We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

House on the Hill

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
House on the Hill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for House on the Hill
See the most recent reviews
Showing 71: English reviews
Terang, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

House on the hill was one of the best value places we found in SA, it was right near shops and restaraunts, plus just 10 mins walk to V & A waterfront. There was free parking out the front and the street was quiet which made the simple but functional rooms a great place to get a nights sleep. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frequentjaunts
Europe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

DON'T STAY HERE. You can find many other places for the same money where the staff isn't rude. Great location, decent rooms for the money (although nothing special), bland breakfast but would have no trouble recommending if it weren't for the staff. The man staffer, Dean, hates his job and is constantly either drunk, sleeping or being rude. The fact... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank dave31416
Houseoth, owner at House on the Hill, responded to this review

House on the Hill would like to apologize to the guests for the incident and would like to assure all future clients that the matter has been attended to in the best possible manner. Our guests are guaranteed friendly service and warm hospitality at all times.....because we love the job we're doing! More 

Preston, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Stayed a week in early Jan, there for the cricket. Location is great, handy for the V&A which we always walked to and from, and just a mini bus, 5 rand each, to the centre of CT. Place is fine although our en-suite was a little tired, but good value. Always found Trish helpful and her advice to others always... More 

Helpful?
Thank andy1mac
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

This was a nice B & B with microwave and refridgerator. It was great to have a view of the new Word Cup Stadium out our window. Safe walking distance to the V & A Waterfront with restaurants, pubs, shopping and attractions. Very economical and easy.

Helpful?
Thank mojowp
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2009

We were a family group of two adults, one teenager and one under ten. We were on a budget on holiday, and this worked out really well. We all shared one room, with a double bed and a bunk bed, with an en-suite bathroom. The kitchen area was adequate and we used it a lot, and the sitting area was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Justwannarecommend
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Nice sized room with tea and coffee facillities and hot water bottles for when it got cold at night. Slightly damp in the room. Staff were helpful in booking restaurants, taxis etc but weren't very friendly or welcoming! Great location, close to the waterfront, with a grocery store around the corner if you want to eat in.

Helpful?
Thank traveller12343
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Friendly staff, cute simple rooms. Centrally located in Green Point and right up the street from Buena Vista Social Club, a fun spot for drinks. The staff didn't recommend walking from Green Point to other Cape Town areas although they said Green Point was pretty safe. They had a inexpensive cab company we used which was great.

Helpful?
1 Thank em0514
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We arrived to a strange looking guy at reception who kicked the door open for us instead of opening it politely. Barely greeted us and went straight to payment. Without even welcoming us into the house! His lack of customer service towards us has a couple really ruined our mood at House on the hill. The rooms are decent and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jetset2London
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2009

I stayed House and Hill with my traveling partner and I loved it. They have moved locations recently - as far as I know, all the rooms at the new location have their own bathrooms. The rooms were clean and good-sized. The ensuite bathroom was great. There were a small kitchen and lounge area, the right size for only about... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CB12368
dc
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Try to get the biggest room -- this is the best value. It has a beautiful bathtub with a view. Otherwise, you might need to share a bathroom with other people. The location was pretty decent - a 20 min walk to the waterfront, where you get the amazing views on the table mountain, can have breakfast , etc. Parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank dutchblonde

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.2 km away
Harpers House
Harpers House
#143 of 936 in Cape Town
35 reviews
0.4 km away
Point B Guest House
Point B Guest House
#62 of 164 in Cape Town Central
83 reviews
0.2 km away
Never at Home Cape Town
Never at Home Cape Town
#15 of 128 in Cape Town Central
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Oxford House
Oxford House
#10 of 128 in Cape Town Central
482 reviews
0.2 km away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 128 in Cape Town Central
448 reviews
0.6 km away
Altona Lodge
Altona Lodge
#3 of 128 in Cape Town Central
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about House on the Hill

Address: 5 Norman Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $52 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your House on the Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House On The Hill Hotel Cape Town Central
House On The Hill Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from House on the Hill staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Portland, Oregon, United States

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from House on the Hill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had two rooms and both were excellent”
 of 5 bubbles trilochansaini, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Our room was upstairs, so be prepared to carry your luggage up”
 of 5 bubbles happytraveller5360, 18 Nov 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in Room 2 (downstairs) with a double and a single bed.”
 of 5 bubbles clemnise, 10 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles OutMosquitoMe, 12 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Almost low-priced accommodation in clean rooms”
 of 5 bubbles PetraG31, 14 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay