We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kwena Chalets - Sun City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sun City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kwena Chalets - Sun City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

NIce place with an exotic feel that takes you away from your daily life and routine. It is clean, Service is good. Staff very helpful and kind. You re not very far from the markets and crocodile farm. It s nice and confortable and makes you feel you are in Africa in a very nice way.

Helpful?
Thank CTandyou
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights and if we could have we would have stayed longer. Fantastic room, service and amenities. Bus service fantastic too. Will absolutely go again though not sure when as I live in England. Thank you to everyone at Sun City

Helpful?
Thank marynorris
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We are here for the Sun City CANSA cycle race and specifically booked Kwena for a couple of reasons. Perfectly positioned for the start, quiet and out of the main hustle of sun city itself. Sadly, this year, Sun City has erected a hideous conference centre in the car park and appears to have had event after event. We have... More 

Helpful?
Thank sunrisedh100
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2016

This lodging location is located within the sun city and if you are staying here, you will get free pass to enter the Sun City (which is normally about 60 rand). Excellent breakfast compared to American hotels. Whoever want the experience of staying in an authentic Chalet should choose this lodging place. Safe place and staff are very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Brightgalaxy
vanessa800, Guest Relations Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Brightgalaxy Thank you for taking the time to rate our accommodation. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Have a fantastic week ahead Regards Vanessa More 

Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Emily assisted with the booking and she was wonderful and very helpful in every way. Better priced than accommodation within Sun City, and includes free access into the valley of waves. Breakfast was plain but sufficient The down side : Catching the free shuttle into sun city was difficult. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PCW131
vanessa800, Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to send such an amazing report. We are pleased that we have met some of your expectations. During the peak season it is difficult for the sun city transport to come within minutes (which they normally do). We will take this up with their managers to ensure this will not happen again.... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Kwena Chalets is the poorest accommodation within Sun City. Hugely over priced for what you get. We could have stayed at the main hotel for the same amount and received far more value. Our son had to share a bed with us on the first night as the forgot to make him up a bed, when they did it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank CandiceWyatt
vanessa800, Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is with great disappointment that we have not met your standards and we will strive to do better in the future. There was a miscommunication from Bookings.com when you booked for 2 people and No children. We are busy upgrading the premises and We are saddened that... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here the service was fantastic everyone was very friendly and willing to help and answer any questions we had the rooms we're really nice and clean the croc sanctuary was really great to see as soon as we arrived we were informed that the croc feeding was about to start and we were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie-lee H
vanessa800, Guest Relations Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Stevie-lee Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We pride ourselves in making every experience as personal and memorable as possible. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we have met your expectations. Regards Management More 

Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Sent couple of emails..no answer...phoned from overseas....no answer..tried again a few times eventually get through when someone answered the phone..spoke to someone about wanting to book and enquired rates..get passed between two different people one of them could barley understand / speak English (I am english south African). They were not very polite on the phone I asked some questions... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Mark J
vanessa800, Guest Relations Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Mark I sincerely apologize for the booking experience you have received. I ensure you proper training is given to every staff member. With every guest booking with us we try to make this experience as easy and pleasant as possible to meet the expectation of every guest. I do sincerely apologize once again and I hope you will consider... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Inferior accommodation for R3000 a night. Black mould in the shower, loose tap fittings, toilet that was continually running. Obviously no maintenance done on the chalets for a long time. Disinterested reception staff, who could hardly bring themselves to help....asked for a shuttle to Cascades and was waved in the direction of where we must wait, no smiles, no courteous... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Bea873
vanessa800, Guest Relations Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Bea We thank you for taking the time to communicate to us that we did not meet your expectations. We have immediately spoken to the employees present that weekend to evaluate your stay at our chalets. We highly appreciate your feedback and will contact you in the upcoming days. It is our goal to offer an amazing and personable... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Booked on the day for 1 nights stay. We were pleasantly surprised really Comfortable rooms (although the aircon felt a little weak in the heat), friendly staff, lovely to get away from all the crowds at sun city :)

Helpful?
Thank CarlaBlanckenberg
kwena312652, Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City, responded to this review

Dear Carla Thank you for your beautiful words. We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us here at Kwena Chalet and do hope to see you soon again. We will definitely be looking at the aircon in the room and promise to sort it out Regards Vanessa Lodewyk Kwena Chalets HOD More 

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
39.0 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
1.3 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
536 reviews
0.0 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 11 in Rustenburg
138 reviews
4.5 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
680 reviews
4.9 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our 14 luxury thatched roof chalets are decorated in warm, authentic African colours and relaxing themes, providing all necessary comforts. Breakfast is included in your chalet rate. Serving breakfast and light meals while overlooking our beautifully landscaped crocodile ponds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kwena Chalets - Sun City

Address: Kwena Gardens Trail, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Price Range: $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kwena Chalets - Sun City 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Sun City Kwena Chalets Hotel Sun City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kwena Chalets - Sun City staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Polokwane, South Africa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kwena Chalets - Sun City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seem quiet, we were in Limpopo and sometimes heard the quad bike and safaris go past during the day behind our chalet”
 of 5 bubbles 269reneep, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in bungalows 3 & 4 - next door to each other It suited our family as we needed twin beds for the teenagers.”
 of 5 bubbles Jacobs-Family-544, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in Rafiji and it was in the middle of the garden (not on the pathway) and it was very spacious (we were 2 adults and 2 kids).”
 of 5 bubbles debbieb842, 30 Jul 2014 | Read review
“As mentioned our rooms where no.1 and no.10 being the "Spacious Suite" and the "Family Chalet". These were basically facing each other, nice and close but with privacy.”
  • Our Spacious Suite Chalet from outside / entrance
 of 5 bubbles DonnaH939, 21 May 2014 | Read review
“Some rooms only have showers whereas some have a bath too.”
 of 5 bubbles corrinel904, 12 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5