We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We stayed at the Rosedene for a 7 day Cape Town holiday in April after having a few excellent stays there many years ago. The staff are wonderful, friendly and helpful, but subtly in the background. The views of Table Mountain above The Rosedene and...More
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This business uses tools provided by TripAdvisor (or one of its official Review Collection Partners) to encourage and collect guest reviews, including this one.
Response from RosedeneGuestHouse, General Manager at Rosedene Guest HouseResponded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your kind words! I am glad that you stayed when the weather was still warm. We are having a very cold spell at the moment!
We hope to see you again soon!
On a recent visit to Cape Town, our travel agent thankfully arranged for us to stay at Rosedene Guest House. We absolutely loved the experience.
BREAKFAST/WINE: The breakfast was terrific. Fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, warm croissants and muffins, cereals, French-press coffee and cook-to-order hot breakfast....More
Response from RosedeneGuestHouse, General Manager at Rosedene Guest HouseResponded 29 March 2017
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It was wonderful to meet you and your lovely family and an absolute pleasure to host you! I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip and especially your flight in the microlight! :).
This place is way overrated. Cannot believe all the positive reviews. Not worth any more than $40 per night. Staff is generally incompetent. English accent manager was pompous and indifferent.
Breakfast was average.
Free parking was a plusMore
Response from RosedeneGuestHouse, General Manager at Rosedene Guest HouseResponded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you feel this way. Your review is so contrary to all our other reviews that I first thought you had the wrong guesthouse. I remembered that you stayed in our standard room, which is less luxurious...More
It was great. Nothing to complain about. Family cottage was great and service from staff was exceptional. Thank you Sue, for everything. Good location to walk down to restaurants or for day excursions into Cape Town and surrounds
Rosedene was recommended by my South African travel agent. I balked at first, having never stayed at a "guesthouse", thinking it would be similar to a hostel. Not at all, what a wonderful little place. More than anything, the staff was extremely professional, efficient, and...More
Thank Marc R
Response from RosedeneGuestHouse, General Manager at Rosedene Guest HouseResponded 18 May 2017
Thank you so much Marc for your wonderful feedback And we are so glad that we managed to change your perception of a guesthouse! :)
TripAdvisor gives a Certificate of Excellence to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers.
Things to do
US$127 - US$226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Star rating provided by TGCSA.
Number of rooms
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Rosedene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.