We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Camps Bay Retreat

Save
Traveller (299)
Room & Suite (204)
Pool & Beach (55)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good15%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“rope bridge”(45 reviews)
“deck house”(49 reviews)
“manor house”(26 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Camps Bay Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
304
58
21
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
304
58
21
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrope bridgedeck housemanor housethe main housemountain poollove dogscape townnature reservesister hotelour honeymoonduty managerbreakfast and dinnerrose petalstable mountainwatch the sunsetsouth africastunning views
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
171 - 175 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2015

The restuarant is open for visitors to join the guests at the hotel for any meal. The only condition is that you have to book to ensure they have space! A Wednesday and Saturday they have a fixed menu, where Saturday is the braai until...More

2  Thank 99RyanM99
Response from CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay RetreatResponded 12 March 2015

Dear 99RyanM99, Thank you for your wonderful review of the Camps Bay Retreat braai evening. We are so glad that you enjoyed every aspect from the booking, to the setting, our new "Singing Chef" and the buffet and rest of the braai. We hope that...More

Reviewed 6 March 2015 via mobile

The worst hotel management ı've ever seen.They downgrade us without asking.When we came from outside to our room a guest opened our door and welcomed us and we've learned that our stuff even our valuables in safe box transfered to another room!!! Never informed,never asked...More

Thank Aysebuket
Response from CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay RetreatResponded 9 March 2015

Dear Aysebuket, Our apologies for your experience and the miscommunication with the language barrier. I would like to notify you that there was no downgrade, we informed you that we upgraded you for the first night as we could not accommodate you in 1 room...More

Reviewed 27 February 2015

We had a wonderful few days staying at a The a Camps Bay Retreat recently. The hotel was delightful and the staff were excellent. If you are there on a Wednesday or Saturday you must enjoy the Braai. The steak is exceptional. That said, all...More

Thank brown_nicholas
Response from CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay RetreatResponded 3 March 2015

Dear brown_nicholas, Thank you for your great review of Camps Bay Retreat. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay, especially the braai and the amazing Chalmar beef fillet! We hope to welcome you back in the near future....More

Reviewed 22 February 2015

I saw another review which mentioned problems with the reservation system and thought I would share my experience. I stayed at the Retreat 8 years ago, had a wonderful time and have vowed to return again. A couple of weeks ago I checked availability online...More

1  Thank Annie K
Response from CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay RetreatResponded 3 March 2015

Dear Annie K, Thank you for taking the time to review Camps Bay Retreat. Your experience is unfortunate as you noted that there was availability and there may very well have been, but we got a group that booked out the entire hotel for 2...More

Reviewed 19 February 2015

Camps Bay is a really nice property. The photos in their website show the property to be a little more polished than it is currently. One of the co-owners lives upstairs with his dogs so he certainly is put on notice, but there are certain...More

2  Thank MarkClark97
Response from CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay RetreatResponded 22 February 2015

Dear MarkClark97, Thank you for your detailed review of Camps Bay Retreat. We appreciate your comments and are glad to let you know that we have worked very hard to manicure our gardens over the last two months. We are so glad that you enjoyed...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Camps Bay
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Spa
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Concierge
Meeting Rooms
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Pool
Tennis Court
Spa
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$113 - US$523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$113 - US$523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (299)
Room & Suite (204)
Pool & Beach (55)
Dining (49)
Amenities (41)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mrfastidious
24 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from mdjusa | Reviewed this property |
When we were there in January, we did not experience and issues of thefts. I think you must be very careful and lock and and all valuable items away ALL the time.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Villa's are great. There's traveler pods in amongst the trees/rivers/lake that I'd like to try..."
Read review
"All rooms seem good to me."
Read review
"Deck or villas were separated from the main house by a rope bridge which was fun !"
Read review
"If you MUST be in one of the rooms in the Manor you can not just request them, these rooms only 4 are..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing