We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cabanas

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cabanas
Cabanas
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

670 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cabanas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 602: English reviews
Johannesburg
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Sun city is a good stay but expensive with food and drinks, but understandably. Good service from staff. Water just extremely cold even in the kiddies pools. Alot of construction going on so in near future will be new place. Rooms and grounds neat an tidy and everything was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bigfix
Ntte, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your feedback on your past stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that once all is done in refurbishment the place will have a lot to offer. We hope to see you again to experience the place even more. Regards Ntebi Mathope Hotel Manager Sun Cabanas

Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Well very disappointed with the cabanas.Both pools under renovation and there for no bar facility's .Have to use the hotel facilities about 700 meters away and no warning on the Internet when booking. The Welcome center was closed on both of our visits .Saturday afternoon 15h30 and a Sunday morning 11h00.. A triathlon was being staged which necessitated extremely long...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John G
Ntte, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your feedback on your past holiday with us. We apologise that we did not meet your expectations. The Sun City hotel pool if fully operational as we have to do yearly maintenance on our pools. We do not close both at once as we ensure that our guest has a swimming pool to use at...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Sun City is a great place to visit with lots of activities to keep a family entertained. It backs onto the Pilansberg Game Reserve which offers big 5 safaris. The Cabanas hotel has been fully refurbished and rooms whilst small are very well fitted and easily accommodated my wife and 2 children. The service at the hotel was slow and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craigyp2015
Ntte, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest We would like to thank you for taking time to send a review about your recent stay with us. We regret that we did not meet all your expectations. We value your feedback as it helps us to correct the gaps and give a better service. We will use this as a guide to address the service at...

Cape Town
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Attending a conference, this hotel was perfect for my requirements. Neat& tidy room, serviced daily. We spend more time at the conference venue, so I needed a good bed& nice bathroom. Perfect. Shuttle services works well. Lovely breakfast buffet. Pool& bar& loads of sun lounges avaliable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarlenaduToit
Ntte, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest We would like to thank you for giving us feedback on your stay with us during your conference. We are pleased that your stay was a memorable one and that we met your expectations. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us do more for our guests. Hope you visit us soon again Kind regards Ntebi...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2016

What an amazing place... Cabanas are excellent, fully air conditioned, very comfy beds and immaculate...only down side was the bees...millions of them.... High Tea at the Palace Hotel is a must...definitely be going back brilliant for all ages

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anniej390
Ntte, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. We can see that we exceeded your expectations in our overall service. We are really sorry about the bees and due to the Restaurant being an outdoor dining area, the bees visit are a concern sometimes. We continue to look for solutions involving everyone around here. Hope you...

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Good experience, great activities. Valley of the waves made the trip lots of fun for teenager, toddler and parents. Good selection of activities. Meals at cabanas sub par. Could have been better. Pool area well set up and great for relaxation. Staff service less than optimal. They ran out of towels and the kids play area was dirty. The pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RicRiche
Ntte, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest Sunny greetings from Sun City Resort! Thank you for the feedback on your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are important to us. We will definitely address them immediately. We hope you took great memories back home. Hope to see you again Regards Ntebi Mathope Hotel Manager Sun Cabanas

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Check In chaos, room allocated with a double bed for two adult males!! Cozy but no thanks! Thanks to the reception clerk who found a suitable room rate for two singles. Rooms - an interesting box with no windows but comfortable and only needed for sleeping anyway. Breakfast buffet - OK, a few disinterested staff made it tough on those...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman G
Ntte, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest Thanks very much for your feedback. We apprecaite the time you took to give us the experience you had with us. We regret that some areas did not meet your expectations. We will address the issues raised about the staff in the restaurant and all other comments. Sincere regards Ntebi Mathope Hotel Manager Sun Cabanas

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Cabanas was awesome for my 9 year old boy and 6 year girl. Plenty of kids activities, great pool area. The rooms have a refreshed new look and are comfortable, with exception of the poor beds! See photo attached.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zanele N
Ntte, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for the feedback received on your stay with us. We apologise for not meeting your expectations with our beds. We however are pleased that your kids enjoyed the activities around our hotel We hope to see you again Regards Ntebi Mathope Hotel Manager Sun Cabanas

Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

My doubts should have been confirmed when no one answered at reception after my 6th call,to inform them that we were arriving late!! Chaos it was!! After a long journey, we arrived at reception,to a crowd of people making a racket at the foyer. Reception was busy,so the wait was a while. When we finally got our room keys, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dr M Jina P
Ntte, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your feedback received. We really apologise for not meeting your expectations. It is not how we welcome our guests and make them feel at home. Our restaurant is an open plan restaurant and this brings challenge to us with regards to bees and flies sometimes. We continue to involve the Environmental department and the pest...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 April 2016

I was pleasantly surprized to find this hotel newly refurbished. It looks fresh and modern. It is situated close to the Sun City Waterworld Lake. So for families this is the best place to stay with fun filled days with activities like jetski, water ski, parasail and even sunset cruises or enjoy the hotel pool. And at night wow, entertainment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryEscapesSA
Ntte, Manager at Cabanas, responded to this review

Dear guest Sunny regards from Sun Cabanas! We would like to thank you for the review sent on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities the Resort has to offer. We hope that you took lots of great memories with you to share with friends and families. Kind regards Ntebi Mathope...

626 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (139)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Accessible Room (55)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Family Room with Lake View (51)
Viewed
Other (15)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)
Viewed
Twin Room with Lake View (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.3 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
591 reviews
0.9 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
383.0 km away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
4.5 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
752 reviews
31.6 km away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The refreshing, laid back ambiance of the Cabanas hotel in South Africa is the immediate impression one receives upon welcome. The most relaxed of all the Sun City hotels, the Cabanas offer informal yet comfortable accommodation close to Johannesburg. All rooms offer modern decor and a retro design. Guests can choose between standard and luxury rooms, all are air-conditioned and equipped with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, electronic safes and telephones. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cabanas

Address: R556 | Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Price Range: $164 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cabanas staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Cabanas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have toddlers, rather choose the garden units on the ground floor”
Nirasha_Sewpersad, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Doesnt matter you will hardly be in it...”
411KD, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lake view rooms have a view of the lake but is further from the reception area where the pool is and breakfast is served.”
Tishaf243, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms closer to the reception are always better and possibly ground floor rooms which have access to the gardens -”
anandcheddie, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“look for special rates on trip adviser”
87elskek, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5