We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Townhouse Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Townhouse Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Townhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 281: English reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2014

The lobby was modern and comfortable meeting place. Rooms were clean and roomy. Breakfast included in room rate was good variety. Walking distance to Long Street was convenient. staff very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Misse P
TownhouseCT, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comments. We are happy you found our staff very friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Cape Town soon. Warm Regards Townhouse Management

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed for two nights on business. It was very well located and the staff were extremely helpful. I'd definitely stay again if I was on a business trip. If on holiday maybe stay somewhere nearer the harbour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wahala-o
TownhouseCT, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your time taken to post a review. We are happy you found the hotel to be well located and our staff extremely helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards Townhouse Management Team

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 10 August 2014

When we visited they were busy renovating. This was never comunicated to us before hand. So inbetween the paint card board on the floor etc we had an ok stay. The fact that the renovations was not comunicated makes one feel that they did it on purpose just to keep the hotel full. I hope the management take note.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EATOUTSUNDAY
Hugh57, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your feedback. We would like to apologise for the unsatisfactory stay you had with us. Unfortunately our bathroom renovations took about a month longer than was originally anticipated. After the actual renovations the passages on the different floors needed to be repainted. The whole renovation was communicated on our website before and during the process...

Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in a single room, a little small but comfortable. Location is good in the city centre, in a quiet area. Free wi-fi. Parking is available for a daily small fee, around 4 euros. Breakfast is very good, I was just opened so the service was fast. The staff are incredible kind and helpful, always with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bito22
Hugh57, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your two night stay with us, and that our staff looked after you so well. We hope to welcome you back to the Townhouse Hotel in the near future. Best regards Townhouse Management Team

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Extremely impressed with hotel upgrade done from what it was. Definitely a much better hotel than most in the surrounding areas Close to Parliament (2-3 minutes walk) It is a business and leisure hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Razia A
Hugh57, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy to read that you are impressed with the renovations that have taken place over the past few years. We hope to welcome you back to the Townhouse Hotel on your next visit to Cape Town. Best Regards Townhouse Management Team

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Staff are always friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. However the room was a little small with no drawer space and broken suitcase rack. Shower gel does triple duty as your shampoo and conditioner as well! Restaurant ii slow with breakfast a 25 minute wait. Please cook your poached eggs without vinegar in the water!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
Hugh57, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your review here on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you were not happy with the size of your room and the lack of drawer space, which ultimately led to a disappointing stay with us. We would like to point out that extra drawer space can be provided on request....

Newburgh, New York
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and i spend our last 3 nights here during our trip. We booked the Jr. Suite and was extremely pleased by it. We didnt eat on the property, since there was so many restaurants near by, but we walked passed it every morning and smelled quite nice. The hotel is in an excellent location. Close to Long st...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom K
Hugh57, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your positive review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of the junior suites, and that the location of the hotel was convenient for the 3 days you spent in Cape Town. We hope that the Townhouse Hotel will be your hotel of choice on your next visit to Cape...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Breakfast could be better. The staff apparently very friendly, but clearly have been instructed to trot out the same cliches. The hotel, although well decorated is sterile and lacking atmosphere. Worth it, but won't return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcKruger2014
Hugh57, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to post your review here on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you were not happy with our breakfast selection, and you found that the hotel lacks atmosphere. We certainly hope you would change your mind about staying with us again in the future. Best Regards Townhouse Management Team

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our third stay , although their had been long gaps , location is still superb for all the tourist sites, ie Parliament , Company gardens , numerous museums, Adderley & Long Streets , etc .Rooms have all had a major refit , to bring them up an excellent standard , furniture , beds , wet rooms , .The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atw1946
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel offers some of the most beautiful and modern rooms I have seen in Cape Town. It is definitely value for money and I would have thought that it is a 5 star hotel. The restaurant is a bit expensive, but the food is of very high quality and when brought to the table, plated like 5 star cuisine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Businessman1988

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
337 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
567 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#57 of 106 in Cape Town Central
351 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#42 of 106 in Cape Town Central
207 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Trees Restaurant
Trees Restaurant
Cuisines: International, Grill, European, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town, this Premier 107 roomed four star classified hotel offers the best of modern amenities, including a business centre and secure covered parking. All rooms boast Free high speed internet access. The Townhouse Hotel is a attractive 12 story hotel and is close to the historic South African Parliament Buildings. Other historical and scenic attractions such as Robben Island, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the Table Mountain Cableway are all within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 60 Corporation Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $130 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Townhouse Cape Town
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#55 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Townhouse Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
5 months ago
Toronto, Canada
over a year ago
New York City, New York
5 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Townhouse Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High floors”
EricY674, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I prefer a quiet room, as large as possible in the category, certainly one which can hold a lot of luggage!”
HMW1411, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some high floors offer good views of Table Top”
ROBINH167, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose the 8th floor rooms, which have a beautiful view of the mountain and the city below.”
Viagante2012, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had a view overlooking Table mountain!”
132jayan, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5