We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Daddy Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Daddy Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Daddy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 290: English reviews
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

On floor 3 via an old wooden lift you enter the trailer park and the staff showed us inside one of the American airstream trailers that you can stay in overnight. The staff were great and very attentive I had a cosmo and John the bank had a martini all very traditional however the cocktail list in the restaurant thirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fi0naE2014
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fi0naE2014, Thank you for your review and comments on the cocktails. Our bar staff are working on our cocktail menu and this will be adjusted so that our guests may enjoy any of our cocktails, whether in the Sky Bar or our Thirty Ate Eatery. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Daddy and we...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 22 January 2017

I splurged on staying in one of their Air Streamers. I was a lone traveler so the size was fine. It might be a tight squeeze for 2 people, in my opinion. I thought the stay was unique and the view was nice. The bed was so dreamy. Bathroom is small. And if you have a problem with noise this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lalikes
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lalikes, Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed staying in our unique trailers. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards, Brenda

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

I can't understand the latest review. We had an incredible stay at the Grand Daddy, the staff were exemplary and could not do enough for all the guests. The food was out of this world! (The springbok fillet is a must) The room we had was beautiful and so comfy with a gorgeous little private garden all to ourselves. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica P
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jessica P, Thank you for your super review. I am so pleased you had an enjoyable stay at the Grand Daddy, we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon! Regards, Brenda

Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We sadly just ended our 4 night stay at the Grandest of all Grand Daddy's !! It was the perfect base for exploring the rest of Cape Town and all it has to offer . The hospitality standard and friendly staff were way above standard ! We all loved the food at the Thirty Ate restaurant downstairs , and definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DaneKenno
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DaneKenno, Thank you for your review. We loved having you to stay at our beautiful hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit. Regards, Brenda

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We stayed at the Grand Daddy Hotel for 2 nights over New Years Eve. The service we received from all staff upon checking in was good, they were very helpful and attentive. They immediately booked us a table for the new years eve dinner and showed us around. I personally love the over the top decor. I think it's what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trendytravller
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear trendytravller, Thank you for your review and for choosing the Grand Daddy Hotel for your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, Brenda

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The Grand Daddy Hotel is very "unique" in many way but personally I think it is overdone. The hotel lacks many services that are associated with a 4 star and frankly it should be rated not more than a 3 star. The restaurant is very small, there is no shuttle service, the front desk staff not very friendly, the service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marcoL7042GU
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear marcoL7042GU, Thank you for your review, having recently been voted as 1 of 5 most unique hotels in the world, I am so disappointed to read that your stay was unsatisfactory. I trust that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Cape Town. Regards, Brenda

Paris
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Friendly welcome, attentive staff. Room was comfortable, and we had a very nice and generous welcome plate on arrival. Breakfast in the bar/restaurant next door is well managed, the staff is efficient and we tested several options on the menu and enjoyed all of them. Roof top bar was a bit disappointing: view is limited, space is limited, knowledge of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurent C
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laurent C, Thank you for your review, I am so pleased to read that our staff were welcoming and attentive, and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast options and your welcome gift. Regards, Brenda

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The Karoo trailer was noisy (music from rooftop bar during the day & bar scene noise from the street in the night), smelly and had mold in the shower. There was a scented air freshener to cover the smell. Air conditioner was too windy and loud for a small space. Generally the trailer was quite run down. 260 € per...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katharina_HKI
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear katharina2017, Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to our Sugar Daddy Suite, and the welcome gifts on arrival. I trust the rest of your visit to our beautiful city was pleasurable. Regards, Brenda

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed in GD hotel one week ago. Unfortunately not a great experience. Staff at reception, in rooftop bar, and in restaurant very helpful and friendly, but that did not make up for rest of the experience. Room was clean and furnishings contemporary, but alas, when we drew the curtains and opened the windows, all we saw was a service duct....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nico V
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nico V, Thank you for your review, I am so disappointed that your stay was not satisfactory. I trust the rest of your visit to our beautiful city was enjoyable. Regards, Brenda

Granada, Nicaragua
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Sadly we didn't actually get to stay here over the course of our time in Cape Town but we wish we had! We stopped in for a drink at the rooftop bar after an afternoon of shopping along Long Street. We were thoroughly impressed by the decor and service. The view is lovely from the rooftop bar. The bartender offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaestraTanisha
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MaestraTanisha, Thank you for your review, we will be delighted to welcome you on your return! Regards, Brenda

278 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (236)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Strand Tower Hotel
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
632 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
333 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,181 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
810 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#48 of 106 in Cape Town Central
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Address: 38 Long Street | Western Cape, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Price Range: $197 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Daddy Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Daddy Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best. Food in cape. Town”
 of 5 bubbles Bacchus631222, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try the caravan overnight with air con and a cocktail bar ensuite!”
 of 5 bubbles Fi0naE2014, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“make sure to confirm your room has a window.”
 of 5 bubbles trendytravller, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Poor experience, poor value for money.”
 of 5 bubbles marcoL7042GU, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Trailers are fun - Karoo has internal shower”
  • Karoo trailer on the right
 of 5 bubbles TimManchester, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5