We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Abalone Guest Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Abalone Guest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

372 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Abalone Guest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 266: English reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here for one night only and this was a big mistake! What a nice place, the location is great right next to the see with the most beautiful view from the deck. The rooms extremely nice and perfectly clean. All you need in the rooms, and very nice staff as well. Unfortunately we only stayed one night and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpiderNED
Perlemoen, Manager at Abalone Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review and I am delighted to hear you had a lovely stay. Thank you for appreciating all the effort and passion we put into the guesthouse.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Beautiful rooms and setting - only issue for us was the lack of hot water.We managed to have one hot shower each over the entire weekend on Friday night. On Saturday and Sunday we both had to have cold showers due to there being no hot water. When this was brought to the attention of the lady on duty on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren N
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Wonderful weekend at Abalone Lodge. Friendly staff and top class service. Good breakfast. Beautiful décor. Stunning Sea views and good access to cliff/beach walks. Relaxing atmosphere. Stunning pool area which must be stunning to use in summer. It has a Spa and a basic gym which we unfortunately did not use but would like to on our next visit. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuisaandXavier
Perlemoen, Manager at Abalone Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, always great to hear our friends see the effort and passion and we put into the guesthouse. Please come and visit again!!

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent two dayst at Abalone Guest Lodge, the rooms were spotless and catered for everything... it was winter so the underfloor heating was just what we needed. The double bed was enormous and very comfortable. The rooms are decorated in a beachy theme which adds to the peacefulness of the lodge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyson R
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We had such an amazing weekend away, the rooms are beautiful with unbelievable views, opened the curtains to just ocean and mountains. The breakfast was one of the best I've had. Would go back any time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlin C
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Abalone Lodge, from the beautiful warm and cosy room, to the lovely spa and gym. It was a weekend well spent. The staff were all very friendly and made sure that we enjoyed every bit of our getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sibonginkosi M
Perlemoen, Manager at Abalone Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your response! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our hospitality. Hope to see you again!

Reviewed 1 July 2013

We really had a wonderful stay. We were upgraded to a better room which was very nice. Garden views and room large with very nice bathroom. The breakfast, with freshly baked croissants, was just out of this world. The interior is beautifully done.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elise E
Perlemoen, Manager at Abalone Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Elise, we hope to see you again. Thank you for writing on Trip Advisor

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I highly recommend Abalone Lodge - I cannot think of anything negative to say. The staff, decor, location, food and ambience were all of the highest standard. Even our 3 and 5 year old girls were treated like royalty with special touches like lunch bags for our long walk and even a mini manicure! Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desiree H
Perlemoen, Manager at Abalone Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Desiree! Please come and visit again, hopefully next time the children will be able to enjoy our salt water pool. Thank you for writing on TripAdvisor.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We spent a lovely weekend at the Abalone Lodge a month ago. what a pleasure when we arrived to be offered either a glass of Sherry, Coffee and (gorgeous) Cheese Cake in the reception Lounge overlooking the garden and spectacular views of the sea. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our accommodation was excellent, the only down side was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
Perlemoen, Manager at Abalone Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Linda. The whales arrived so please come and visit again, I apologies for the DSTV not working, the technician could only come in the Monday. Luckily everything is working again. Thank you for writing on TripAdvisor.

Cape Town
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Abalone has a wonderful position in Hermanus, in that you can sit on the patio and see the shrubs and the sea by the cliff path. There is a gate which allows one to step directly onto the cliff path which is an awesome walk right next to the waves smashing against the boulders. Staff were the best we've ever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
Perlemoen, Manager at Abalone Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Karen. We strive to deliver a 5 star service at Abalone. When you are in the area please come and visit again.The whales are here. Thank you for taking time to write on TripAdvisor.

194 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.0 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
594 reviews
2.8 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.3 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Hermanus
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
370 reviews
2.1 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.9 km away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 87 in Hermanus
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Abalone Lodge, situated on the magnificent ocean front of Hermanus. Abalone Guest Lodge offers luxury accommodation for travel, business or leisure. Abalone Guest Lodge has direct access to the well-known Scenic Cliff Path that makes Hermanus the Land Base Whale Watching Capital of the World. Abalone Guest Lodge is situated on Siever’s Point, a landmark seafront position midway between the town centre and the beautiful Blue Flag beaches of Hermanus. We recently added a sauna treatment room and gym for your comfort. We look forward to welcoming you to our tastefully decorated en-suite accommodation that offers you every luxury as well as unrivalled views of the ocean and the mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abalone Guest Lodge

Address: 306 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: $166 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abalone Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Abalone Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalone Guest Hotel Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abalone Guest Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
West Malling, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Abalone Guest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms face the sea”
 of 5 bubbles Bruern, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms with a balcony have a great view”
 of 5 bubbles zenia10, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ocean VIEW room is worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles collyb, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 10, garden view, extremely noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Polokwanetraveler, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Garden room doesn't face the garden but the patio and enterance so no privacy to sit outside which would have been great”
 of 5 bubbles 34colleent, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay