We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Belvidere Manor

Show Prices
#18 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Belvidere Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belvidere Manor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 234: English reviews
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We had a 3 bed chalet for the 2 of us which was a nice surprise. It was great to have a living room to sit it rather than a bedroom. We had an ensuite bathroom but as I'm not a fan of a shower in the bath used the separate shower room (sorry cleaners) We ate in the Bell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelaslongasican
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, and your recommendations. It is much appreciated, and we do hope to see you again here in the future!

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We spent two nights in Room 12 this week. We had stayed at the hotel before some years ago so it was good to come back for a friends 70th birthday party. The room (or rather the chalet) in which we stayed was well furnished and comfortable if somewhat dated in style. My wife stubbed her toe quite badly on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BathUKMan
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and the birthday party. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Glasgow
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as our second stop whilst driving the garden route to Cape Town. It's such a lovely spot with a variety of beautiful cottages set in pretty grounds. We stayed in 'Carmel' and had a gorgeous veranda looking down towards the lagoon. It was such a lovely spot to enjoy a glass of wine after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob_and_Kate_Scotia
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive response, and the thumbs up for Jeffrey! We're glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Kalo Chorio, Cyprus
Reviewed 21 January 2017

This was our second visit which did not disappoint us. Seven of us stayed in two bungalows, which were very comfortable and well serviced. While there we celebrated the New Year which was spectacular, with a Pipe Band performing on the lawns and an excellent gala Dinner. We would like to thank all the staff, especially Jeffery, for making our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your enthusiastic response, and i'm glad you enjoyed our New Year's celebrations.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We spent 2 nights at Belvidere Manor They offer a pub or A la Carte Restaurant- We went to the pub for our first night around 8pm and were told the restaurant was not taking any further orders- I explained that we arrived that afternoon and had checked they would be open- they agreed to serve us as we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wmartin2017
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, and I regret you were disappointed with our restaurant service. We were extremely busy over the festive season, and our whole team work hard together over this time. Management is certainly present, and there is a Duty Manager available at all times. Whilst we do not take reservations at The Bell Tavern, we do offer...

Stanmore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Spacious self contained lodges could do with some modenising but still excellent accommodation. Don't expect decent WiFi. The restaurant is convenient but the meal was not up to the standard of other restaurants in Knysna. Fab location and views of the lagoon

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RICHARD S
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, and we're glad you found our accommodation comfortable. We are waiting for the fibre installation for our wifi which should improve the speed etc.

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Belvidere Manor is a series of cottages set in a large area overlooking Knysna Bay. The cottages were lovely and quiet though the décor was perhaps a tad tired looking. The staff were very accommodating and friendly and the breakfasts were great. The kids were disappointed with the Wi-Fi as the daily limit of 100MB hardly covered their snapchat, Instagram,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ngbarton
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I note your comments with regard to wifi, and we are waiting for the fibre installation which should assist with future delivery.

Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

It's a beautiful place, and the staff is simply awesome. It did not get 5 stars because the internet is limited to 50mb, and the absence of good signal repeaters makes it difficult to use in the rooms. Not ok for a pricy hotel. But I would stay there again, because it's a wonderful place, all in all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RRod003
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are hoping to upgrade to fibre in a few weeks time which should enable us to upgrade the wifi application. We look forward to welcoming you back to Belvidere Manor in the future.

England
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

We were very impressed initially by this accommodation as it has beautiful views over water from many of the fully furnished bungalows also overlooking the lawn and swimming pool. However neither the wifi or the telephone worked making it difficult to contact reception or room service. However these inconveniences paled into insignificance by the appalling fiasco at breakfast. There seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrueBrit_10
Mike M, Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I guess you were in a hurry on the morning you reviewed our breakfast. There is breakfast menu on all the tables which explains about our express self-service breakfast and our more relaxed breakfast with various tasty options to order. The cereals are available and are in glass carafe and therefore there is no...

Reviewed 20 December 2016

My family and I shared a cottage overlooking the Knysna Lagoon. The accommodation was nice but a little dated in my opinion. Still 4* though. All of the staff were helpful and friendly, particularly Jeffrey who went out of his way to show us things we would have otherwise not heard about like the Elephants Three and recommending Brenton-on-Sea. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jojo m
Mike M, Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Belvidere Manor and Knysna. The WiFi is an issue which will be address early in the new year when move to a fibre optic structure. This is being installed through out Knysna. Enjoy your holiday Mike

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.8 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
9.0 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
748 reviews
4.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The St. James of Knysna
4.7 km away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
539 reviews
3.5 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking Knysna's lagoon, historic Belvidere Manor built in 1849, is situated in landscaped gardens and offers spacious accommodation in 28 serviced cottages, each with comfortable lounge, a full kitchen and 1, 2 or 3 en-suite double bedrooms. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace of Belvidere House, then relax poolside, take a boat trip, walk forest trails or pristine beaches, all a short drive away. Savour dinner at Caroline's bistro in Belvidere House, or hearty pub meals at The Bell Tavern, voted a Garden Route "Culinary legend". We offer preferential golf rates at Simola & Pezula clubs and a pretty garden wedding venue for up to 60 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belvidere Manor

Address: Lower Duthie Drive | Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $206 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvidere Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Belvidere Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Knysna
#10 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#15 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Belvidere Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cottage No. 1 is close to the Manor house and Tavern. It also provides a beautiful view :-)”
  • A view from outside cottage no.1
  • Cottage No.1
 of 5 bubbles gerberpm, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The bungalows around the garden are superb.”
 of 5 bubbles Johnandpam103, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get written confirmation that cottage has been recently renovated - judging by other comments, standards vary hugely.”
 of 5 bubbles 853chasp, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“cottage overlooking the lagoon”
 of 5 bubbles michaeldufty, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just ask the reception.”
 of 5 bubbles 297lamberts, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5