We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Potting Shed Accommodation

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Potting Shed Accommodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

506 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Potting Shed Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Showing 420: English reviews
Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 4 April 2015

We have just stayed at the Potting Shed this past Friday night but was truly surprised at the warm greeting that we got, the beautiful accommodation and the nice breakfast. We did not expect much as we have had some not so nice experiences in the past of guest houses but here we can truly say that we can't complain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 917Desire
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Awww - thank you! :)

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2015

We had the perfect start to our holiday. The Potting Shed is charming and Annamarie,Dave , and all the other staff couldn't have been more welcoming. The room was lovely, clean, bright, spacious and modern. The bed was huge and very comfy. Our bathroom was very nice with a large walk-in shower. Breakfast was also excellent. It's location is great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you Barry for your lovely comments. Hope the rest of your holiday was as enjoyable. Best Wishes, Annamarie

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 April 2015

We were a medium sized group on a cycling tour of the Western Cape. The self catering accommodation was very comfortable, but is, unfortunately, some distance from the Old Harbour in Hermanus which is at the town centre close to the nice restaurants, pubs and views. There is one restaurant at the New Harbour, which is walking distance from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Hello Duncan, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Wow - you guys were amazing...you cycled so far...really take my hat of to all of you! Yes, the guest house is much more central to town than our apartments. The sea facing units are 3kms from the guest house and town centre. Not ideal for walking, but for...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 31 March 2015

We loved the way they decorated the interior, so authentic and very good use of the space. Good service, warm welcome, friendly people. The restaurants and shops are just around the corner, safe to walk and have an awsome eve.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonaCapeTown
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Good evening Simona, Thank you for the wonderful review - so glad you had a nice stay - hope to see you again soon! Annamarie

Hungerford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2015

The Potting Shed in Hermanus: What to say ( best nights sleep & very, very clean ). We both felt at home, lovely people, first class breakfast. We cannot recommend highly enough. Annamarie was a Wonder Woman, Dave needs some work however with this Irish Jokes !! Hot & Spicy and Annie x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank O2997TKDavidC
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi David, Oh - how we enjoyed your humour - not to mention your lovely wife! (Oh and of course your witty Tee-shirt! - ha ha!) Don't leave it too long before your next stay.... better come as a surprise though or it might give Dave time t get that Guinness hat out again! :) Annamarie xx

Silverthorne, Colorado
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We had such a wonderful stay at the Potting Shed! Annamarie and Dave could not have been more accommodating! It was only about a 5 minute walk to downtown. The hosts suggested several different areas to check out including wineries, restaurants and scenic drives which we took advantage of. We only wish we could have stayed there several more days....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrDeanDC
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you Dr Dean for your review. You stayed in the studio room - it just so happens that's my favourite room out of them all. Glad you liked it too. :) All the best...hope you'll visit South Africa and Hermanus again soon. Annamarie

Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewed 30 March 2015

The only negative thing I can mention is that the rooms were pretty small. but the rest was great, everything is clean and neat. Secure parking right in front of the room. Nice breakfast. very friendly hosts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F O
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Hello... :) Thank you for your review. Glad you had a nice stay. Yes our standard rooms aren't as big and luxurious as the deluxe or studio room, but as you said clean and neat. Warm regards, Annamarie

Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 29 March 2015

I had previously stayed at the Potting Shed in late Jan 2015 and gave them a positive review. In February 2015 I booked with them for two days on March 4 and 5. On February 25 we had a family bereavement (my Mum) in Scotland and we had to cancel our remaining bookings in South Africa covering about 3 weeks....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nanaimo2015
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

We are very sorry for the loss of your mother. When a booking is made, the room is held and reserved for that guest. It has been sold to you an no-one else can rent that room. There have been many occasions when we have refunded guests when they cancel. Especially when they cancel far in advance. When you telephoned,...

Reviewed 28 March 2015

100% recommend the potting shed. Had a fantastic stay there. Accommodation smart, clean and very well maintained. Nothing was too much for dave and Annamarie - really appreciated their warmth, friendliness and helpfulness. The staff were also friendly, polite and welcoming. Will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawnluff
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Hello Dawn, Thank you for taking the time to review us. So glad you had a nice stay. Hope you will return again soon! Warm regards from a hot and sunny Hermanus! Annamarie & Dave

Barfleur, France
Reviewed 26 March 2015

We had a quick stop in Hermanus last week and a excellent night in Potting Shed. Very comfortable and well designed and furnitured rooms, delicious breakfast and good welcome. Thank you to our guests ! Ch

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chtistiane T
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Glad you had a nice stay. Warm regards, Annamarie

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.0 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
796 reviews
0.9 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
594 reviews
0.5 km away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#10 of 87 in Hermanus
562 reviews
1.5 km away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 87 in Hermanus
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Value for money, clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Floodlit pool area with BBQ, wooden sun loungers. Lounge with full DSTV, fridge, microwave,and piano. Parking in private courtyard. All rooms have en-suite shower room, free WI-Fi, satellite TV, overhead fan, wall heater, tea/coffee making facilities,safety deposit box & hairdryer. Deluxe rooms are larger than standard room with fridge, outside private patio & BBQ. Studio room is accessed via private staircase with deck (sun-loungers, undecover seating and mountain view). The Studio room also offers a kitchenette with (fridge,toaster microwave/grill - no oven), free Wi-Fi, full DSTV package,air-con, safety deposit box, hairdryer. Bathroom has bath and shower. Walking distance to town and restaurants. Self catering by the sea also available 3 kms from main Guest House where children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Potting Shed Accommodation

Address: 28 Albertyn Street | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: $92 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potting Shed Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Potting Shed Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Potting Shed Accommodation staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Essex England

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Potting Shed Accommodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Self service accomodation”
 of 5 bubbles martinL9087KX, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is close to the breakfast area, rather choose from rooms 2 onwards.”
 of 5 bubbles 218tammya, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Have a look at the website and choose the room you like”
 of 5 bubbles 716lilyh, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 4, 5 and 6 are bigger and have outside space”
 of 5 bubbles NorfolkWalker7, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Both units had a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles dee140, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay