We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Knysna Terrace Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Knysna Terrace Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 51: English reviews
Start your review of Knysna Terrace Guesthouse
 Click to rate
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were visiting family in Cape Town and decided we would drive down to Knysna for a 3 night stay. We had booked into this Hotel online and didn't really know what to expect. Well when we got here were overwhelmed. This Hotel is superb! The lady that checked us in and showed us around was friendly and efficient. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pieBournemouth
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed only for one night, so we didn't spend much time at the guesthouse. everything was clean, the pool is tiny but excellent to cool down. the breakfast is huge and very, very good. we had a very nice room on the ground floor. because there was fog this day I can't say anything about the view that you...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U2349QPstefanh
knysnaterrace, Owner at Knysna Terrace Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you! I will" order" sunshine next time!! Warm Regards, Maureen

Somerset West
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had paid in full for my booking, when the owner came up to me and said "you owe me another R850 rand" while I was having breakfast the next morning. She blamed the booking company for the shortfall. Unacceptable. She could have told me this when we arrived, not the next morning while I was having breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank troodonsnuff
knysnaterrace, Reservations & Marketing Manager at Knysna Terrace Guesthouse, responded to this review

To Whom it may concern, Thank you for valued feedback with regards to your booking with Knysna Terrace Guesthouse. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused with extra monies charged for your booking. We did occur a problem with the booking company that you have booked through as their mapping with our rooms were incorrect. We did...

Knokke
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Very kind host but guest house situated at very noisy crossroad with stoplights . Room overdecorated Very good breakfast . Good bed . Nice view if room not in groundfloor .nice pool , big bathroom , very clean

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 272marleend
Lund, Sweden
Reviewed 10 March 2017

It was so easy to locate. Dr Barnard is wonderful host. Our room was in good with everything you need- very generous! Great breakfast - missed nothing. Walking distance to city/Waterfront You have to accept noise from N2 passing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank camillas159
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

My new wife and I recently stayed a night at this place when visiting Knysna again and it was absolutely fantastic. The staff were fantastic and assisted us on arrival - on showing us our room my new wife and I were blown away with the lovely welcome (pink sparkly stuff in ice bucket) and other things for our honeymoon....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank milleroz146
Axminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2017

We were made very welcome at Knysna Terrace and the room was very comfortable, however the guest house is only 50 m from the N2 and the traffic noise was significant. The WI Fi was terrible but the breakfast was excellent. Also only 5 min drive to the waterfront.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Devonoohar
South Africa
Reviewed 24 February 2017

I have been here only one night, cannot say very good or too bad as well. The facility is in-between a b&b and a boutique hotel although doesn't get services, furniture and view of a boutique hotel. The location isn't that bad, sees the lagoon, rooms are provided of a small balcony but you're in the middle of the highway...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank World T
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Nothing bad to say about our stay here. Lovely room, great breakfast overlooking the lagoon and a very good location. Best not to get a ground floor room as they don't have as good a balcony or view as the others.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 January 2017

The owner and staff really made us feel welcome and made an effort to make us feel at home. Really good service and the guest house is well positioned with beautiful views over the lagoon. Each morning the breakfast was always different and something to look forward to for the start of the day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neal N

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.0 km away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#17 of 30 in Knysna
227 reviews
1.2 km away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#9 of 126 in Knysna
225 reviews
0.7 km away
Bridgewater
Bridgewater
#32 of 126 in Knysna
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#14 of 126 in Knysna
233 reviews
0.1 km away
Greenfire Knysna Lodge
Greenfire Knysna Lodge
#37 of 100 in Knysna
26 reviews
3.9 km away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#13 of 126 in Knysna
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Knysna Terrace Boutique Guesthouse is a family owned and run guesthouse. At our core we hold to heart the stories from ancient Greece, which would caution mortals that any guest should be treated as if potentially a disguised divinity. It is these principles of hospitality toward any stranger who enters our establishment, and the belief of extending generosity and courtesy to our guests, with a warm-hearted and relaxed atmosphere, that makes us passionate about hospitality, but more especially about making your stay with us as memorable as possible. At Knysna Terrace Boutique Guesthouse we aim to stay true to nature and embrace this beautiful town with its forests, mountains and oceans...thus our décor is Mediterranean-themed, which also pays homage to the phenomenal bird-life in our pristine forests, hence the holding company name Pouli (Pooh-lee)-which is a beautiful Greek work for Bird! We would also like to set your mind at ease that all amenities are biodegradable and environmentally friendly, and our famous breakfasts are prepared using fresh, locally sourced ingredients...good for the environment, good for you! So ... to get noisy, long reaches, clashing forks, bumps, spills and friendship are all part of our process. They are the happy (and perhaps noisy) atmosphere us Greeks are well-known for, and we love to have our guests join in on our fun! We do hope that you enjoy this unique hospitable experience that we have to offer...our aim is after all, to make your stay as comfortable and relaxed as it can be, to allow you to unwind and return home with a warm smile when remembering us...and of course, to have you back every time you visit the beautiful town of Knysna! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knysna Terrace Guesthouse

Address: 138 Old Cape Road | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $88 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Terrace Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna Terrace Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Knysna Terrace Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room facing the bay”
milleroz146, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“None. Room was perfect. ”
exbokkie, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Never saw the other rooms but it was quiet in our room on the ground floor”
, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent”
288nickye, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Try the top rooms....although even the bottom ones offer exceptional value...”
NickyVR1, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5