We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

927 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 780: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed overnight for business purposes. Good location in Cape Town. Room was nice, bed really comfortable. Quality linen and comfortable pillows. Great bar area serving their famous milkshakes! Breakfast was average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wianca07
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

First, let me say that this was one of the hotels on my Gate 1 Travel tour of South Africa and Zimbabwe. Of all the hotels we stayed at, this was the most modern, trendy, and posh!!! Upon arrival, we were greeted with mini chocolate milkshakes from their milkshake bar on the 1st floor and given our room keys. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GamRogue
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear GamRogue Thank you for sharing your experience with us - and we hope to have you back next year for your birthday again! The milkshakes are amazing and if you are touring South Africa - this is a perfect hotel to explore and experience Cape Town from. Wishing you safe travels and looking forward to welcome you back again!...

Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

Cape Town's Protea Fire and Ice Hotel Summary: The staff is outstanding. The rooms are small. The Wi-Fi in the rooms stinks. It is a business/meeting hotel, not a tourist hotel. The bar is great. Dinner and lunch is good. Breakfast is vast, but expensive. It is not very close to anything touristy and half the room's views are of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DorothyMacaw
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear DorothyMacaw Thank you for a very honest and comprehensive review - it is amazing to read this and I hope you had time to enjoy our milkshakes or take a dip in our heated pool. We truly are looking forward to welcome you back and let me know when you are travelling again so that we can make sure...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Fire and Ice hotel in Cape Town on a weekend and will advise other travellers to avoid this. The pool being situated on the 1st floor had day time visitors until late and the noise was a bit of a disturbance. The hotel is packed on the weekend with visitors at the restaurant and we were unfortunate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimera M
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear kimera M Thank you for staying with us and I am sorry your room had a bad smell. The hotel hosts a warm up session in our social spaces every Friday & Saturday to start the evening and then go explore and experience Cape Town. We are in the process of replacing the elevators and soon we will be...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sorry that I am complaining about this hotel but it certainly didn't stand up to what I had read about it. The staff were always very friendly I had no complaints there. The room was shoddy and for the price I paid very disappointing. No fridge bar in the room and when I ordered water and a cool drink after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shiona H
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Shiona H Thank you for bringing this to our attention - we will share this with the teams and ensure that they improve their service delivery. I wish you safe travels and hope that when your travels brings you back to Cape Town you will stay with us. Yours always Janneman

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were using the hotel as a base to play golf in the area. On arrival which was well before the check in time we were warmly welcomed and our luggage was stored for us. We had booked the 2 bedroom suites which were fantastic. Well appointed and well equipped. The breakfast was good although we had to scramble a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Gary P Thank you for staying with us and it sounds like you had a great time in Cape Town. We wish you safe travels and great golf games - looking forward to welcome you back again! Yours always Janneman

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Breakfast was included with our stay, made from scratch omelet, fresh fruit , great croissants, etc. Rooms were unique, glass portioned shower & restroom. Comfortable beds, quick laundry service. Turn in in the morning back by evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank czbrat1
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear czbrat1 Thank you for staying with us and we are happy you had a great rest and awesome breakfast! We look forward to welcome you back and try some of our milkshakes on your next visit! Yours always Janneman

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Close enough to walk to everything, helpful with taxi's to the gardens, etc. Incredible breakfast. Very pleasant staff and room was lovely. Would stay there again on our next trip to South Africa. Bed was very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susan f
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear susan f Thank you for staying with us and I am happy you had a great time in Cape Town. Wishing you many more safe travels and looking forward to welcome you back. Yours always Janneman

Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I am flying on business, some criteria are very important to me. Below is a summary of these: Location: Foot distance to the bars and restaurants of Long str and Bree str. 1+ Wifi connectivity: Awesome, strong signal everywhere Rooms: some furniture a bit old, but all in all comfy and trendy, and clean. Great view to Table Mountain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralitsa_nbg
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Ralitsa_nbg Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you had a very productive visit to our city and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon again. We are working on the smiles and when you check in again - come say hello. Yours always Janneman

Lakewood
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is in a safe, accessible area. Front desk was helpful, especially Melinda who was able to obtain tickets to Robben Island for us. Good taxi service to Table Mountain and V & A Waterfront area. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious. Beautiful views of Table and Signal Mountains. Shower and sink are part of the room, separated by...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gerald R
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Gerald R Thank you for staying with us and I am so happy you made the most of your stay in Cape Town - the hotel has a great location and we are always willing to hook you up with the best tourist attractions and restaurants in town. We are looking forward to welcome you back and recommend some...

515 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (320)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Other (82)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (141)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Pool & Terrace (16)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Patio Room (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
275 reviews
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 106 in Cape Town Central
515 reviews
0.3 km away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
670 reviews
1.6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
677 reviews
2.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the moment you step into the lobby of this edgy Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Hotel, you will be greeted by the welcoming sounds of deep house lounge beats and immersed into a world of best GUEST service known to mankind. This ultra-chic hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town and is a mere 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront. Set within walking distance of tourist attractions such as the hip night life of Long Street as well as 15 minutes from Cape Town's famous beaches, Camps Bay and Clifton. Mingle with fellow GUESTS and locals at the renowned Communal Table, or enjoy our crisp glass bar, a coffee brewery by day and party ticket by night featuring signature milkshakes and cocktails. Our snug yet sexy rooms are modern and trendy and features all the bells and whistles needed to ensure the comfiest stay. Your cheeky bedroom, ranging from 18 m² - 23 m² (remember that saying about dynamite?) comes standard with the most comfortable king size beds and is the base from which you can explore our slick social spaces and beautiful Mother City This is Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town, Cape Town's Hottest Place to Chill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Address: New Church Street, Cape Town Central 8018, South Africa (Formerly Extreme Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $151 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! By Marriott Cape Town South Africa
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Extreme Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#64 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room right above the pool on the 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles kimeram, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The suites are superb”
 of 5 bubbles U7751PVgaryp, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Table Mountain view rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles Ralitsa_nbg, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms 9 and 10 are as described above”
 of 5 bubbles Letsgoblues1, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pool or street side both pretty quiet”
 of 5 bubbles TomTrader, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay