We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
#18 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lofts Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 271: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Excellent location, friendly staff, clean well equipped rooms. Bakery an experience not to be missed. Thesen island has a lot to offer.Hotel unique with spa treatments and lovely coffeehouse with freshly baked quiches

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pieters843
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pieters843, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for The Lofts. We are really happy to hear that you had such a great experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Have a wonderful day, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

If you're traveling to Knsyna and can afford this place, look no further. Just a great, little hotel. Staff are incredibly welcoming and helpful and it has a cool, laid back feel. Comfortable communal area with sofas and a mini bar that serves amazing cocktails, sharing platters and desserts. Small pool area is a nice touch. Only draw backs were...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thescottishkid
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thescottishkid, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for The Lofts. The way you described the hotel is the exactly the feel that we are aiming for. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon. Have a wonderful day, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Denbigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Visited with family Splendid hotel with fantastic views and friendly staff Let down by poor design and poor finish in rooms Many faults Locked out of hotel on New Year Eve having been given wrong keys Curtain rail fell down on drawing curtains No bedside light switches Broken door handle No soap or hand wash in room Many other problems...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter w
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Peter W, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I would like to inform you that we have looked at all the issues that you mentioned and that we had fixed them all. I really do apologise for your experience. Have a wonderful day, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

A charming return to this lovely boutique hotel. This is our 2nd visit to The Lofts after an 8 year gap and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is in a lovely location and has fantastic views over the lagoon and quite possibly the biggest baths! Our only reason for not giving this 5/5 is that breakfast isn't available at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Louise, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for The Lofts. There is a lot of effort that has been put into making our rooms comfortable and for our team to make you feel welcome and at home. Thank you for informing us about the wifi issue. I'll ask our internet service provider to...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Warm welcome by Gill and Gideon. Well decorated and large room with a balcony. All rooms seem to have a sea view. Excellent breakfast served on a veranda facing the sea. Private parking. Peace and quietness .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norm_traveler
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Norm_traveler, Thank you for writing this great review. I do have to mention that I do not think it is meant for The Lofts Boutique Hotel as we do not have a Gill and Gideon working here. Have a wonderful day, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 2 January 2017

silent and clean room, very nice view to lagoon, helpful and volatile staff, hotel location is close to restaurants and main roads. Wifi service is very complicated and not user friendly. Breakfast is a little poor.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nyiregyhazki G
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nyiregyhazki G, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our Exclusive Lagoon Suites have the most amazing views and we are extremely glad that you enjoyed your room and found it clean. I would love to understand why you think the breakfast is poor as we can then work on improving this or if it was...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very good for family ... Big rooms direct on sea (morning 20m/evening 0m) ;) the pool is small but for relaxing perfect the staff take really care about you only one minus is breakfast ... because you must looking for to go in other restautants or hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juergen M
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Juergen M, Thank you for writing this lovely review for The Lofts. Our team pride themselves on making all our guests feel special so they will love hearing that you had a wonderful experience. The breakfast voucher option, we feel, is a great way to give you, our wonderful guests, a variety of places to eat according to your...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 27 December 2016

After a long and hot journey, arriving at The Lofts was a fabulous respite. Not only were we greeted with helpful & friendly staff, but also offered welcomed refreshments. The rooms are very well appointed with everything that is needed. Although it is self catering, there is delicious coffee and a suitable menu downstairs to enjoy overlooking the lagoon. Many...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ckmacrobert
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Charmaine, Thanks for this beautiful review. We loved having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you and your family back soon. Have a wonderful new year, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

It was great to see The Lofts back up & running and I look froward to visiting again soon . the self catering units will be ideal for the next group - 16 guys so once i have dates I'll be in touch to make the reservation. The open plan design of the suites is great but not ideal for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil M, Thanks for writing this great review. It was wonderful having you return to The Lofts after we had been closed for so long. I await your email for your next group booking and you are 100% correct when saying the Self-catering units would be perfect for a large group of men. Have a wonderful day, The Lofts...

Grahamstown
Reviewed 5 December 2016

The Hotel was in the middle of some major construction when we arrived. Nevertheless we have never been bothered with any noise or else from the construction. The staff was very nice and helpful with planning. The room was a absolut Highlight! We loved it and wanted to stay inside the whole time. We had a fabulous view on the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank la_lea17
TheLofts-Carla, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear la_lea17, Thank you for writing such an amazing review for The Lofts. We are happy to announce that the construction team who is still working on the building next to ours will be leaving the premises this week. Thanks for the note on the breakfast we do however feel that it will be hard to compare with the restaurants...

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.8 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#6 of 30 in Knysna
733 reviews
0.2 km away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#7 of 30 in Knysna
519 reviews
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The St. James of Knysna
10.2 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.1 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lofts Boutique Hotel is housed in the old Boatshed on Thesen Islands, Knysna. The refurbished building with its architectural design gives The Lofts Boutique Hotel an individuality which is also reflected in the difference in the Luxury Loft Rooms & Self catering apartments’ decor. Our accommodation consists of 3 lagoon suites with uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the lagoon, 7 luxury loft rooms and 5 luxury 2-bedroom suites all overlooking the beautiful architecture of Thesen Harbour Town. We also offer our guests a beautiful splash pool to laze around on sunny days & a martini bar lounge area where you can relax with a cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a drink while watching the sun set in the afternoon.Our friendly service will spoil you and will make your stay memorable. Visit the privately owned spa and pamper yourself with luxurious treatments or stroll through The Boatshed and enjoy the unique shops open for you to experience or enjoy a superb meal at famous île de païn bread café, one of South Africa’s top ten restaurants.The location on the waters’ edge provides our guests with a tranquil relaxing experience. Here you will enjoy the serenity of an island, the magnificent views of the surrounding green hills and the power of nature expressed by the changing moods of the lagoon.The Lofts Boutique Hotel will be your most memorable escape to date! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $187 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#15 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lofts Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“definitely a view on the lagoon is a must (but probably all rooms have that view)”
  • view from The Lofts
  • Evening view from the pool terrace.
  • Even in the tub one can enjoy the view...
 of 5 bubbles SielVdD, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book the Luxury Loft rooms with great views.”
 of 5 bubbles Oudtshoorn1, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be very specific when reserving whether you want a lagoon view.”
 of 5 bubbles rweisfe, 22 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The suite with view over the lagoon”
 of 5 bubbles wilnaventer, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
“There are a couple of double rooms with views over the lagoon, and the sunsets are worth waiting for!”
 of 5 bubbles MaureenE374, 14 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5