We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,830 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,618: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 April 2016

The hotel is awesomely located to the Waterfront. They have a shuttle that departs every 30 minutes or you can to the Waterfront. Breakfast was great every morning for our time there. The staff are super friendly and helpful. Room was lovely and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VuyoL03
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you, VuyoL03 for the wonderful TripAdvsior score. It is a pleasure to hear of your awesome experience at the hotel. Your kind words have been shared with the team and we thank you for the positive feedback. We wish you well and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Devonn Justus Front Office Duty Manager

Kempton Park, South Africa
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Will always check into this splendid, world class hotel whenever am in Cape Town for business or leisure. The service is great, rooms very neat and the location strategic and close to the famous Waterfront.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zvinaiye Satoro S
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you ,Zvinaiye Satoro S for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the location of the hotel. We thank you for your recommendation and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Devon Justus Front Office Duty Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2016

I spent 1 week at Southern Sun Waterfront between two safaris. It was a comfortable hotel and housekeeping generally responded to my requests promptly. The room was cleaned daily and i was a little confused that the towels I hung up got changed as well as the towels on the floor, despite their being a sign about water usage due...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ingrid C
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you, Ingrid C for the detailed review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we apologise once again for the challenges experienced with replacement of your room amenities. Your review has been shared with the team and we thank you for allowing us the opportunity to improve our overall guest experience. We wish...

Procida Island, Italy
Reviewed 11 April 2016

It was a pleasant surprise with a good room, clean and a great shuttle service to the nearby waterfront. Too bad that the wifi included only 50mb of traffic included. For such a structure would be desirable wifi unlimited. perfect reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crescenzo g
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you, crescenzo g for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the location and shuttle service. The hotel offers 500mb complimentary wi-fi access to our guests and should our guests require additional data, we have a variety of packages available. We wish you safe...

Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

What a great hotel. friendly staff clean modern free wifi showers great pressure. Excellent location , rooms well appointed. Pool area next to bar ,pool is very refreshing after a day out, Breakfast has a large selection to choose from. Cold and hot food etc

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian H
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you, Sebastian H for the wonderful TripAdvisor score. It is a pleasure to hear of your great stay with us, and you review has been shared with the team. We wish you safe travels. Kind regards Devon Justus Front Office Duty Manager

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Room was dirty when we arrived after 15h00, after we tried to check in earlier - Not good impression. Room for family is a bit cramped when you are 4 & had "wet" moldy smell. Service from staff however was great & breakfast awesome. Compliments to security who found our camera! Thank x

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thys422
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you, thys422 for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your room and felt cramped. Our twin bedded rooms offer two double beds in the room. We do apologise for the room not being clean on arrival and having a mouldy smell, as this is well below...

Montagu, South Africa
Reviewed 8 April 2016

The stay was for business and therefore most of my time was spent out of the Hotel, however, any and all requirements were met with courteous service and favourable enthusiasm. The breakfast was delicious and carefully and tastefully prepared with choices to delight any culinary desire. Recommended as a business and/or holiday destination.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank FriendofGrand
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you, FriendofGrand for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel suited your business needs. Your review has been shared with the team and we thank you for your recommendation. We wish you well and hope to welcome you back in the...

Lusaka Province, Zambia
Reviewed 8 April 2016

The location is ideal for family vacation. Easy access to the waterfront shopping mall. Excellent service provided. I will definitely choose the same hotel next time I go on vacation. Free shuttle to the mall.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lusunguk2016
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you, lusunguk2016 for the wonderful TripAdvisor score. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel's location suited your vacation needs. We look forward to welcoming you back when next you are in Cape Town. Kind regards Devon Justus Front Office Duty Manager

hastings
Reviewed 7 April 2016

We stayed here at the end of a busy South African tour so was looking for a relaxed stay and we were not disappointed. The rooms are a good size for a large city hotel and the beds comfortable. Close enough to walk to the V&A Waterfront area the hotel also offers a minibus service which is useful for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deborah r
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you, deborah r for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the location and friendly staff. Your review has been shared with the team and we thank you for the positive feedback. We wish you safe travels and hope to welcome you...

ZAR
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Had a wonderful stay, the staff were very nice to us and my hyper 3 year old boy, i would definitely recommend it to anyone who wishes to travel to Cape Town. I will also be back next year. Thank you for a good stay and your good staff

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 253shirleyk
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you, 253shirleyk for the wonderful TripAdvisor score. It is a pleaseure to read of your enjoyable stay with us, and we thank you for the recomendation. We wish you well and hope to welcome you back again. Kind regards Devon Justus Front Office Duty Manager

573 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (319)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (148)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Executive Room (35)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Two Double Room (32)
Viewed
Suite (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,572 reviews
2.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,654 reviews
0.2 km away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,433 reviews
0.7 km away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
836 reviews
1.3 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $185 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor, sea view and non smoking - it does not come any better ...”
  • Just a few hundred metres away was the Queen Elizabeth of the Cunard line 'parked'
Safariafficionado, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for rooms that overlook the pool, no road on that side”
Terrilala, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room overlooking the entrance with view of mountains was fine but definitely not spectacular.”
  • Room overlooked entrance with view of mountain and unfinished highway.
ameenah66, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pay for the unlimited internet service.”
JWRu, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher the better”
975vicw, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5