We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

President Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
President Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

729 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for President Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 674: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Reservation service (Gaynor) extremely poor. Reception desk was obliging and friendly. Sade is an exceptional person who goes the extra mile. Most helpful. Room cleaning very poor. No bin liners. No fresh soap. Toilet floor not adequately cleaned. Dust and dirt under the mattresses on the floor. The stair cases were dirty and have not been cleaned. Catering was a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D F
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. My apologies for the poor service you received from reservations and the general cleaning of the room. I have handed your comments over to the relevant Manager who will investigate the matters. Apart from the above I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the services from our out sourced companies during...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

A bit tired in need of refreshing, not a four star hotel. The customer service leaves a lot to be desired. Rooms are functional and clean thats about it. The view is great and pool area pleasant. There is ample parking and the hotel is well positioned but i wont be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnyGro
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guests, Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. It disappoints me to know you did not have a good stay with us and that you do not want to return to the President Hotel. It would be great it you would send me an email at gm@presidenthotel.co.za to elaborate what exactly went wrong on your stay. We most...

Bantry Bay
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We had a wonderful 9 days at your resort and can't wait to be back again !!! The service was very good at all times, the rooms were very clean and modern and the hotel is situated in a very good position.....we really enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again. Thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank selwynannmichelle
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your post via TripAdvisor. I'm delighted you had a great stay with us. The Team and I can't wait to welcome you back again. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

Bantry Bay
Reviewed 3 May 2016

It was an awesome experience with great views and friendly staff. I would recommend it for a family stay. I totally loved the spa treatment which was a full body couples massage, so relaxing and the atmosphere was good too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chenicaw
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind words. I'm delighted to know you had a good stay with us and the staff treated you well. I hope to see you again soon!! Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Right near the Sea Point promenade, we really enjoyed our stay. The staff was universally helpful and friendly, and the common areas well maintained. We were impressed with the (suite) size of the kitchen and sitting area. One star short of perfect, as the rooms / elevator floor areas could use some updating. Overall, light and airy lobby and in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adamchik
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to hear you had a good stay with us and the staff were polite and friendly. It was great having you stay with us, I hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

Bantry Bay
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Excellent location; breakfast fit for a king; staff very friendly,well trained and helpful.Reception fast, professional and very helpful. Most enjoyable pool in Cape Town; room clean and comfortable, safe parking. Only disappointing experience one female waitress at pool and bar area. Well done President. Will definately visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinalC4891XV
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It's great to know you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed all the facilities of the hotel, aswell as the food and location. I hope to see you again soon!! Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

London
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Lovely pool area with good poolside menu. Warm friendly staff make you feel welcome and at home. Excellent location to scenic coastal walking/cycling path. 45 min walk to Camps Bay. Handy to shops and quality cafes and restaurants

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joking
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guests, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the location, friendly staff and the food. I hope to see you again soon!! Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

cape town
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Ive enjoyed every minute of my stay the rooms was clean and the service from checking in to checking out to breakfast staff was excellent.thank you very much to Ashley the duty manager and nadia( guest relations) and especially to Faiza Arendse thank you very much my husband had the best birthday ever. Thank you guys for his birthday cake

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kashiefa0
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guests, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted you had a great stay with us and that you received great service all-round. Happy Belated Birthday to your husband from my side, it's great that we could make his day a memorable one. I hope to see you back again soon!! Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

North Yorkshire
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

Visited this hotel as part of a tour group. This is the view from a mountain view room. After complaining we were moved to another room on the same floor, second view. Asked if we could pay for an upgrade to pool view and told no rooms available. BE CAREFUL BEFORE BOOKING A MOUNTAIN VIEW ROOM, also noisy building work...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsSH2008
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed the location of your stay. I do apologise for the inconvenience of the noise from the Hotel being build across the way, unfortunately this is out of our control. I can assure you on your next stay it will be complete. I hope to see...

Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

I am a regular holiday maker at the president hotel. The hotel has just recently parted ways with the protea group which may have been a big mistake. The front office staff, booking and checking in process was pleasant as always. The hotel seemed to struggle as it is a long weekend so therefore certain services would take longer than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 307muhammads

257 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
4.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,607 reviews
1.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#69 of 106 in Cape Town Central
298 reviews
1.6 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,032 reviews
0.1 km away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
235 reviews
10.2 km away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience affordable and luxury living in Cape Town's most beautiful urban resort, the President Hotel is a peaceful haven just a step away from the buzz of Cape Town's CBD. Situated in the wind-free suburb of Bantry Bay, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of endless ocean horizons set against the backdrop of the infamous Lion's Head and Table Mountain. Exquisitely designed for maximum light and a sense of space and tranquility, the President Hotel offers an enticing selection of restaurants, bars, lounges, conference facilities, gardens and terraces to suit your changing moods, desires and needs. The hotel's 349 rooms and apartments combine contemporary sophistication and comfort with spaciousness and each and every guest room is beautifully appointed with a semi self-catering kitchenette. The President Hotel has all the luxury facilities and guest services you would expect in any world-class hotel. Work, Rest and Play at the President Hotel that offers you the best of both worlds: In the City and By the Sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 4 Alexandra Avenue, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel President)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Price Range: $152 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Bantry Bay
Protea Hotel President
President Hotel Bantry Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from President Hotel staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from President Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors less noisy Sea facing room should be requested as the view is fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles POOHBEAR60, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“An ocean view room would be preferred.”
 of 5 bubbles RaymondM29, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are nice but no balconies”
 of 5 bubbles CardiffMano, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are fine”
 of 5 bubbles khw2017, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“seaside has best views. also end rooms on land side did have view of the sea from the little patio”
 of 5 bubbles ORTraveller2000, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5