We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Save
Traveller (629)
Room & Suite (382)
Dining (68)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good30%
  • Average8%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“loft room”(90 reviews)
“table mountain”(336 reviews)
“oysters”(86 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,666)
There are newer reviews for Victoria & Alfred Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,407 results
Traveller rating
812
417
127
25
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
812
417
127
25
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roomtable mountainoysterspiazza facingseals playingperfect locationa mountain view roomferris wheeltravel desksister hotelwaterfront arearobben island ferryseparate toiletthird floordock houseservice at breakfastbreakfast was included
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
301 - 305 of 1,407 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on our first trip to Cape Town. The location is amazing; everything is so close. The rooms are a great size and there are some amazing views of the mountain! We had a few teething problems when we arrived...More

Thank Thea T
Response from Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred HotelResponded 6 October 2016

Thank you for your review. Your constructive comments have assisted in rectifying the shortfalls in service you experienced. Our upgrade is now complete and the final product looks incredible. We look forward to welcoming back to enjoy this. Best wishes Rey

Reviewed 2 October 2016

This was a lovely hotel in the ideal location for exploring Cape Town. If it hadn't been for the building works going on then this would have been 5 stars. Unfortunately we were not aware of the work when booking. This hotel overlooks the waterfront...More

Thank cheekyface27
Response from Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred HotelResponded 6 October 2016

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We regret that you were not informed timeously of the upgrade work as we did inform all our booking agents. Our newly renovated ground floor looks amazing and we look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 1 October 2016

This is the third time we've stayed here with our group of 12 from the USA. From year to year, it's just great! Typically, I don't read reviews that are over a year old because a lot can change about a place. This place is...More

Thank PANeddie
Response from Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred HotelResponded 6 October 2016

Thank you so much for such an honest and great review! We are indeed proud of our team for ensuring you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Rey

Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Positive - this is a great location, if somewhat noisy Negative - were not informed of renovations going on. Our agent was informed by the hotel these would end before our stay, however there was an obvious delay (October stickers over the September dates!) which...More

Thank Chris J
Response from Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred HotelResponded 6 October 2016

Thanks for your review. We are sorry that you were not forewarned by your agent of the upgrade work as we did ensure all our booking channels were advised. That being said, the new space is amazing and will be a treat for you when...More

Reviewed 27 September 2016

We had a very smooth and nice stay at this hotel. It was still going through it's renovations but that was not problem at all. Perfect location to other restaurants and the city tour bus that we utilized. Breakfast was lovely. We never knew what...More

Thank Carly B
Response from Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred HotelResponded 6 October 2016

Thanks for your review and letting us know the upgrade work did not trouble you. We will let our front team know your kind comments. Best Rey

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Cape Town Central
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$116 - US$406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$116 - US$406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (629)
Room & Suite (382)
Dining (68)
Pool & Beach (4)
Amenities (4)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Denver_NCWanderlust
11 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from dejm106 | Reviewed this property |
We stayed on the city waterfront view side right at the nosiest end and although there was noise it cleared up at about 9pm. The noise up until then was very pleasant. It was soft African music from street singers who were... More
0
Votes
Sujeki
2 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from dejm106 | Reviewed this property |
Normal saving water precautions are in place. Cape Town has now connected into a nearby aquifer which is supplying 5m litres of water and they have also taken delivery of an desalination plant with another 5m litres per day... More
0
Votes
Dale S
4 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Allison K | Reviewed this property |
The hotel should be able to do your laundry for you. On the Queen Elizabeth ship there was a laundry room on each deck with washing machines, tumble dryers, ironing board and iron. Or you could fill a bag and the cabin... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"ask for a room with marina and Table Mountain view. Have an afternoon tea."
Read review
"go for one with the big windows and view"
Read review
"Mountain view rooms offer views of the wharf, and are quieter than the Plaza view rooms (which also face..."
Read review
"Choose a mountain view room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing