We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ashanti Lodge Gardens

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

474 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 416: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

In overall the hostel is pretty awesome! They have a lot of rooms (dorms, private) for a good price! The hostel is close to everything and upstairs there is a little café which is really good for coffee, snacks (nachos, sandwichs), and there is a really good breakfast every morning for an additionnal but small price. It is a different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KristinaRomashenko
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my experience. Was very happy with the lodge, its facilities, friendly staff and warm guests. It is also conveniently located as it is near Long/Bree Streets, Table Mountain, Camps Bay Beach, V and A Waterfront and Shopping Centers and much more.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leratom2017
LisaKrohn, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

Hello Lerato Thank you! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city! Regards Lisa

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 1 week ago

sitting on the first floor porch with a glas of white wine, looking over capetown at night, listening to the sound of palmes in the strong wind... little later looking out of the window of our two-bed-room at the tents in the backyard of Ashanti lodge... a wide range of ways to travel and to live may be realised at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 509birgitf
LisaKrohn, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

Thanks Birgit - hopefully we will see you back again one day? Safe travels Lisa

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was great at the check-in. However, the guests staying at the lodge did not follow the rules and it seems like the staff could not enforce those rules. The music was blasting way pass 2:00am and picked up again by 5:30am. Guests were drunk, singing loudly, chatting, being rowdy, throwing cushions from the balcony into the pool. My...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank natbelle2003131
LisaKrohn, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for comments and I can truly only apologise for the behaviour of the other guests during your stay. I am not sure why the night staff did not take control of this situation and move people away from the area which is what they are instructed to do. I will have to follow up on this and...

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place, really great, but it could be cleaner. more services could be offered for group travels and so on. bunk beds work, with the locks, but some rooms were too small to fit in 6 bunk beds. look at the spacing and fit in the beds accordingly. The rooms would also be nice with a chair or 2( ottoman/cubes)....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lebogangm2017
LisaKrohn, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

Hi there Thanks for your comments and the constructive criticism. We do service the rooms daily but when it is incredibly busy, sometimes things get overlooked.... for this I apologise. Nevertheless, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Lisa

cape town
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I didn't like my stay at the ashanti at all. I took a shower, and it was so disgusting, as it was very dirty and full of ginger hairs. Also it was very loud during the night, as the room I've stayed in, was next to the entrence and chillout area. It's not for me and if you are looking...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank annabV190DB
LisaKrohn, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

Hi Anna I am very upset to hear your comments as it is unacceptable that you should have a dirty shower. The showers are cleaned every few hours and as such, you should never have found it in that state.... I do apologise. Regards Lisa

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the starting point for my trip so it was chosen for me and I upgraded to my own room from a dorm. It's a friendly hostel that has a good bar and hostel services like communal showers, fridge and kitchen to cook your own food. One essential service - the wifi - was fairly appalling.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisonleahy
LisaKrohn, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

Hi Alison Thanks for your comments. I am not sure why the wifi was so bad.... possibly too many people using it at once? I will, however, investigate. Regards Lisa

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel was pretty good for the money and I would recommend staying if you don't deal much with the staff. I called from the US because I had left something in the room and when I asked Jeff, the receptionist if he could go upstairs and check he replied "nothing was found in the lost and found" and "I'm...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian15724
LisaKrohn, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

Hello Brian Thanks for your constructive criticism. I am sorry that you found the staff member unhelpful, but it IS possible that he was busy at the time of your call but as you mention - he could possibly have dealt with it better. I apologise for this and will mention it when next we meet. Regards Lisa

Rättvik, Dalarnas Län, Sweden
Reviewed 14 December 2016

My room was already occupied when I got there, they had double booked. They didn't have more of the same type of room, only a slightly more expensive one but they refused to give it to me without charging me extra - even as they had caused this! Not service minded at all, I left for another place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie B
LisaKrohn, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

Hello Ronnie Thank you for your comment. It is very rare that we double-book, so I am not 100% sure how that happened and who was at fault. If it was indeed our fault then you should indeed have received a free upgrade so I am sorry about that! Regards Lisa

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 12 December 2016

The staff were friendly and helpful, willing to go the extra mile if needed. The premises and lodgings is well kept and clean. Food really good. Well priced and recommended to both backpackers and couples for the double room en-suite.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank debrad997
LisaKrohn, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

Thanks Debra!

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#8 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,372 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 129 in Cape Town Central
634 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#8 of 129 in Cape Town Central
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 129 in Cape Town Central
456 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 129 in Cape Town Central
545 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Green Point
#21 of 129 in Cape Town Central
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Victorian mansion boasts clean, comfortable rooms and handy innovations like individual reading lights, personal safes and international plug points. Our sparkling pool, landscaped gardens, spacious balconies and palm-fringed sundecks are great for chilling out - while our legendary Kumasi Bar is the place to party! We serve delicious meals in our bar and also have a well-equipped kitchen for self-catering. We offer all accommodation options, including private, en-suite rooms in our guesthouse around the corner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ashanti Lodge Gardens

Address: 11 Hof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $26 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashanti Lodge Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ashanti Lodge Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Hotel Cape Town Central
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ashanti Lodge Gardens staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ashanti Lodge Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Please add two or three ottomans Empty the bin atleast once a day ”
 of 5 bubbles leratom2017, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“bunk beds work, with the locks, but some rooms were too small to fit in 6 bunk beds. look at the spacing and fit in the beds accordingly. The rooms would also be nice with a chair or 2( ottoman/cubes). Sometimes it's not appropriate to sit on someone's bed when you want to do something. I was on the top bed but when I wanted to sit and wear my shoes, I struggled. rooms can be cleaner. Basin must be cleaned daily and room dustbin must be cleared daily. Establishment need not change sheets daily for guests staying for a period longer than 3 days but they must offer or let them know that they can ask for clean bedding, even if the guests replace it themselves. the option must just be announced. white sheets become dirty quickly. other than that, great place. Great atmosphere, great decor and lovely guests. I loved it.”
 of 5 bubbles lebogangm2017, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Guest House for quiet rooms or in hostel if you like to be a part of the fun and vibe!”
 of 5 bubbles 251clairem, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“try not to stay in room 66 its super loud. ”
 of 5 bubbles alandZ564IE, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“sorry i should have done that the room was very clean and comfortable. Next time i will tip”
 of 5 bubbles A7201TTpeterp, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay