We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa

Hotels.comUS$185*
View Deal
#21 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 198: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel and the surroundings are just amazing. We has a 2 night stay at this hotel. Several negative issues developed which we are not happy about. We were received unprofessionally and quickly ushered to our apartment. There was no hot water in the apartment. When we complained the attended could not fix the problem and we had to have...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dilip S
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good morning Dilip Thanking you for taking the time to rate the Hotel. As discussed with you when you were at the Hotel, we unfortunately cannot control when a geyser is going to pack up. It isn't always possible to get a Plumber to replace a geyser in the middle of the night. Thus being the reason we offered you...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I begin! No mini bar in the room, the previous guests dirt was still in the bedroom bin, opened slippers were not replaced. When I called the reception to complain they sent housekeeping... as an apology I was offered a turn down service and a chocolate on my pillow!!!!!! I checked out the next morning and booked into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shereen356
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good morning Shereen I am sorry to hear about your experience. Thus was never mentioned to me or any of other management. I have enquired in all the departments - unfortunately there is no record of these complaints - I will investigate this matter further Regards Linda

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a great lunch over looking the golf course. I didn't bring my clubs on this trip, but I would love to return for a round. The service is super friendly and the staff even helped us locate the villa the were staying in on the Simola Estate. Would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good morning Ben Thank you for your valued review and lovely feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back at Simola soon. Kind regards Linda

Rotterdam
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Disappointing and small hotel rom. Apartment building far from facilities. Views from restaurant spectacular. Pricey in the bar. Best golfcourse in Knysna. Very friendly people in pro shop. Next trip we will stay elsewhere.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Plaszicht
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good morning Thanks for your rating. I am not sure who was responsible for making your reservation with Simola, unfortunately they chose the "B" room which is not our Luxury Units. The "B" room is a third of the price of the Luxury Units. We sincerely hope that you would consider booking into one of our Luxury units with your...

County Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I stayed here in 2009 whilst on a lions rugby tour. The food, bar and hospitality is second to none. The gardens are amazing, I don't play golf so I can't comment on that. Great place to find a quiet corner too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie D
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Hope to Welcome you at Simola soon again. Regards Linda

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017

This is probably my 8th time playing at Simola and I will continue to to include this in our must play list. The golf is good, the views are stunning and everyone from the reception to the Pro shop are exceptional friendly and helpful. its a must for everyone !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M8354ZThelenl
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you very much for taking the time to rate Simola. We look forward to seeing you soon. Regards Linda

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I had 2 nights here during our recent trip to South Africa. We had stayed here 2 years ago. During the initial stages of our holiday I received a call from my travel agent in the UK saying that the hotel had overbooked ( how does that happen?) and the hotel had sorted it out by giving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Unfortunately your booking was misplaced by a previous employee. We were made aware of this prior to your arrival and made every effort to make available a 4 bedroom villa, which in high season fetches over R12 000-00 per day. We did communicate via your agent that we would happily...

Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Simola has a special place in our hearts! The views and the golf course are stunning! The staff are friendly, helpful, accommodating, and always make us feel,welcome. The suites are spacious and comfortable and contain everything needed for either a short or a long stay. In short, once you have stayed there you will always want to return year after...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis and Judi L
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Louis & Judi We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel. Simola is indeed situated in a Beautiful part of the country. Look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards Linda Kemp

Surrey
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed there on the recommendation of our friends. It all went wrong when we arrived at 16.40h. Our room was not ready and we were told it would be a few minutes. Well, after 1.5hours I managed to speak to the Manager and after 30 minutes we were able to get into the room, so almost exactly 2 hours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HEHW53
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for a very thorough feedback. Sadly we not nearly up to our usual 5 Star standards. During time of transition, operationally, things can slip through the cracks and unfortunate that this has been your experience. The relevant departments have been taken to task on all of the above mentioned and very valid concerns. Linda...

Saint-Raphael, France
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We have visited this hotel for the past 7 years. Why? The location is unique at the top of one of the hills surrounding Knysna. We are golfers and overlooking the golf course below in the valley is just fantastic and by the way: it is great golf to play. The rooms overlooking the valley are big and also ideal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lambert S
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you next year again. Regards Linda

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
8.6 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
776 reviews
8.5 km away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#15 of 30 in Knysna
32 reviews
4.9 km away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
4.2 km away
The St. James of Knysna
9.6 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa

Address: 1 Old Cape Road | Simola, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $274 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simola Hotel And Spa
Simola Hotel Knysna
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#12 Family Hotel in Knysna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in Suite 6, but I would imagine all the suites have amazing views. Don't know about the hotel rooms as we haven't stayed in one.”
Golfgirl287, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to book a luxury suite to ensure a 5 star experience”
MDFMDF2014, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Take a room with a view. It worth every Rand.”
297lamberts, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request for the sea view. if without young children - ask to have the first floor and not the ground floor.”
ranh2017, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“lagoon facing offers stunning view, forest facing over parking”
ik1957, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$185* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$185
Booking.comUS$188
Orbitz.comUS$185
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates