We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cape Town Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cape Town Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cape Town Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 209: English reviews
Ocean City, Maryland
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

This was our first visit to Cape Town, and our stay was cozy and comfortable. We had a private room with a spacious bathroom, and our own little veranda complete with table and chairs. The staff was so helpful. They helped us our arrange shark diving adventure, knew the best spots for dinner, and helped us with directions all over...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Autumn R
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately can't give this hostel a good rating even though it seemed like a nice hostel. Upon arrival at about 10pm we were told we absolutely needed cash for the key deposit and told we must go to an ATM. Not instructed that it would be unsafe. We dropped off our bags and within 10 steps outside we were approached...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashley218
AndyCTBP, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, I'm really sorry this happened to you, as you know the area we are in the restaurant and hip bar area and its busy. This was one of those random wrong place at wrong time moments. As you note from the guard being there we do take security seriously, we have security guards, 24 hour reception, CCTV systems etc......

Beijing, China
Reviewed 17 December 2015

In September 2015 we had an amazing trip in South Africa and Namibia. That probably would not happened without the help and assistance of the Cape town backpackers team. It was a very last minute decision to have our honeymoon in Southern Africa, so we were not well prepared in terms of what to visit or do. Not only Cape...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BrechtPaul
AndyCTBP, Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, We're glad you had a great time and trip. It was a genuine pleasure having you stay and we would love to have you back. Thanks again, Andy

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2015

Stayed here 2 nights in a 6-bed dorm. Great staff, convenient location, and a great place to meet fellow travellers and get advice about seeing the sights of Cape Town and the wider area. The room was clean and basic, but cozy, and the facilities are en par with other hostels, but the best part is definitely the feel of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
AndyCTBP, General Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks Jessica, if we can be like Lusaka BP we aren't doing to badly. Sorry I missed you on this trip. Thanks Andy

Tromso, Norway
Reviewed 10 December 2015

I stayed here for over a week. I absolutely recommend CT Backpackers. Convenient location. Great staff. They were always helpful. Tours are organized as well which you can book a day before at the reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lance_Kerwin
AndyCTBP, Director of Sales at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the review, it was great having you stay and glad you enjoyed the tours. Thanks Andy

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 6 December 2015

I spend 5 night in this place everything was perfect,great for solo traveler,best price and l also like about this hostel great bathroom,there are many bars and restaurants on the long street it's just 3 minutes walking and ATM,laundry,market only less one minute walking and if you like hiking ,you can hiking from hostel to the table mountain it's only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mytravelworld35
AndyCTBP, General Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for the review. Ive never walked from the hostel to table mountain, you are making me feel very lazy :( next week.. promise... ;) Andy

Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

Good room great shower on suite balcony in the shadows of table mountain and a short drive to the water front Great local advice and can plan your stay and do all your bookings and adventures from there. Great social and warm friendly place. We recommend the water front for food and sight seeing , wine route , the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dylan C
AndyCTBP, Public Relations Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Dylan, thanks for the review. I'm sure we could organise shark diving without the cage, it would be cheaper as you wouldn't need the bus back ;) See you next time, Andy

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2015

I came here not knowing what to expect from the city and the hostel and now it's become my home away from home. Great for single travellers! Value for money, accommodating staff, fun yet homey atmosphere. In the safe area with lots of bars, restaurants and cute coffee shops. Def recommended!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosmary48
AndyCTBP, Director of Sales at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Rosemary. thanks for the taking the time to review us, and for making it a good one. See you next time. Andy

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 29 October 2015

We stayed at this backpackers for 6 days and fully enjoyed it. Awesome vibe created by the staff and the lovely building! The location is perfect, basically just some minutes away from Long Street. Moreover, the staff is very helpful when it comes to plan trips or call a taxi. Breakfast was very good (Thank you Mpumi!). Definitely recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeonGermany1996
AndyCTBP, Front Office Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Leon. thanks for the review, I'll let Mpumi know you liked the breakfast ;) Andy

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Awesome atmosphere created by staff and guests alike! It's been a great time having great talks with everyone, making you feel as comfortable as possible. Very good area as there are a lot of bars and restaurants around, and the staff was always willing to give me advice where to go and what to do best (and they were right)!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Germanguy K
AndyCTBP, Front Office Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the review, see you next time :) Benita

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 125 in Cape Town Central
670 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#8 of 125 in Cape Town Central
467 reviews
Long Street Backpackers
#34 of 125 in Cape Town Central
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Never at Home Cape Town
#9 of 125 in Cape Town Central
260 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
612 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 125 in Cape Town Central
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cape Town Backpackers has a fantastic atmosphere and plenty of style. Its has all of the facilities you would expect from a top quality backpackers including WiFi, and internet access, café and a self-catering kitchen, a comprehensive travel desk, and a great bar to meet fellow travellers. Located in the City Bowl, close to all the main attractions, it offers affordable accommodation – from dorms to deluxe double en suite rooms – and a fun, friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cape Town Backpackers

Address: 81 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Price Range: $22 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Town Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cape Town Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Backpackers South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cape Town Backpackers staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cape Town Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and stay either on the lower ground level or extended building”
Emile111, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“private rooms are very nice”
theresa123478, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The dorm rooms are great but if u want quietness take a private room”
ldelport, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Stay room 14”
Mytravelworld35, 6 Dec 2015 | Read review
“I was just lucky to get one.....”
SafariM, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5