We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portland Manor - Historical Country Estate

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 32: English reviews
Start your review of Portland Manor - Historical Country Estate
 Click to rate
Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Not properly managed beautiful place. Our room had no aircon or fan. The shelves were removed from the wardrobe and there were hangers. You are asked what you want for breakfast without being offered a menu ,didn't know they had one until I saw it at another table days later. Don't order your eggs hard ,my husband had to send...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 430mrsg
Management response:

Dear Madam, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I would have preferred that you had spoken to me so that I could have sorted out some of the issues with you while you were here. We do not advertise as having air conditioning in our rooms but I would have gladly put...

Reviewed 13 January 2017

Undeterred by the rather inadequate directions offered on the Airbnb site and enticed by signposted promises of cold beer as we made our way slowly down the >2km rough track, we arrived rather inauspiciously at the Portland Manor Reception just as the receptionist was leaving for the evening. The initial impression was of a one-time grand Country House - with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin G
Management response:

Dear Gavin, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we always do our best to try and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us, it spurs us on to keep going and do better. With kindest regards Debbie

Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Was so looking forward to the visit at Portland Manor. What a disappointment. Outdated, curtains coming off the wall. Grease/oil floating in my coffee. Dirty kitchen, bad food, time for a total revamp...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank desertelephants
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We arrived at the Manor during the afternoon and when we came around the corner it looked as if we were entering a scrap yard because of all the wrecks and scrap on the left side of the road. Already set a back we entered and when we arrived at the reception area there was no one there. We rang...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marianiz2017
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We originally booked for three nights but changed our plans at the last minute and opted to extend our stay elsewhere and then checked in early on our second day. We made it just in time for breakfast, which was really average and set the tone for things to come... Let's start with the positive though: - beautiful area, nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas F
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Very quiet stately property with animal park, impressive interiors dating back a century in main house, guest rooms modern and up to date. Verry friendly hosts and attendants, access drive somewhat lonely.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 883walterg
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Reviewed 17 July 2016

I only stayed for 1 night and didn't do much exploring but loved the historical feeling and grounds. The place does need a revamp though as there was damp in the bathroom and paint peeling off the walls. The rooms need to be warmer if the guest does not want to use the fireplace. Samantha was super helpful from the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorrinj2016
Coolum Beach, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2016

6 of us arrived, but no one was around, however we found our keys on the reception desk and then discovered our wonderfully comfortable and large rooms. Debbie soon appeared and made us some lunch... a scrumptious spread. The grounds were just asking to be explored - fountain, statues, wildlife - lots to see. Dinner was served in a separate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edwair
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We had a great time there. Debbie was welcoming and accommodating. We felt that we had a manor house to ourselves, eating in the lord's dining room. Breakfast was good as was the evening meal. However the overall feeling of the place was that it had seen better days.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray T
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Portland Manor is a desolated, depressief and musty place. The website looks beautiful, so we looked forward to visite. The hole ambiance is sad and smelling very old. The room was spacious but dark and horrible smelling. The swimmingpool was a dirty mess, the restaurant was closed and the guests that came home in the middle of te night make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louisa808
60debbie1864, Owner at Portland Manor - Historical Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Louisa, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am extremely surprised by your review, actually worse than that, i am shocked and disappointed by your reasons for early departure. As the owner of Portland Manor, i am surprised by your views on our property, not because of what you think of our property, but because...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
6.1 km away
Homtini Guest Farm
Homtini Guest Farm
#4 of 5 in Rheenendal
79 reviews
12.6 km away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
268 reviews
23.3 km away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 14 in Sedgefield
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
749 reviews
3.2 km away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
2.9 km away
Forest Valley Cottages
Forest Valley Cottages
#3 of 5 in Rheenendal
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Portland Manor - Historical Country Estate

Address: Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Manor - Historical Country Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Portland Manor - Historical Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Portland Manor - Historical Country Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Every room is different from the next, hard to answer.... I'm sure Debbie would give you the best available.”
 of 5 bubbles Edwair, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Donn't go to this place”
 of 5 bubbles Louisa808, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I would not stay here regardless of the room offered.”
 of 5 bubbles MissTravelBug001, 10 Jul 2011 | Read review
“Manor house has wooden floors - could be noisy.”
  • Our room in Lawnwood Lodge
 of 5 bubbles AnnBBEL, 8 May 2011 | Read review
4 of 4