We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Splendida

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Splendida
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Splendida
See the most recent reviews
Showing 160: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I stayed here for 4 nights as part of a group tour and would stay here again without question. Location was perfect, restaurant was nice vibe, good drinks and great food. I had a 3rd floor mountainview which was very nice and clean. The staff was wonderful, very accomodating and helped us out when our tour guide didnt show by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbs723lk
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to the Waterfront. Also the hop on hop off bus stop is right out front. Cool vibes on the weekend in the restaurant downstairs . Very happy with our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Chris Raath

Bologna, Italia
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We had a 4 nights stay during a SA tour organized by Mokoro (Italian agency that outsources to Sandown tours travel agency in SA). Place is quite nice, but pictures online are a bit misleading. Our room was ok, but unfortunately not very clean. The view was nice (we had a 3rd floor seaview room). People are very kind, especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tibet8
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We sincerely apologise for your room not being up to the standard we normally like to achieve, but we are very happy there were a few other positive aspects to your stay with us. Please visit again soon so we can make up to you. Kind regards, Chris Raath

Rawsonville
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We had a good stay. Staff was friendly & very helpful. Room was clean. However, they were busy with construction downstairs...so the welding smell came through the bathroom window. We had a great mountain view room & could see the golf course & stadium. It was a lovely summer feel Saturday & took a nice walk up Beach Rd. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guestgG1784PR
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience of the renovations. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay otherwise and hope to see you again very soon! Kind regards, Chris Raath

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Stayed for 4 nights in a sea view room. Comfortable bed, nice view but the room was located above the bar so was noisy at night, needed ear plugs. Would recommend rooms at the back of hotel with mountain view. Hop on hop off bus stop (for Blue and Red routes) is across the road from Hotel and it's 20...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty C
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Good location. Basic room furnishings are sparse side and views all seem to be on the side even the "suites". Pictures of the rooms online are very flattering. Think of sparse whitewashed rendered walls and tiled floors and then you won't be disappointed. Upstairs mezzanine for suite which was equally sparse but without a sofa bed so not useful for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vance K
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We sincerely apologise for not meeting the standard we aim to achieve. We have taken the necessary steps to improve on the cleanliness of the rooms and Hotel over all. We look forward to welcoming you back in February. Kind regards Chris Raath

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Cold rooms on a cold and wet CT night. Appalling TV selection with no international news. After searching other rooms, I was offered one room where I could hear CNN on a snowy screen. Noise came from the road, and during the night the bar fridge was very noisy. Room appeared clean but the next morning my feet were black...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BizTravellerSA
Rotorua
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Very friendly and helpful staff. Great food and service in the attached restaurant/bar with and excellent breakfast included in the room rate. The room and bathroom needed a refresh ( cracked vinyl on chair, oddly positioned fridge), but comfortable bed and good linen and good standard of cleanliness.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 295dennis
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Booked and paid sea view room rate but got a mountain view room, enquired about it but nothing could be done as my room Was given to someone else :( only moved to a seaview room on the last night with a 4am checkout.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank EliasMabuza
Ladysmith, South Africa
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Spent 2 nights here - part of a group. Our room looked out over towards Signal Hill. It was large spacious and comfortable. the hotel is walking distance from teh V&A waterfront. The my citi bus and the big bus tours stop right across from the hotel and the lovely lawn and beach front promenade are an absolute joy! Had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SAtraveller99

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 km away
Premier Hotel Cape Town
Premier Hotel Cape Town
#58 of 106 in Cape Town Central
484 reviews
2.9 km away
New Kings Hotel
New Kings Hotel
#69 of 106 in Cape Town Central
255 reviews
1.5 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#111 of 198 in Cape Town
225 reviews
2.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
315 reviews
1.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#81 of 106 in Cape Town Central
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about La Splendida

Address: 121 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $85 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Splendida 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Splendida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Splendida Hotel Cape Town Central
La Splendida Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Splendida staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from La Splendida staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors will minimize the ambient noise from the street down below.”
delinaa2017, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If noise bothers you, ask for a sea-facing room on a higher floor or a mountain-facing room.”
TaniaDLK, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“see view is great, but make sure you two floors up as restaurant can be a little noizy”
L3311WQelenal, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 302 had great views and was very spacious and quiet.”
816lesleyd, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Mountain view rooms as quiet and roomier”
laurenw129, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5