We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stannards Guest Lodge

Hotels.comUS$61*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Stannards Guest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Stannards Guest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
Paris, France
Reviewed 20 November 2014

We had originally booked for 2 nights but decided to extend our stay as we loved the place. Ideally located for golfers but also for any visitors to Knysna and its region, away from the busy Waterfront and Thesen Island areas. Stannards owners (and their young French trainee) are very welcoming and caring. We liked the fine deco of our...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanfrancoisl51
Reviewed 31 October 2014

Stannards Guest Lodge We have stayed three days in Stannards Guest Lodge, it is a clean, luxurious and well maintained lodge with all the amenities. The area is nice and quiet. We are warmly welcomed by Patrick and Aurore. They were helpful, friendly, and thanks to their knowledge and extensive area information and entertainment we have the days we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desiree B
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Personnal is really carefull and gives lots of advices and support, but our room was not so nice and we didn't find our bathroom and room as clean as we would love to for that price. The breakfast is minimalist and always the same, every morning

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank trip330
Patrick C, Propriétaire at Stannards Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment. Happy that you enjoyed our advices and care. Regarding the breakfast, we serve a full and healthy continental-buffet breakfast. On our buffet you can find strawberry yoghurt, Greek yoghurt without preservatives, 4 different types of cereals, 3 types of very fresh bread, muffins, 5 different cheeses, ham, smoked chicken, sausages, salami, scrambled and...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 15 August 2014

It was a pleasure staying here. Unfortunately only one night and a short stay, but will definitely be back. The breakfast was great and the owners are very friendly. Rooms are very clean and a lot of thought is put into extras and rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimwiggett
Cape Town
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Lovely setting with a warm friendly atmosphere. Just a few things that were not what I would expect from a 4 star Guest Lodge: the ashtray on the table outside our room was dirty on arrival, the duvet looked like it was 2 sizes too small for the bed, there were only side plates available to dish breakfast onto and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louwrens123
Patrick C, Propriétaire at Stannards Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. It is nice to see you liked the setting and our friendly welcome. For the eggs they are usually on a hot plate “on”. We have as many plates as you want on request. Sorry that your bed was done apparently with not the correct size duvet! Thank you again for your comment. We will...

Texas
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay here, spending 2 nights one of the family cottages. Our hosts, Patrick and Helen, were great. While eating breakfast, Patrick gave us good tips on what to do in the area and where to eat for dinner. The location is also great, and very close to Leisure Island. I was actually able to jog to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pearland1028
Johannesburg
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had such a wonderful stay at Stannards Guestlodge. We stayed in the family cottage with my daughters and some friends. We all loved the decoration. The room are very big, clean, very pretty and very well equiped. The patio just calls for a nice glass of wine after a day exploring the area. Couldn't ask for nicer hosts. Patrick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maroute
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed in the self catering cottage at the pool and we had an amazing time. Patrick made a braai for us and we watched Champions League football in the honesty bar. And we got excellent tips for day trips around Knysna. We felt like staying at a friends place. Would go there again and again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cgast
Bremgarten, Switzerland
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We enjoyed for the second time 4 beautifull day at the stannerd lodge. The Cottage meets our requirements perfectly and the Host Familliy is allways very helpfull and assists in any ways possilbe. we will be back again. Many thanks for the pleasant days. Willy & Rosmarie Koller From Switzerland

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willy K
Malaga
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We just completed a 4 night stay stay at Stannards, having visited them 3 years ago. It was just as good as we remember, Patrick and Helene are great hosts, they know Knysna well and are willing to help and advise where asked. Our cottage (the smaller of the two) was spotlessly clean, very nicely decorated and exceedingly comfortable, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb C

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
13.8 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.1 km away
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
#31 of 126 in Knysna
493 reviews
0.8 km away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#22 of 126 in Knysna
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#13 of 126 in Knysna
236 reviews
2.8 km away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#14 of 126 in Knysna
328 reviews
5.4 km away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holidays must be fun, and we'll do everything to make your stay a real pleasure, with lots of happy memories to see through the year. From waking in the morning to the calls of Knysna's famous bird life, you start your day right with a delicious full and healthy Continental buffet-breakfast. We make sure you are well fortified for a hard day's pleasure, and will help you plan your activities and excursions as you please. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stannards Guest Lodge

Address: 22 Fraser Street | Hunter Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $86 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stannards Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stannards Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Stannards Guest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are worth it, but het chalets are extra wonderful...”
jeannettebloem, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you enjoy self catering the cottage is devine, your own little space away from home!!”
497carinag, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“the cottages are very quiet”
  • nice small garden and swimmingpool
simonnel803, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The self catering cottages are elegant and slightly away from the main guest house. Breakfast is also offered, if so desired.”
CrystalS802, 7 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Loved the family cottage”
Maroute, 7 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$61* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$61
Agoda.com
PricelineUS$60
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates