We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Commodore

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Commodore
The Commodore
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Commodore
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,019: English reviews
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Reviewed 29 October 2015

We really enjoyed our 4 nights there! All services were excellent: clean and nice rooms with little luxury; breakfast buffet is unbelievable - substantial and the omelette cook's friendliness is unforgettable. She also knows, how to make delicious omelettes from fresh eggs. Beds are large and comfortable. We slept there really well.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maijaska
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Officer at The Commodore, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. We are also happy that you enjoyed the Omelette. Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Officer Commodore Hotel

toronto
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Clean, simple and well run, the Commodore is a good choice for value near the waterfront. The breakfast alone is worth the price! Rooms are clean and updated. Crispy linens on the beds. Steps from the waterfront. Would highly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolyncToronto
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Officer Commodore Hotel

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2015

A great hotel with loads of character right near the waterfront and tourist office. The breakfasts are excellent, more than you need. The room was clean and very comfortable. Excelent wifi throughout the hotel and a business centre near reception where you can print boarding passes, etc. Very friendly staff, a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank armrestdominance
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Officer Commodore Hotel

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Enjoyed the hotel, its within walking distance to the Waterfront area. The food was fantastic which made the experience worthwhile. My room had a good view. Will probably visit The Commodore again in the near future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AfricanNomad1985
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Officer Commodore Hotel

DC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

This hotel is well located, in walking distance from the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. The room was nice and clean. Nothing special, but comfortable. I had a smoking room at first and had to get switched, but they were able to take care of it. The breakfast was fantastic, my favorite of I think any hotel I have ever stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DCtraveler281
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast and your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Officer Commodore Hotel

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2015

As an avid sailor, The Commodore was a fantastic hotel to stay at. We had a large suite looking towards the water and football stadium. The staff were friendly and very helpful, who saw to our every need. You're walking distance to the famed V&A Waterfront where you have a bevy of choices for restaurants, pubs and shopping. You'll have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin G
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. The Hotel has almost completed phase one of our refurbishment ! Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Officer Commodore Hotel

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of a trip round South Africa and was a bit disappointed. We'd stayed in the Portswood next door (same company) and that hotel was much nicer. The Commodore seemed a bit "tired" and in need of a refit (I think one is planned). The reception staff were a bit surly (maybe I caught them on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnyfromtheblock
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. I am glad you put the 'do not disturb' sign on your door Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Officer Commodore Hotel

Sun City West, Arizona
Reviewed 15 October 2015

In September we had a group of 16 friends booked into the hotel. We had a warm and friendly welcome. It is very convenient to the V&A waterfront and many restaurants and shopping. Yes, they are renovating. This does not affect your stay during the day. They are renovating the rooms, and that should be done shortly. Our room had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soulefulltraveler
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that we could look after your group of 16 and that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Officer Commodore Hotel

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We stayed at this lovely hotel as part of a special anniversary holiday and the superb staff made sure it was truly memorable. Even although The Commodore was busy and undergoing major renovation the service and attention to detail were faultless - the breakfasts in particular were a daily triumph. Superb.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petrie M
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Officer Commodore Hotel

Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2015

The room was of a high standard, the staff were extremely helpful and the breakfasts wherever good covering a whole range of needs. Their tours desk is excellent and arranged 2 private tours and a township tour all of which went very well indeed! The location, 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront was brilliant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank subryt
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Officer Commodore Hotel

537 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (293)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (74)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Suite (89)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 km away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
694 reviews
0.3 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,437 reviews
0.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 106 in Cape Town Central
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 106 in Cape Town Central
2,077 reviews
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,657 reviews
0.5 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Commodore

Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $191 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Commodore staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Presque Isle, Wisconsin
2 months ago
Herne, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Commodore staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if possible get the room overlooking the table mountain!”
vedicxtacy, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Did not have a view of Table Mountain - but this did not bother me - go outside if you want to see it!!”
Esti929, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not pay extra for a room with a balcony as there is no furniture on it”
debanddocks, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We liked the view of Table Mountain from our room- worth requesting!”
Delius17, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room at the back( not the front)”
JohnT430, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5