We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fancourt

Travellers' Choice award winner
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$264*
US$170*
Great Deal
US$203*
US$203*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Fancourt
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

461 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 376: English reviews
Start your review of Fancourt
 Click to rate
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a 3 day visit to Fancourt and we will definitely be planning many repeat visits in the future. Our package included a stay in one of the Lodges and golf on the Outeniqua course. The Montague was being hollow tined so we didn't get to play that one but that didn't spoil our enjoyment. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I love Fancourt. I go with my fiancé, I go with my mum, I go alone... its lovely and I highly recommend it especially for the golf and amenities. However, my last visit ended terribly due to unprofessional behavior from staff at The Monet restaurant. We were catching a flight that afternoon and after waiting approximately an hour and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michurquhart
Thomas v, Hotel manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Michurquhart Thank you for taking the time to rate us. On behalf of the whole Fancourt team please accept our apologies for not exceeding your expectations and for the inconvenience caused. I can assure you that this most definately is not the norm nor is it how we like to be remembered. Would you be so kind as to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a week during the April vacation and the facility is world class. The golf course, the spa the kids club .. makes for a perfect family holiday. There are three restaurants on location to chood from . An indoor pool for the kids is perfect for all year round swimming The gym is well equipped lots on space including...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4Abade
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a wonderful resort, especially if you play golf. Our room was slightly dated, but the bathroom had been redone. With heated floor, heated towel rack, and a decent sized shower, it fit our needs. The golf was top notch. The Links course is a treat to play and experience. The glitch came with management. The first night in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
Polokwane, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel and lodge rooms with 3 top golf courses, a beautiful spa, salon, tennis courts, and a leisure centre with gym, yoga, indoor and outdoor swimming pools and games room. A variety of dining options as well. And the area has so much on offer too. Really a treat, albeit a bit pricey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichelleGoosen
United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Second time I have stayed at this wonderful facility. Stayed three nights this time. Played golf on the two fabulous courses. Excellent facilities. Staff friendly and professional. Top class facility.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ratu_8
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Ratu The whole Fancourt team are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us once again. Your patronage is greatly appreciated and we hope to be welcoming you and your family back home to Fancourt in the not too distant future. Please dont hesitate to contact me with any queries or requests as my team and...

Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights. Wonderful accomodation (500-series room, with balcony onto golf practice). Large room, large bathroom and great little 'specials' with regard to our wedding aniversary. Extremely courteous and professional staff, from porters to restaurant waiting staff. No time to enjoy the lendid golf courses ... will have to be next time. Overall: superb

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Jan95
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Jan Thank you for taking the time to rate us, we delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and chose to celebrate your wedding anniversary at Fancourt. We wish you both many more happy years together and look forward to creating more special memories with you both at Fancourt in the not too distant future. Please dont hesitate to...

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We finally had a tee time at 11.50 am, just before the members went out. What a disappointment! Sandwiched between an elderly 3 ball ( we are not youngsters ourselves ) who represented senility and those members behind who represented arrogance we were subjected to a slow round in front where, no matter how many shots or balls were hit,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john190447
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear John As a most valued guest your feedback is appreciated and taken to heart. The Fancourt team are dismayed at not exceeding your expectations and can assure you that this is not the norm nor is it how we would like to be remembered. We can assure you that we will be looking into all the issues raised and...

Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You pay for what you get . But it was absolutely perfect. The rooms, the golf course, the service , the food you name it they have it. Very nice pool area , with a heated pool. Very nice golf shop . Everything breathes a breath of quality , so it can be a bit more expensive. But it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick23081947
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Rick Thank you for your feedback which has been shared with our Fancourt team. We delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back home to Fancourt in the not too distant future. Please don't hesitate to contact me should you have any queries or requests as my team and I...

Worcester, South Africa
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

From the Porters ( best in the world), to reservations, to wherever you go on Fancourt - Great Great Staff and service !! This is most definitely one of the greatest resorts in the world !! If I had the money, I would settle here, forever !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouisGroen
Thomas v, Hotel Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review

Dear Mr Groen As valued guests your feedback is much appreciated, the Fancourt team are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us your kind words have been shared and appreciated. We hope to be able to welcome you back home to Fancourt in the not too distant future. Please don't hesitate to contact me should you have...

281 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (144)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
10.6 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.0 km away
The Manor House at Fancourt
3.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
16.1 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
34.1 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Positioned on 613 hectares in the magnificent Garden Route, outside George, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 135 luxury rooms, fantastic family facilities, three Gary Player designed golf courses, a Spa, a Kids Club and various restaurants guarantee enjoyment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fancourt

Address: 1994 Montagu Street | Blanco, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: $213 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fancourt staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Fancourt staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room. Some are overlooking the golf course but the others are fine too.”
Rick23081947, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book tee times in advance - it can get busy. Several large groups during our stay.”
chriskN2659ZJ, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a room with a view of the course”
542Kenneth, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room overlooking the golf courses”
Chazzer124, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I believe all of the rooms are excellent rooms.”
LikeHolidayBliss, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
getaroom.com
US$170* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$203
Expedia.comUS$203
TripAdvisorUS$170
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates