We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Camps Bay Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 358: English reviews
Start your review of Camps Bay Retreat
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

The web site describes Camps Bay retreat as a Luxury 5 star boutique Hotel perhaps my interpretation of this is incorrect! Having booked in for two nights for a combined business and anniversary stay my expectations were high but the resort and staff are nothing like the advertising. The grounds are unkept and serviced by poorly trained and in some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Msofy
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is without doubt in a stunning location with fantastic views (except there is a huge crane blocking and spoiling the view at the moment which is not the hotel's fault). The grounds are lovely, sun pretty much all day and a nice pool. It is an old property which was formerly a house and has plenty of character....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stunning grounds complete with hanging bridge and waterfall. Tasty food. Unfortunately, all is overshadowed by the service or lack thereof. Told that it was free seating, we were shooed away from our chosen table by an aggressive waitress. Had to collect menus after they failed to arrive. Drinks took half an hour plus. Other tables got quite agitated with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerd B
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Gerd Thank you for taking the time to write a Review. You did in fact speak to the Manager and voiced your complaints during your visit to the restuarant. As a form of compensation the Manager did Discount your bill and the Staff Members in question has been addressed. I do hope you visit in the near future. Kind...

Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent six nights in this hotel in room 1 so felt thoroughly spoilt. Large comfortable bed, four wash basins and an abundance of storage. As well as our sitting room/bedroom, dressing room and bathroom, we had three areas in which we could enjoy the wonderful view of Camps Bay. The staff were friendly and super helpful sorting out a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank matandpat2016
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Matandpat Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. hope to see you return in the near future Kind regards, Management

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived to smiling reception staff. We found out they either spoke limited English or we were speaking in a slightly different language. We asked for an early morning call for a trip to the wine lands and ended up speaking to the manager of the tour at 22.00hr to confirm our trip. The location and setting is amazing. We have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

HI Amanda I am elated to hear you had an overall pleasant stay in Camps Bay. I will follow look into the Maintenance and staff matters that you have mentioned in order to improve on our service and quality provided going forward. We have various types of accommodation on the property (Manor house, Deck house and Villas), it is always...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So this time around, I have to upgrade my review to five stars. This time around there was no tree being felled and sawdust ending up in my wine. I was able to focus on the beauty, slpendour and charm of this remarkable place. The steak remains the best I have ever tasted, and partners very well wih the Warwick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlohendricks
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Carlo Thank you for the great review. I apologize once again for the previous bad experience you had due to one of our trees that fell and had to be cut down leading to the Saw dust ending up in your wine. I am elated to hear that you have returned and had a great experience with us. kind...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the retreat for five wonderful nights. The Camps Bay Retreat has gorgeous grounds on 4 acres that look over the ocean and mountain views. Situated within walking distance of the Camps Bay restaurants. The morning breakfast was excellent with several choices. This seems to be a great place for a wedding reception. I loved the walking bridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Doug Thank you for the wonderful review. Looking forward to welcoming you to Camps Bay Retreat in the near future. kind regards, Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This property has such potential but fails badly in all aspects. No professional meet and greet, poor service, low levels of cleanliness , dogs and dog photos too much, NO attention to detail , staff sweet but lack training, chain of command poor .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Sharon Thank you for your review of Camps Bay Retreat. We value all kinds of feedback from our Clientele in order to improve on our standards that we provide. Can you kindly send me an email to manager@campsbayretreat.com so that i can address the various feedback that you gave. kind regards, Management

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

lovely,spacious room-very clean-comfy large bed-good air-con !Nice place to sunbathe outside our room and a pool very closeby.The breakfast was excellent and dinner superb-excellent service from the staff-highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Fiona Thank you for the Great review. I will pass on your message to all staff. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards,

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms and grounds are gorgeous. However for a top hotel the service is sadly lacking. If you want breakfast make sure you're not in a hurry, on average it took us nearly an hour to get eggs. In fairness once our omelettes arrived they were delicious but we were very frustrated when waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value feed back from our guests and can only strive to improve on our service and standards provided. Kind Regards,

489 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (233)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
4:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (203)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Deck House Pool (9)
Viewed
Manor House Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)
Viewed
Villa with Private Pool (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
616 reviews
1.1 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
262 reviews
4.5 km away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,054 reviews
1.6 km away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.8 km away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Camps Bay Retreat Luxury Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickets of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where The Retreat Kitchen's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Price Range: $209 - $700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camps Bay Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Camps Bay Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Villas across the bridge seem to be good for families but we liked our room in the main house.”
 of 5 bubbles SarahT04, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only have experience of room one”
 of 5 bubbles matandpat2016, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we were away from the main hotel-quiet and private”
 of 5 bubbles fionah628, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I think Main House in the Winter, Modern blocks in the Summer would be best”
 of 5 bubbles medocain, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“room 14 has its own pool rooms in main house quieter”
 of 5 bubbles melstein13, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5