We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

President Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
President Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

760 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 702: English reviews
Start your review of President Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

when u first walk in it is a good view of looking down to the pool and bar/restaurant area. pool area itself is lovely, with an inside bar with new terrace. rooms are just standard which actually drags down the rating of this hotel I think. they are nice and just above basic, nice tv and lovely bed but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael S
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Modern and well presented hotel. Stayed on business and rooms were mostly clean. Nice, helpful staff and nice food served. Room service is available but I didn't use it. Modern rooms - good TV choices and local to shops and other amenities as well as being close to links to tourist attractions. The staff are always happy to help with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LittleGhost89
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here for a business trip for 5 days in March. The breakfast is fantastic, and the poolside tables / pool area are very nice. I enjoyed a pedicure at the on-site spa, and also checked out the exercise room which was fine. But the room service was really substandard. The daily cleaning was shoddy at best (i.e. yucky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaleidascope
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

No Irish music, ran out of Guinness by 8pm!! (despite having very few people). No atmosphere. Staff pleasant but had no idea about the event. Name of dessert in poor taste, management obviously have no understanding of Ireland's history. Nothing but a marketing ploy! Definitely give this place a miss!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JulesElling
President_HotelCT, Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie May E Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and for celebrating St Patrick’s day with us. We would like to apologise for our choice of wording related to our dessert. It was not intentionally done to offend any of our guest. We will learn from this for all future events to be considerate towards names and...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the President for two weeks in Feb in a two bedroom, one bath. apartment. Despite having numerous confirmation emails, we did not get 4 actual beds, and an extra bed was eventually slotted into one of the rooms which was quite squashed. Despite having 4 people the whole time, we constantly had to phone for more towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
President_HotelCT, Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Ian K Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience caused with your room setup. We agree that this should have been avoided. We will certainly address the service standards with our team to ensure there is...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The President was a nice location inbetween the waterfront and camps bay Quite location staff are great and very helpful nothing is to much. the receptionist ladies have a great humor and service to support the requests made and the Porter was great - had time to say hello even after the first day he recognized us coming and going....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
President_HotelCT, Guest Relations Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback regrading your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to know you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the breakfast as well as the staff. I hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Nadia Simon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Currently staying with a group of around 20 for a workshop. On the one hand, most staff have been excellent, friendly, and helpful. Breakfast has been great and with huge choice, and the tables by the pool are lovely. The food and beverage manager in particular was extremely helpful with all our issues (dietary requirements in the group; conference room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Savit
President_HotelCT, Guest Relations Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I'm glad to know you had a good workshop with us and that the staff were friendly and could be of assistance to your colleague who lost their phone. My apologies with regards to the room configuration, I will look into the matter and see what...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location ends there. From arrival check in was late and hotel staff didn't care. Requested a late check out and was informed not possible. Hotel policy would allow an extra hour at 50% room rate. Try get towels at the pool and that's not possible. Mr Kasseim the manager is not worth the title, spoke to him for assistance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lance S
President_HotelCT, Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Lance S Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. We do apologise for not meeting your expectations on this stay and for any inconvenience caused. We appreciate your comments and will use your constructive feedback to address the areas that we failed this time around. We can assure you that our guest satisfaction...

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lots of potential. Great location. Great pools et-up. Great breakfast. Clean room. Effective aircon in room Extremely slow service at dinner. Light shining in through room door at night was unpleasant. Room overlooking parking lot very impersonal and over-priced.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eben G
President_HotelCT, Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Eben G Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback regarding your stay and our service. We regret learning that you did not enjoy your room to the fullest. We would like to recommend booking a sea facing high level room during your next stay which would...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Coming on business trip with a delegation of more than twenty people from more than ten different countries, I expected some flexibility in checking in hours (had to wait beyond 2:30 pm) after a long trip, room location (my room overlooks the parking area) and checking out hours extension. Unfortunately none of the above. Location wise it's quite central in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saher H
President_HotelCT, Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Saher H Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased that you chose our hotel for your delegation to stay and that your enjoyed our location. Your comments are concerning that we did not meet your expectations on all levels. I can assure you that we will certainly take remedial action. We aim...

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
1.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
306 reviews
4.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,639 reviews
0.1 km away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,054 reviews
1.6 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
447 reviews
0.2 km away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience affordable and luxury living in Cape Town's most beautiful urban resort, the President Hotel is a peaceful haven just a step away from the buzz of Cape Town's CBD. Situated in the wind-free suburb of Bantry Bay, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of endless ocean horizons set against the backdrop of the infamous Lion's Head and Table Mountain. Exquisitely designed for maximum light and a sense of space and tranquility, the President Hotel offers an enticing selection of restaurants, bars, lounges, conference facilities, gardens and terraces to suit your changing moods, desires and needs. The hotel's 349 rooms and apartments combine contemporary sophistication and comfort with spaciousness and each and every guest room is beautifully appointed with a semi self-catering kitchenette. The President Hotel has all the luxury facilities and guest services you would expect in any world-class hotel. Work, Rest and Play at the President Hotel that offers you the best of both worlds: In the City and By the Sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 4 Alexandra Avenue, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel President)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Price Range: $155 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Bantry Bay
Protea Hotel President
President Hotel Bantry Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from President Hotel staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from President Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pool view rooms are by far the nicest!”
 of 5 bubbles LittleGhost89, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Chose updated rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Driankatz, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“6th floor rooms are apartment like with fridge and microwave, but no crockery or cutlery....”
 of 5 bubbles bootsmagee, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The higher the better”
 of 5 bubbles robino185, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors less noisy Sea facing room should be requested as the view is fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles POOHBEAR60, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5