We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

A Sunflower Stop

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
A Sunflower Stop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for A Sunflower Stop
See the most recent reviews
Showing 260: English reviews
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Loved this place, stayed for 3 nights on arrival in South Africa and enjoyed it so much are returning for there for the last 3 nights before going back to England. Great location and a short walk to the V&A Waterfront

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank annhF1711OA
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Wifi connection should be stronger in the bedroom. Otherwise, great location if visiting the V&A waterfront. Close to the main road. Secure place. Not a noisy place. Comfy bed. Nice showers. Awesome people working there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelh645
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Our flight had delayed and only made it to Sunflower Stop at midnight. We were welcomed with smiles even though it was so late and still squeezed in a night tour of the place. We appreciated that. We sure will be back...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thabile T
Munster, Germany
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Hostel is located in Green Point District in Cape Town, safe area nar V/ A Waterrfront. But this hostel should urgently renovate its sleeping room quality. Upper beds are unsafe ( no steady ledder, wood frame partly broken- This is a No-Go). And please more comfort in dorms: -USB- ports und plugs on the headsite of each bed, safe lockable...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank germantraveller794
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 5 December 2016

I really love the place. I would go back with my family.cleaners need to work and make sure everything is clean and make sure everything is clean. The place is good no need to worry. We really enjoyed staying .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 134jenicer
New York City, New York
Reviewed 30 November 2016

I loved staying here! Extremely convenient for visiting VA Waterfront and didn't feel like I was in a stuffy hotel. I had a single room which was very comfy and shared facilities which were very clean. I also liked the free coffee at the check in and the bar that was open in the afternoon and evenings.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T2697RLmelissaa
Ashley W, Owner at A Sunflower Stop, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Cape Town
Reviewed 28 November 2016

I had a very good stay and the atmosphere was great and the facilities were up to standard. Great hostel for young and old. Good location. Nice bar at the hostel as well. Friendly staff. Room was all we needed. I would recommend this hostel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 830debbie2016
Ashley W, Owner at A Sunflower Stop, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Staff is really cool, most of the time there's a great atmosphere around, people r happy, chillin' by the bar and the pool. The kitchen could use some (heavy) work. showers r great there's a Brai every saturday

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
Ashley W, Owner at A Sunflower Stop, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and not sure what you mean by heavy work needed in the kitchen as this is brand new and we are very proud of the new kitchen.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 8 November 2016

I was very disappointed when I arrived as it was absolutely not what I expected. The photos online should be more clear about what this place really looks like and more details on the place would be more helpful for people who feel they wasted their money and time when arriving at the actual hotel, as it doesn't really feel...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank laiqahv
Ashley W, Owner at A Sunflower Stop, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed and wish you had pictures that you think would be better describing us. Perhaps the reason you were disappointed with the "hotel" is that we are not a hotel and don't pretend to be one. We are a youth hostel/backpackers.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Highly Recommended.I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Sunflower Stop.It is the best lodge, in its price range- and way above, in the area. The manager,John, runs a great lodge/guest house.It is clean, the staff is efficient, and the place is obviously well managed.The staff is pleasant, polite, courteous and helpful. The lodge is clean, and kept clean daily, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redpixx47
Ashley W, Owner at A Sunflower Stop, responded to this review

Thanks Chris for the great review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Ashley

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,792 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,654 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
611 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
484 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 125 in Cape Town Central
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Sunflower Stop backpackers offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation for budget travellers in Cape Town. Nestled between the mountains and sea, the backpackers hostel is in the perfect location to enjoy your time in Cape Town. With a self-catering kitchen, bar and T.V. lounge, our luxury backpackers offers affordable accommodation for every budget. So come and make yourself at home with our friendly staff, cool off in our refreshing sun filled swimming pool, relax at the cosy bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about A Sunflower Stop

Address: 179 Main Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $18 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Sunflower Stop 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Sunflower Stop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Stop Hotel Cape Town Central
Sunflower Stop Cape Town
A Sunflower Stop Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from A Sunflower Stop staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from A Sunflower Stop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back can not access WIFI, you better off at the front.”
mkhulisig, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The wifi is good but the rooms at the back do not connect to the wifi”
redpixx47, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“8 person room is a best budget option”
Stefan_Banach, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“17 is a double en-suite, can be slightly noisy but it didn't disturb my sleep at all.”
Hannah2490, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms further from the main road are quieter”
sonjam927, 15 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5