We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

African Violet

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
African Violet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 153: English reviews
Start your review of African Violet
 Click to rate
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Rob and Jennifer were very welcoming and ensured that we were well settled in. A useful little map was given to us and Jenni mentioned some of the more interesting places to visit. Lovely and peaceful with a beautifully kept swimming pool. Comfortable and clean unit with all amenities including the use of a weber. Safe and secure parking at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank foxc668
Cape Town
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in the Design Studio. Thought it would be private and that we had our own private deck but was disappointed as the guests in the honeymoon suite had to walk past our studio and deck to get to their suite. There is a light on the deck but you can see absolutely nothing at night as the light is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiffanyh0967
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - we do value and appreciate it. We do take guests' comments seriously, and consider each point made. I am sorry that you battled to see the BBQ - there is a torch in the rack cutlery. We keep the lighting 'low' to create ambiance - not always suitable for every occasion :) All the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very welcoming - Jennifer gave us lots of useful recommendations. The flat was quiet, very clean with a beautiful view. It is nicely decorated and well equiped. The location is nice, felt safe as well and is very convenient for many of the main attractions of the greater Cape Town area and Cape Town itself. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliebM9560EN
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

Julie and David, thank you for your positive words. It was a pleasure hosting your special family - with great boys. All the best.

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay at African Violet. The honeymoon suite was great with fantastic views. Rob and Jennie were very helpful and provided some great local recommendations. We hope to be able to return and would strongly recommend a stay here!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

... would be delighted with a return visit, Dan and Ru. Thank you for your positive review. Warm regards Jennifer

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed at African Violet for two nights to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city center and it was lovely. Really appreciate the fact that the owners are are using water responsibly and educating guests about responsible water use.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V3028OYerikam
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

Thank you. I love it when Capetonians are tourists in their home town. Come again :)

Chastre, Belgium
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Very nice place, quiet area, perfect location to discover Cape town, Kommetjie (long beach), SImon's Town, Chapmans peak drive, TM national park ... and so many other places... Ver y welcoming host !!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pierrearnaudr2017
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

Pierre & Maud, and totally cute Penelope, I am so pleased that you were able to discover many of the picturesque places on the South Peninsula in Cape Town. All the best Jennifer

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

African Violet was an excellent choice for us to stay as part of a two week trip to Cape Town. Perfectly located for us to cycle along the coast road in preparation for the Cape Town Cycle Tour (unfortunately cancelled). The views of the mountain and sea were spectacular and the suite itself was ideal - mountain views from our...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

Tony and Lisa, it was a pleasure having you both to stay in the Courtyard Suite for those four days. Thank you for the wonderful words of appreciation for the setting here and accommodation that African Violet offers. It must have been a great disappointment (and shock) to have the race for which much preparation and cost incurred, cancelled ......

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We stayed 3 weeks in the African Violet in the loft and it was very nice to be there. Service, was very good and the apartment was clean all the time. Blankets, towels , everything was taken care of. Only the pool was a bit to cloride..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I9745EKhansb
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you both to stay at African Violet, and be close to your niece and her family. We are happy to say that we have changed the pool water purifier to a solar/saline system - now good for the environment, less energy usage, and better for our health. All the best Rob and Jennifer

Cham, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We were looking forward to our last three nights in SA at African Violet but when we arrived, we were pretty disappointed. It didn't look as nice as in the fotos. The entrance and pool area were not held tidy (the pool wasn't inviting at all). There was some construction going on at both sites. It's good, that they renew...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ilovedali
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do appreciate and value feedback. The Cape is experiencing severe water restrictions and it is impossible for us to water the grass at the pool. We are busy with renovations and upgrades, and plan to include the pool and garden area, and the Garden Studio in which you stayed, and will addres your concerns....

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

A charming and character property, peaceful and beautiful. We enjoyed our 2 night stay - very comfy bed and well equipped- we would not hesitate to stay again. The pool area was exquisite and the views from the terrace were amazing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

Angela and Nigel, thank you for the most encouraging review. We do appreciate it, and look forward to your return.

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordhoek
21.8 km away
Alta Bay
Alta Bay
#12 of 106 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
23.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
3.0 km away
African Queen
African Queen
#1 of 10 in Noordhoek
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Goose Green Lodge
Goose Green Lodge
#2 of 10 in Noordhoek
97 reviews
3.1 km away
Wild Rose Country Lodge
Wild Rose Country Lodge
#4 of 10 in Noordhoek
63 reviews
4.7 km away
De Noordhoek Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer accommodation in five beautiful, fully equipped self-catering luxury suites, set high up against the mountain overlooking Noordhoek Valley to the Atlantic Ocean. Tasteful contemporary African decor in each apartment. Sun drenched garden and rock pool. Quiet neighborhood. Centrally situated gives easy access to around Cape Town and the south peninsula. Near to Cape Point, penguins, Table Mountain, beaches, local shops, bank, top restaurants. Accommodate groups of 2 to 12 people. Quality beds and linen. DSTV. Free Wi-Fi. Each apartment has beautiful views and its own private outdoor area. Weber-braai available. Perfect for couples, families or family re-unions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about African Violet

Address: 12 Mauritius Crescent | Capri,, Noordhoek 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Noordhoek
Price Range: $73 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — African Violet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your African Violet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from African Violet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The design studio does not have its own pool but if you walk down stairs you can use the communal pool area.”
Raybelline, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Terrace suite décor is lovely and the pool is just stunning!!!”
  • View at night - Terrace Suite
  • Bathroom - terrace suite
  • Kitchen area - terrace suite
  • Living area - terrace suite
I9492QVjessicac, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the room with the pool.”
andre547, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Any of there rooms is to die for because the view is awesome from all angles”
kashiefaa, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“views, child friendly, warm and clean”
onelife-livenow, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Booking.com
Hotwire.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates