We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Peace of Eden

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Peace of Eden
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Peace of Eden
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Thank you Jen and gang for a very special stay! It's one we will defiantly be doing again.Thank you for the happy yummy delicious food and the rocking Jams at dinner.Our experience has left us feeling energized and grounded.What a rustic magical place. See you soon again. Big love Andrew and Minuche

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minuches
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Very nice and peaceful. The staff were very friendly. Communal facilities were clean and well equipped. The tented accommodation were above average with good beds and great views. I will definitely visit them again during future trips.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johanj781
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

Hi Johan, Thanks for your positive review, we are so happy you enjoyed the forest tents. Warmest Jen and Co

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Although peaceful, the water was awful. Take enough bottled water with for drinking etc. The place generally is not well kept but then again the cottage was ok to live comfortably. Although it's advertised as vegan and to be respected at that, why advertise as self-catering??? However we did not braai openly but bought our food in Knysna and ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cgoliath
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 11 October 2016

I had the great pleasure of staying here from the 30 september-5 October 2016, What an amazing place, you really become one with nature, the atmosphere around here is absolutely tranquil, Definetely worth every cent, My 6 year old son had so much fun just being free and his favourite part was the horses who are so gentle, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lombardjanine83
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

Hi Janine, sorry for the delayed response. We are so glad you had a lovely stay and your son had so much fun, and that you encourage his love of nature. Warm Regards Jen

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 October 2016

A very special place run by amazing people who genuinely care about the environment. I always love spending time at Peace of Eden, getting in touch with nature and being schooled at how unbelievably good vegan food can taste! Looking forward to going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JasonBarty
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

Aaah Jason, you so special, thanks for your lovely review. hope to see you back here soon. Blessings from the Peace Team

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

We stopped at Peace of Eden en route the Eastern Cape and it was the perfect spot to get us in the right headspace for our road trip. This place is utter magic and we felt an immediate sense of calm and tranquility surrounded by beautiful trees and birdsong and horses and rambling forest paths. Greeted like family and treated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ariellarosanna
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

Wow Ariella, thank you so much for your lovely comments about us and your stay here. We so appreciate having Guests like you who really really get us and love what we are about. Hope to see you here again. Warmest regards Jen and Howard and the Peace team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We tried to phone Peace of Eden to notify them that we will be arriving after 6pm on the first day. No one answered the landline or the mobile phone. Upon arrival the host didn't know where our cabin was or even aware of our booking. Luckily a lady came from another house on the property to give us the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank antoncmarais
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

Im sorry you didnt enjoy your stay, however if you look at the top 10 reviews where everyone loved what we offer, then I can only believe you should have booked into a hotel instead and certainly not our vegan backpackers lodge! I find your comments about hiding behind 'rustic' etc to be rude and insulting to the simple yet...

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

My weekened away was very quiet, the cottages weren't great but liveable, The mini fridge was empty but smelt like fish. The bed was horrible you keep knocking your shin on it every time, I must have knocked myself 10 times. There aren't much trails to walk on the property, when we asked for guidance, We were told to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clairedE5304BE
clivekenrick, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

Dear clairedE5304BE We take reviews seriously and endeavour to respond to both positive and negative feedback promptly however I'm not sure I can be of any assistance to you (or anyone else who reads this) because your complaint comes more than eight months after your stay. I have to wonder why it is that suddenly you feel the need, after...

Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 5 August 2016

The huge area that is covered by this monkey land is not possible to be covered even if you spend a whole day here. The experienced guides who know the habits of the monkeys are best to be followed if you want to watch the monkeys in their natural habitat

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trilochansaini
peacesoul, Owner at Peace of Eden, responded to this review

This review is not for us but for Monkeyland in the Crags near Plettenberg Bay

Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 5 August 2016

A guide takes you along a trial of around three to four kilometers around the huge area covering the monkey land and introduces you to a variety of monkeys. Save money by taking a combo ticket for Birds of Eden and Monkeyland together

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trilochansaini

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
5.2 km away
Homtini Guest Farm
Homtini Guest Farm
#4 of 5 in Rheenendal
86 reviews
0.7 km away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
1.9 km away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 5 in Rheenendal
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 19 in Sedgefield
416 reviews
0.8 km away
191 Nirvana
191 Nirvana
#43 of 101 in Knysna
28 reviews
44.1 km away
Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peace of Eden, fondly known by many as 'The Peace Lodge' is a quirky beautiful place that is setting trends as the first Vegan Backpackers Lodge and Retreat in South Africa if not Africa! Only 8 km's off the main N2, its set alongside magical indigenous forests and offers eco rustic creative accommodation from woodcutter Cottages (once the stables), a Barn Cabin, a cute fairy tale double story Cottage and four retro canvas tents on stilts in the forest. Perfect for nature lovers and the more eco green aware travelers. They offer gorgeous 5 star vegan dinners and breakfasts, its best to pre book in winter, however meals are available every day in summer. Whilst nature does most of the entertaining, they also offer an onsight nature Guide who can take you on any adventure, an award winning Music Studio with sunset soirees, festivals and host creative and holistic workshops. Be it for a night stop or used as base to explore the incredible Garden Route National Park, this 'Peace Lodge' is perfect for those wanting to be a little off the beaten track and who love something different from the mostly busy noisy backpackers, traditional BnB or impersonal hotels. Here you arrive as a stranger and leave a friend inspired by the owners Jen, Howard and Jessamine who do what inspires them and share it with love. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peace of Eden

Address: Rheenendal Road, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $35 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Peace of Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Peace of Eden staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are so private and really great”
lombardjanine83, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rather stay at 'Forest Edge' up the road for the same price.”
antoncmarais, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We would again choose Marimba cottage as it has a nice 'fields and forest' outlook”
525donp, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“not sure which cottage might be better?”
JuliaF581, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All the cabins are beautiful, but the forest tents are located in the heart of the forest.”
tharinav2016, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Hostelworld.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates