard to ensure your stay is a memorable one and we can see that this was not fully memorable. The breakfast area is a very busy area and we agree the earlier you are the better it...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Cabanas for a few days to watch a schools tennis tournament. The rooms were tiny, the staff indifferent and the food very ordinary. The only thing appealing was the walk along the golf cart route in the early evening. It is totally overrated and the entire experience undesirable and unappealing. The kids enjoyed the Valley of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jodirobertson2015
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank your for the feedback on your stay during the tennis tournament. We apologise that not all met your expectations. We are pleased that the kids enjoyed the Valley Of waves and that you enjoyed your walk at the golf course. We wish you will accept our apology and come visit us again Kind regards Ntebi Mathope Hotel...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for one night with my family in January. Check in took 45 minutes, and staff were rude and unfriendly. Rooms didnt have towels and bar fridges were empty. Staff at the pool were rude and unfriendly and service was extremely slow. So glad we only booked for one night wont be back again. So overpriced for what we got...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MJRaddall
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear guest We would like to thank you for sending us your feedback on your stay. We value your feedback as it will make us improve in the future. We consider your feedback important as it will make us focus on the areas mentioned and create more great memories to future guests. We apologise that we did not meet your...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Cabanas over New Years 2017. Firstly, avoid Sun City over New Years. It is hugely overcrowded and Sun City places no limitations on the numbers of people it will jam into the wave pool, etc. so you find yourself as a hotel guest fighting over facilities with the rest of the day visitors. Sun City is beautiful with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lathspel
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you so much for the feedback on your stay with us. We would like to apologise for not creating positive or great memories during your stay. We have note all the comments and will definitely address them with all the departments involved. We will have all staff trained as per your recommendation and as per our procedures...

619 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (260)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Accessible Room (55)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Family Room with Lake View (51)
Viewed
Other (15)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)
Viewed
Twin Room with Lake View (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.0 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
1.3 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#3 of 6 in Sun City
549 reviews
383.0 km away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#4 of 6 in Sun City
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.0 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
4.5 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
707 reviews
4.9 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The refreshing, laid back ambiance of the Cabanas hotel in South Africa is the immediate impression one receives upon welcome. The most relaxed of all the Sun City hotels, the Cabanas offer informal yet comfortable accommodation close to Johannesburg. All rooms offer modern decor and a retro design. Guests can choose between standard and luxury rooms, all are air-conditioned and equipped with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, electronic safes and telephones. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cabanas, Sun City

Address: Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Price Range: $167 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas, Sun City 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cabanas, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cabanas, Sun City staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Cabanas, Sun City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake view rooms have a view of the lake but is further from the reception area where the pool is and breakfast is served.”
 of 5 bubbles Tishaf243, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms closer to the reception are always better and possibly ground floor rooms which have access to the gardens -”
 of 5 bubbles anandcheddie, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“look for special rates on trip adviser”
 of 5 bubbles 87elskek, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Take 2 rooms if you a family of 4...making it very expensive”
 of 5 bubbles brianhT4052EN, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay in lake facing family rooms with kids on ground level”
 of 5 bubbles SchnoobieDoo, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay