We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Townhouse Hotel

CancelonUS$80*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$157*
US$80*
Great Deal
US$110*
US$110*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Townhouse Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Townhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 287: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Extremely impressed with hotel upgrade done from what it was. Definitely a much better hotel than most in the surrounding areas Close to Parliament (2-3 minutes walk) It is a business and leisure hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Razia A
Hugh57, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy to read that you are impressed with the renovations that have taken place over the past few years. We hope to welcome you back to the Townhouse Hotel on your next visit to Cape Town. Best Regards Townhouse Management Team

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Staff are always friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. However the room was a little small with no drawer space and broken suitcase rack. Shower gel does triple duty as your shampoo and conditioner as well! Restaurant ii slow with breakfast a 25 minute wait. Please cook your poached eggs without vinegar in the water!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
Hugh57, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Many thanks for taking the time to post your review here on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you were not happy with the size of your room and the lack of drawer space, which ultimately led to a disappointing stay with us. We would like to point out that extra drawer space can be provided on request....

Newburgh, New York
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and i spend our last 3 nights here during our trip. We booked the Jr. Suite and was extremely pleased by it. We didnt eat on the property, since there was so many restaurants near by, but we walked passed it every morning and smelled quite nice. The hotel is in an excellent location. Close to Long st...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom K
Hugh57, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your positive review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of the junior suites, and that the location of the hotel was convenient for the 3 days you spent in Cape Town. We hope that the Townhouse Hotel will be your hotel of choice on your next visit to Cape...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Breakfast could be better. The staff apparently very friendly, but clearly have been instructed to trot out the same cliches. The hotel, although well decorated is sterile and lacking atmosphere. Worth it, but won't return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcKruger2014
Hugh57, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to post your review here on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you were not happy with our breakfast selection, and you found that the hotel lacks atmosphere. We certainly hope you would change your mind about staying with us again in the future. Best Regards Townhouse Management Team

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our third stay , although their had been long gaps , location is still superb for all the tourist sites, ie Parliament , Company gardens , numerous museums, Adderley & Long Streets , etc .Rooms have all had a major refit , to bring them up an excellent standard , furniture , beds , wet rooms , .The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atw1946
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel offers some of the most beautiful and modern rooms I have seen in Cape Town. It is definitely value for money and I would have thought that it is a 5 star hotel. The restaurant is a bit expensive, but the food is of very high quality and when brought to the table, plated like 5 star cuisine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Businessman1988
Lac-Megantic, Canada
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed there for a night on May 5th, 2014. Great hotel, very good location (5 minutes from the Green market), quiet, clean and food is good. The room I booked was supposed to be small. Actually, it is not that small since the space is well used.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susy V
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Long street is just up the road, contemporary decorated. Its an old hotel but it is very nicely decorated. Our room service was served by an old lady who has worked there for 40years and love the hotel and how good they have been to her. Had no option but to give her a very good tip she reminded me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mbalz
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for 11 days on a solo trip in one of the deluxe rooms. Not the biggest room but big enough and great bang for your buck with a great location in the middle of town. Entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful. After I arrived I noticed the window in my room wasn't closing properly and causing a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dalemelnychuk
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My booking came with free breakfast ( not sure if they all do.) The breakfast was delicious. Cooked to order hot items and a buffet of Pastries, fruit, cheeses & cold meats. I used the laundry service offered, was happy with it. The reception was friendly and helpful with directions. free good working wifi. They gave me a cookie &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank welldo

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
341 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
575 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#57 of 109 in Cape Town Central
352 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#44 of 109 in Cape Town Central
212 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Trees Restaurant
Trees Restaurant
Cuisines: International, Grill, European, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town, this Premier 107 roomed four star classified hotel offers the best of modern amenities, including a business centre and secure covered parking. All rooms boast Free high speed internet access. The Townhouse Hotel is a attractive 12 story hotel and is close to the historic South African Parliament Buildings. Other historical and scenic attractions such as Robben Island, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the Table Mountain Cableway are all within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 60 Corporation Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $113 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Townhouse Cape Town
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#55 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Townhouse Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Townhouse Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“An upmarket room that sounds like a factory --- definitely not worth the headache!”
IsmailMahomed, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“High floors”
EricY674, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I prefer a quiet room, as large as possible in the category, certainly one which can hold a lot of luggage!”
HMW1411, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some high floors offer good views of Table Top”
ROBINH167, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose the 8th floor rooms, which have a beautiful view of the mountain and the city below.”
Viagante2012, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$80* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$110
Expedia.comUS$110
AMOMAUS$157
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates