We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Knysna Manor House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Knysna Manor House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 218: English reviews
Start your review of Knysna Manor House
 Click to rate
Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at the Knysna Manor house was very pleasant. Owner and staff were very helpful and kind. The room was comfortable and breakfast was excellent. This is not the most modern facility, but rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable with excellent beds and shower. Also noteworthy is the off road parking facility behind locked gates. We highly recommend the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank martienb2017
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recommendation, we do believe we offer all that a guest needs at a very reasonable price. Glad you liked the "Old Word Charm" of our late 1880 guesthouse. We would welcome you or your friends back anytime. As always, travel safe Gail

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Management were extremely polite and interested in our trip.The location and view are outstanding.Knysna Manor is very good value for mone and I would recommend you have your breakfast on the deck overlooking the bay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L6531JKrobv
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

Hi Rob, My staff always go out of their way to try and make guests feel at home, and if appears that you also experienced that. Glad that you enjoyed our old style guesthouse, and we would welcome you back anytime. As always, Travel safe Gail Dalton Owner Knysna Manor House

Victoria, Argentina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I liked the location of the place, close to everything and yet very quiet, the view of the lagoon is also nice. Very friendly staff, Brenda and Marlene were excellent hosts. Their recommendations and advise was always spot on. I would not hesitate to recommend this historic facility to everyone. Good breakfast, homely atmosphere. We enjoyed our family stay a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia M
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

Brilliant, I always love it when guests share their positive experiences. (and complaints also). So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and everything that my staff do to make guests feel at home. We do hope that you return soon. Kind regards Gail Dalton

London
Reviewed 19 February 2017

The B&B is a beautiful old house within walking distance of the main street. The staff are lovely and very helpful. The breakfast was very good. Everything was clean and spotless - the room was beautifully decorated. I enjoyed my stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank macjoyous
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

Our aim is to please. Thank you so much for your kind words. Brenda and Marlene work so hard to make guests feel at home. Sp glad that you enjoyed everything about our guesthouse. Kind regards Gail Dalton Owner

NewYork
Reviewed 18 February 2017

The Manor House was lovely and a delightful place to spend a few nights. It is a few blocks up the hill from the main street, but well worth the walk. The view from the breakfast area and outside deck was spectacular. The breakfast served each morning was fantastic. The staff Brenda & Marlene were friendly, informative and just lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulMNewYork
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

Thank you Paul for choosing to stay with us and for your very kind words and wonderful review. Brenda and Marlene do go the extra mile for guests and make owning a guesthouse worthwhile. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Gail Dalton Owner

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Brenda, Antony and the whole team gave a warm welcome and made us very comfortable. Our downstairs mini apartment was very spacious and had everything we needed. Breakfast had plenty choice and was cooked fresh for you. It was my wife's birthday while we were there and we shared a bottle of bubbly with our hosts which was delightful. So...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheAsiaphiles
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

I am so happy that you had a very memorable stay at our guesthouse. Brenda, Anthony and our small team really do me proud. It is guests such as yourselves that make our guesthouse a place of comfort and home.We do hope that you return back soon. Travel safe Gail Dalton Owner

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

This guest house reminds me of my stay in Kimberly in the early 80s, but that is probably not a fair review, although this guest house is old style SA it is very clean, and comfortable, my room was very large, with ensuite although the shower was in the room There is plenty secure parking. The breakfast is awesome and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scubaboy-12
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

Hi Scuba Boy, So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found that everything was great. My staff do make an amazing breakfast, and I think it just feels like home. We do hope to welcome you back soon Travel safe Kind regards Gail Dalton Owner

Richards Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 20 January 2017

This centrally located venue was a pleasure to use. We were welcomed by friendly staff/owners and showed around the place. Fortunately, we are not old or sickly otherwise we might have had a problem with this venue as it is on a very steep slope and thus has many steps. Wonderful place! Will be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lincolngavin
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

Firstly, glad to know that you will be back. Always appreciate positive feedback like yours. As with all things in life, there are pro's and cons. We have a wonderful location, thanks to the house being built by the Mayor of Knysna in the 1880's. After being extended and turned into a guesthouse in the 1980's, a full century later,...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We stayed for 2 nights. And we don't recommend not even 1. Paper-thin wall and our room was next to the TV... We could hear all conversations and people passing. Very old building and depot of old furniture. Swimming pool: dirty and no place to lay down, Localisation: to go from the hotel to city centre you cannot walk by...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vaskovskyy
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

I am very sad that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I appreciate your comments. Firstly I apologize that the pool was dirty, not sure the reason why, but will check with my managers. The pool is advertised as being a great place to cool off, and not an actual area to lie in the sun. As you...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Pleasant but could do with a little bit of finesse. Breakfast was a bit slap dash, carpet in the rooms had a musty carpet smell.Couches and cushions in the bar area could do with a clean/dry clean. Not a bad experience overall.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank quitondesireet
KnysnaManorHouse, Owner at Knysna Manor House, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest opinion. Renovations and maintenance are ongoing at the guesthouse, but I shall forward your comments to my managers for urgent attention. Your comments as to how we could add more finesse would be appreciated. Travel safe Gail

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
5:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.4 km away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#12 of 125 in Knysna
328 reviews
4.3 km away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#18 of 125 in Knysna
192 reviews
4.7 km away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
#30 of 125 in Knysna
492 reviews
2.5 km away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#42 of 125 in Knysna
134 reviews
21.3 km away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 13 in Sedgefield
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Knysna Manor House is a 3 star, AA Highly Recommended Knysna guesthouse offering B&B accommodation on the Garden Route. It is a unique Bed and Breakfast that combines the charm of times gone by with modern amenities. Built in 1896, the guest house was the original home of the mayor of Knysna and was converted into a B&B in the 1980's. Knysna Manor House guesthouse is housed in a charming Victorian mansion located in the centre of town, overlooking the stunning Knysna Lagoon and is within a 2-5 minute walk of local shops, banks, craft markets, restaurants and the Knysna Waterfront. This Knysna accommodation consists of 13 en-suite rooms that have all been lovingly furnished and equipped with modern amenities including tea trays, a hairdryer (availale at reception), heaters, fans, additional blankets, tea/coffee making facilities. The majority of these rooms have a mini fridge. We have now opened up a self catering flat, which can accommodate two adults and two children. Guests can enjoy "Free Wi-Fi" Internet access in public areas, and in some rooms. We are working with the service provider to hopefully have the entire guesthouse wi-fi enabled. Breakfast is served from 7 - 9 either in the breakfast room, or on the deck overlooking the Knysna Lagoon. The deck offers guests stunning views of the Knysna Lagoon and Knysna Heads, and is a quiet place to end the day after finishing one of the many day trips around Knysna. These include the hauntingly beautiful Tsitsikamma National Park, Wilderness, Oudtshoorn, George and Plettenberg Bay. We are a 3 Star, AA Highly Recommended accommodation provider. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knysna Manor House

Address: 19 Fichat Street | Garden Route, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $67 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Manor House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Knysna Manor House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not all rooms have views, request this if you would like one.”
TLW100, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are of good quality.”
Petropawlowsk, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Loved the upstairs rooms”
782melindam, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
“There are varied size rooms on several levels, and if you cannot climb stairs, the main floor would be better.”
franklaff, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Top floor rooms would be best as its wooden floors, but all the rooms are great”
nina_trilogy, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5