We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abalone Lodges

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Abalone Lodges
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 83: English reviews
Start your review of Abalone Lodges
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Fantastic little place. Super clean, cosy little cottages. Cabiny feel with everything that works. Great value for money too! Very comfortable beds and not too far from main parts of knysna with a water front park only minutes away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thor K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the lodge for two nights. We soon learned that we need to take extra precaution about our belongings due to high rates of theft/crime at the lodge. This was disconcerting. The TV and channel variety was also very poor and the Wifi never worked. The security guards we stationed underneath our cabin, so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duane B
Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed 2 March 2017

You are away from town so have to drive everywhere. Since kitchen was small and rather useless, you have to eat out, which means driving except for Bosuns Pub which was friendly and reasonable and within walking distance. All locals there. Room a bit of a climb for hauling luggage. Hot day but pool similar to postage stamp. Room clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne219
Schagen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

"Tomorrow you will have WIFI" "Tomorrow you will have WIFi" "Tomorrow you will have WIFI" We paid for it. We paid for nothing ! Shame ! The weather in Knysna was good. The golf courses were good. The accommodation Abalone was okay except the WIFI. If there is no possibility to get WIFI, be honest, now we feel ehhh you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PieterCzn
Abalone_Knysna, Manager at Abalone Lodges, responded to this review

Dear PieterCzn Thank you for your review. We would like to rectify one point (for future potential guests reading these reviews). We offer FREE Wifi - we do not charge guests to use the Wifi. Also, Wifi was available at the office, which we offered to you to use at any time. Sadly the Wifi is an ongoing process of...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Overall a pleasant stay but wasn't impressed with the location of Abalone lodges, all felt a little bit souless. You'd expect to be hidden away in the forest from the pictures but you're just on a residential road just outside town with a view over a bunch of other roofs. The room was really comfy and staff were really kind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Upon arrival we were told that we were being upgraded!! I don't know what our original cabin looked like, but the one we got was great! It was double story - lounge, kitchen and a bathroom downstairs, bedroom with balcony and another bathroom upstairs. The view from the balcony is stunning! The whole feel of the place is cozy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Even is far from the beach you have a nice views of the lagoon. The lodge was Ok nothing WOW but the service was poor. Nobody on the reception to assist clients. And they propose us to have breakfast and we accepted but then they declined because there's no restaurant as we ordered just eggs and the woman who assisted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patricia t
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 beautiful nights, with the most gorgeous view and absolutely gorgeous room! Very comfortable,affordable and Internet was good too! Just to say many thanks to Almarie and Maria for making my stay so pleasant !xoxoxo

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiesmeah
Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Spent 2 days in the double storey log cabin overlooking the lagoon.Close to the lagoon for fishing and braaing. Comfortable,cosy,clean and well equipped.Close to the waterfront and within walking distance to some restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid W
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I sayed over for 3 nights at Abalone lodges in Knysna. We had a very comfortable stay. The unit had a fully equipped kitchenette and we were provided with coffee, tea, sugar and ice in the freezer. There was a daily housekeeping service who cleaned (everything including dirty dishes) and replaced our towels with fresh ones while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarleBrie

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
12.2 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
3.9 km away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#2 of 100 in Knysna
307 reviews
2.5 km away
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
#31 of 126 in Knysna
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#13 of 126 in Knysna
328 reviews
5.0 km away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#14 of 126 in Knysna
232 reviews
2.0 km away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#16 of 126 in Knysna
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated only 5 minutes from town centre and 4km from the Leisure Isle beach, you'll find Abalone Lodges. Not only does Abalone Lodges offer convenient location but also offers breathtaking views of the Estuary and Knysna Heads. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abalone Lodges

Address: 20 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $66 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abalone Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Abalone Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abalone Lodges staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Guernsey
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Abalone Lodges staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in cabin no.11 and had very good internet. The view was wonderful from our cabin but i think the view is nice from all.”
100ingridw, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Advised to choose lodge near office for good wifi connection.”
421JennyB, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Units appear to be slightly different in layout ie larger balconies and can be opened up to make larger units”
mcoogan1, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
“All our rooms of same standard and looked like all cottages had great views - maybe avoid being opposite the pool if looking for quiet.”
TrishG105, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The lodge furthest away from the office on the top level is excellent. Don't accept the one above the office.”
BigPeteW, 26 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5