We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Avatara Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Avatara Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very friendly and comfortable guesthouse in a good location close to the Waterfront. Cher is a delightful lady and very welcoming (despite my late arrival!). Decent shower, lots of clothes hanging space and I'd happily stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David_from_Brissle
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Very pleasant place to stay. Always tidy and well kept. My parents were staying in the waterfront and after looking at my room would have preferred Avatara. Host replied to all my emails and was very friendly and welcoming

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jackkarikios
Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 20 February 2016

A delightful boutique guest house in Green Point only a short walk from the Waterfront. This guest house is run by the delightful Cher and her team who look after you with care and interest. Lovely rooms, two of which overlook the inner courtyard where you have breakfast. Two car parking spaces out front and plenty of on-street parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel k
CherPoz, Owner at Avatara Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to compliment us. We appreciate it and we were honoured to share your special engagement with you too. Thank you so much for choosing us!

Kent
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Good location , clean and spacious rooms . Friendly owner and staff and helped us to book a trip to a game reserve However would benefit from air conditioning and a lock up to store bags . We had a late night flight and unable to leave our bags anywhere so had to carry them around in the heat. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pinkpurplejohn
CherPoz, Owner at Avatara Guest House, responded to this review

Hi So sorry that you found Avatara to be just ok. I had responded to all of your requests, even late at night - immediately- with assistance as I really try to make our guest's experience as best as possible. If I may explain the issues you complained about: we offer early check ins and check outs at no additional...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Very good location near shops, restaurants, Green Park and a short (12 min) walk to the V & A Waterfront. Safe walking area although you may need to be careful after dark. Cher is an excellent landlady, very caring and helpfull. Good breakfast and help yourself to tea & coffee anytime. Room downstairs of good size with very comfortable bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony L
CherPoz, Owner at Avatara Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us - we appreciate it very much, as I am sure other folk do too. We look forward to welcoming you again to Avatara!

Hong Kong
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Tastefully decorated, although could be hard to find, would suggest you tell the driver York Road, but with all uber drivers they use sat nav. I was lucky to say in room 6 which has a gorgeous bath and sofa area, which makes the room huge and very comfortable. Cher is welcoming and has done a great job with that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LittleBee1
CherPoz, Owner at Avatara Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We also appreciate hearing about our staff, as they take great pride in their work. Thank you, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. All the best, Cher

UK
Reviewed 28 October 2015

I arrived at midday to be met by Cher and was shown a wonderful room. The location is good for Green Point and the Waterfront with lots of restaurants close by. I had very early starts which was not an issue even though they were before the timings for meals as I was able to help myself to tea, juices,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
CherPoz, Owner at Avatara Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your effort to review us - we appreciate feedback and we are so happy that your experience was positive. Wishing you all the best.

Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

I was here in August, 2011, and I just have to review this place. The location is great, at Green Point, which provides for a quiet night's sleep. It's also within walking distance of the waterfront. Cher, the host is quite the character. She arranged for a tour to the Cape of Good Hope and other locations with a tour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank isak_tush
CherPoz, Owner at Avatara Guest House, responded to this review

Wow this was a lovely surprise! How wonderful to hear from you after all of these years - it was such a pleasure to host you and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

San Rafael, California
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Cher has done a great job renovating and designing guest rooms, all with well-thought use of space. Breakfasts prepared and served by the owner or the friendly staff. We would recommend the Avatara to anyone visiting Cape Town for a night or for weeks. Located close to activities and a large choice of restaurants, and shopping, within walking distance or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
CherPoz, Owner at Avatara Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate it very much!

Saint-Denis, Reunion Island
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

10 days in cape town and 10 nights in Avatara guest house. Very Nice place to stay : very friendly, near waterfront and city center, room clean and bed so confortable ! And breakfast Just as you want... "Make this house your house" told me the hostess on arrival. I made it and next time in cape town I Will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stéphane R
CherPoz, Owner at Avatara Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind words. We loved having you stay and we look forward to your next visit again soon.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.2 km away
Harpers House
Harpers House
#136 of 937 in Cape Town
37 reviews
0.2 km away
4 On Varneys
4 On Varneys
#43 of 164 in Cape Town Central
114 reviews
0.3 km away
Point B Guest House
Point B Guest House
#60 of 164 in Cape Town Central
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#31 of 164 in Cape Town Central
236 reviews
0.1 km away
House on the Hill
House on the Hill
#28 of 128 in Cape Town Central
123 reviews
0.4 km away
Oxford House
Oxford House
#9 of 128 in Cape Town Central
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for that ideal home away from home while you explore Cape Town… Avatara offers this and much more. Situated at the foot of Signal Hill, we are within walking distance to the popular V&A Waterfront, Green Point Stadium, De Waterkant’s Cape Quarter and a 5 minute drive to Table Mountain, CTICC, city centre and the world’s most spectacular beaches. Deli’s, restaurants and shops are all meters away from our doorstep.Tranquil romantic rooms echoing a sophisticated mood from the original Victorian home ensures comfort and convenience. Features include Oregon Pine floors, high old-fashioned ceilings and the rooms are equipped with exquisite crisp linen, flat screen tv’s, heated towel rails and WiFi. We want guests to feel rested and serene, shifting their energy in a positive way while they explore our beautiful city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avatara Guest House

Address: 25 Leinster Road | Corner York Road, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $134 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avatara Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Avatara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avatara Guest House Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Avatara Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet neighborhood; no elevator, so stairs to 2nd & 3rd floors; this is a lovingly renovated 19th century house with a few creaky floors, but great charm. Some rooms open into public space, but after breakfast the house feels very private.”
 of 5 bubbles donnabM5903SF, 9 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Room nr 1 was spacious and ideal for a couple. It faces the road, but if one closes the blid is very private. It is very close to the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles carmelizar2015, 12 Jan 2015 | Read review
“The room I had, upstairs, with a great balcony (chaise, table and chairs), great bed, clean and comfortable bathroom. I think it is number 3 or 4, but cannot remember. I would recommend upstairs, probably quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 2014lillian2014, 13 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 2 and 3 as they open only on to the breakfast room all the rest are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Lindyp47, 3 Feb 2014 | Read review
“The upstairs rooms might be more private; the downstairs room opens up into the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles 408NicolasA, 15 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay