We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Splendida

Expedia.comUS$56*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$58*
US$56*
Great Deal
US$57*
US$57*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
La Splendida
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
Start your review of La Splendida
 Click to rate
Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is perfect, only 20 minutes walk to the Waterfront. The hotel restaurant pulls people from other hotels to dine with the. mGood selection of food,mservice is quite good. The rooms are spacious and clean. My superior room was large, could easily fit 4 people. Staff at reception and housekeeping were very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachwar
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I will pass on your fantastic feedback to all our staff. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Chris Raath Resident Manager

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is located on the sea front at Mouille Point, staff are very welcoming and helpful, food & cocktails at restaurant downstairs are amongst the best in Cape Town at really good prices. nice relaxed atmosphere always busy especially when the live bands are on. Rooms are clean and spacious only downside to this hotel is could do with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jubiloo2
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for taking the time to review us and all the information shared. We are glad you enjoyed your Cape Town experience and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Chris Raath Resident Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at this boutique hotel before and when I walked in and saw the upgraded reception area, I thought I was in a hotel. However having to knock on the desk for some one to appear is a bit primitive. Then walking to my room and using out dated lock and key gave me the impression that I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DazzaB777
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. My apologies you did not have a good experience at our hotel. Although our front desk is open 24 hours a day, there are times where the receptionist would be busy in the back office or attending to another guest in a room but I assure we do not...

Martinsburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice stay at la Splendida over spring break. The husband and I had a lovely room with a view of the water. The room was very bright with it's full length window letting in lots of light and it's splashes of red - bathroom door, mini frig, sofa, and chair. The room was nice and spacious with lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheen2013
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and for all the feedback and details you have listed. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon. It was a pleasure having you here. Kind regards, Chris Raath Resident Manager

Harare
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Centrally located on Beach Road which overlooks the ocean. The vibe is friendly and laid back. The in house restaurant is open all day. The early morning sees the coffee crowd congregate. The extensive menu offers light meals and a full bar which includes a wide range of artisinal beers. A great base from which to explore the vibrant city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delina A
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day Delina, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the feedback. Hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Chris Raath Resident Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

On face value, rooms look lovely, however room is a bit aged on closer inspection. Worth's it value for the price you pay. Staff are excellent, very good service and attention received. WiFi sucks big time. Bathrooms are in a generally ok condition, a bit aged as well. Beds are excellent and comfy, loves this. Fridges have to be stocked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeffster89
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate all the feedback and hope to see you in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Chris Raath Resident Manager

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

We came with a group of 15 that all paid the same amount to stay at this hotel. Several weeks before we arrived I contacted Tracey at corporate to see about getting an ocean view room, she told me there would be a charge and apparently never relayed this message to the hotel staff! When our group of 15 arrived,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jagsgirl20
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us, I apologise that your stay was not satisfactory. Due to very high occupancies we were unable to move you to an ocean view room. I most definitely would have moved you should an ocean view room become available which was communicated the day of arrival as well as the...

Elmwood Park
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Came here as the selection of a packaged vacation deal I purchased. This hotel is very clean, the staff was very attentive maybe not the best at recommending places to dine/nightlife but overall very pleased. The WiFi was just OK my room was located near a modem so I had no issues in my room but the lobby area was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cisneros_cmc
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us and for all the positive feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Chris Raath Resident Manager

Waimanalo, Hawaii
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

The Hotel is Beautiful, Good Location, The Rooms and Great, but the WiFi is Horrendous. If WiFi is important for your Vacation do NOT stay here. It doesn't matter what they do or say the Internet does not work. Not in the Rooms, not in the Lobby. IF you happen to connect it will be the slowest connection you'd ever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlyKawaihae
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We apologise for the WIFI problem you experienced. Our WIFI system has recently been upgraded and is working 100% so I am not entirely sure why you did not receive a signal. Although from time to time smart phones and or tablet devices have restrictive settings that need to...

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

La Splendida is a fun beach bar and restaurant close to Mouille Point. Lively with a real buzz. Service an be a little sluggish but at other times is fast. Good value offers for dinner on Tuesdays. We had lamb burgers some night but seafood was also good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review La Splendida and for the positive feedback. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Chris Raath Resident Manager

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 km away
Premier Hotel Cape Town
Premier Hotel Cape Town
#60 of 108 in Cape Town Central
488 reviews
1.5 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 108 in Cape Town Central
476 reviews
2.4 km away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#111 of 200 in Cape Town
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
New Kings Hotel
New Kings Hotel
#69 of 108 in Cape Town Central
256 reviews
2.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 108 in Cape Town Central
320 reviews
3.2 km away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 108 in Cape Town Central
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about La Splendida

Address: 121 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $78 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Splendida 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Splendida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Splendida Hotel Cape Town Central
La Splendida Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Splendida staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from La Splendida staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best rooms with the seaviews and corner seaview. Their rooms have individual characters”
Rachwar, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“The sea view across the road makes this hotel - not so good looking at apartments next door!”
jubiloo2, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 103 is very nice, but sits directly over the restaurant/bar and outside terrace.”
Cheen2013, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors will minimize the ambient noise from the street down below.”
delinaa2017, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If noise bothers you, ask for a sea-facing room on a higher floor or a mountain-facing room.”
TaniaDLK, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$56* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$57
Hotels.comUS$57
HotelQuicklyUS$58
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates