We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fairview Historic Homestead

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairview Historic Homestead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 82: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 November 2016

This place deserves its 5 star status. It is just incredible... historic, beautiful, comfortable, amazing views, the best breakfast and wonderful hosts. It's pricey, but worth it for the experience and the great memories you will have afterwards. The garden is a masterpiece, and speaking to the owner about it made us appreciate his hard work and vision even more....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldejongh
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We had an amazing stay for two nights at the historical Fairview Historic Homestead in George. For someone like me, who is in involved in the world of design and luxury living, this unique guest house is a hommage to extraordinary hospitality and peace, and a source of inspiration. The room 2 we stayed in was truly wonderful, unusual and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DHGermany
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

The trip adviser reviews were spot on as always The homestead is quite beautiful, immaculately preserved with gentle and understated attention to detail. The owner is a perfect hostess - her welcoming cup of tea and delicious breakfast did not go unnoticed. We had a wonderful stay and would most definitely go there again. We loved it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelley H
Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I travel to George periodically for business and am so grateful to have discovered this gem. Each visit has been a unique experience as each room at Fairview transcends you to a different era with its authentic historic style and decor but still providing the best modern day comfort and luxuries. Philda Berkenstein is an unbelievable host and her breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review

I do take pride in my guest house and breakfast preparation and it is very encouraging to read such kind and encouraging words of appreciation.Thank you!

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Wow - stunning with an historic ambience. Old world charm with modern day service and culinary delights! Simply beautiful park like gardens compliments this stunning old homestead. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff (Yvette). Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike_PE_ZA
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We have stayed at the Fairview when traveling the garden route. Our room had a direct access to the rose garden and was nicely furnished. Besides a very good restaurant recommendation and tips for sight seeing, we received and excellent breakfast on the Fairview's terrace. Unfortunately, I forgot my jacket at the Fairview - and the team (special thanks to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra W
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review

And we would love to have you back :) We have just given the two front rooms a total revamp - I have booked a professional photographer for next week, so look at the website photos in about two weeks...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Beautiful home and B and B, easy to find. Good breakfasts and we had a large room. Lovely gardens, nice pool but the weather was on the cool side so could not use it. Would stay again as and when we return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suzanne_bean
Sarpsborg, Norge
Reviewed 23 April 2016

The setting was perfect, this is one of the oldest Houses im George and it now a true gem of a Guest House, The garden was great, the breakfast was a treat every morning. Great room and the beds was of a really high standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SERASM
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 15 March 2016

If personal, yet professional service, attention to detail and quality accommodation and food appeal to you, look no further! We stayed in a lovely self-catering room at Fairview Homestead, with all the amenities one could ask for - from the well-equipped kitchenette to the spacious room and bathroom. Service was excellent and breakfast (either inside in the dining room or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMT555_555
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad you loved it!

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 February 2016

This was my third stay at Fairview (since October 2015) and this time I stayed in one of the rooms in the original house. The tall doors and high windows offer the most beautiful views to the property's wonderful gardens. While furnished with antiques pieces, the room has all the modern conveniences you could want - bar fridge, microwave oven...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Korien S

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
11.8 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
6.5 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
403 reviews
1.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Edenwood Guest House
Edenwood Guest House
#1 of 57 in George
188 reviews
1.7 km away
Aziza Guest House
Aziza Guest House
#2 of 57 in George
103 reviews
1.2 km away
Acorn Guest House
Acorn Guest House
#4 of 57 in George
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience hospitality in a unique and authentic Cape Georgian historical home dating back to 1861. Fairview Homestead is a 7 bedroom guest house in B&B style - that means the owners,Desmond and Philda, live on the premises. The guest rooms are private, but we have a communal lounge/breakfast area for the guests. Philda is responsible for the running of the Guest House and Desmond is the gardener and plant collector (when not in the garden still working as a medical doctor) We have a large kitchen garden, a small orchard and keep our own chickens. Do consider staying a few days: George is the hub of golf in the Garden Route with many of South Africa's top courses within a 60km radius. We can organize a guided tour of the garden Route wine route, paragliding, bungee jumping, game drives to Bottelierskop Game Reserve and trips to the Seal Island and/or Shark cage diving in Mossel Bay... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairview Historic Homestead

Address: 36 Stander Street, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: $87 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Historic Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Fairview Historic Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fairview Historic Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room outside very private. There is no fitness centre and I did not have room service so couldn't rate this.”
 of 5 bubbles Carton61, 8 Nov 2012 | Read review
“The 'orange' room is very romantic”
 of 5 bubbles Crundle, 28 Mar 2012 | Read review
“Try to book a room with a bathtub.”
  • Our room
 of 5 bubbles JohnofTaipei, 2 Aug 2011 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay