We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

African Violet

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
African Violet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 144: English reviews
Start your review of African Violet
 Click to rate
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A charming and character property, peaceful and beautiful. We enjoyed our 2 night stay - very comfy bed and well equipped- we would not hesitate to stay again. The pool area was exquisite and the views from the terrace were amazing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

Angela and Nigel, thank you for the most encouraging review. We do appreciate it, and look forward to your return.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned here after a wonderful stay 4 years ago, and were not disappointed. So much love and care is evident in the tasteful decoration and comforts of the Courtyard Suite. Jennifer and her staff are wonderful hosts - friendly, helpful if any questions, and quick with tips and good recommendations. The place is very well designed for privacy, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caryn J
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

Caryn and Trent, thank you, thank you for those kind words. It was a pleasure to have you return to African Violet. We so enjoyed the wee chat with you both when you guys departed - most heart warming on our part. We wish you everything of the best and look forward to your return.

Reviewed 19 January 2017

We recently stayed for 5 nights at this wonderful resting place to visit my sister who lived very close by. We were welcomed by Jenni in a very friendly manner , really like we were family. The loft was perfect for what we needed, our room was spacious with a clean modern on suite bathroom. Our kids room was perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ant S
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

Ant and Nicola, it was a pleasure having you all to stay at African Violet for your family holiday. Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to your return.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 8 December 2016

My stay at African Violet was absolutely wonderful - I felt so welcome, and relaxed, from the moment I arrived! The views, the room, the atmosphere, the hosts - just amazing!! I wish I could go back every weekend. DEFINITELY to be recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NadeneLouwB
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

... well, that was the whole idea, Nadene! Delighted. Continue with strength and revitalized energy, for the marathon.

Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Really good and enjoyable stay at African Violet. Very clean and neat Garden Studio, with beautiful views, friendly and helpful service from Jenni. Lots of entertainment and drives with stunning views very close by. Will definitely return and recommend to anyone looking for quality accommodation. Thanks Jenni!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradwell B
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

You are most welcome Bradwell and Prinita, we loved having you both being here on your honeymoon, and glad that you could explore the wonderful sights that Cape Town has to offer. We wish you all the very best for a long life of abundant blessing together! Kind regards, Jennifer

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

My husband and I stayed in the Design Studio for 5 nights on a self-catering basis. We enjoyed our time here and would stay again. The flat includes: a large, comfy double bed, a very nice bathroom with a large shower, plenty of cupboard space, a sofa and large flat-screen TV, a fully equipped kitchenette with a fridge and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raybelline
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

Raelene and Geoff, thank you for the comprehensive review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here, and look forward to your return visit.

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 14 November 2016

My Fiance and I spent our anniversary at African Violet and we loved every minute there. Jenny is a warm host with a real passion for making her guests feel welcome and at ease. The room was tastefully decorated and equipped with everything we needed. We drunk champagne on our private deck overlooking the beautiful valley and enjoyed a yummy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Letizia P
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

Thank you Letitzia and Nathan for your complimentary words and encouragement about your stay at African Violet. It was such a pleasure to be part of this early milestone in the story of your life together. And also be part of Tam's fund raiser. All the best to you both, Jen

Knysna
Reviewed 8 November 2016

While we wanted pet-friendly accommodation as our little pooch had to pay a specialist vet a visit, we also wanted luxury and comfort for ourselves - this we found at African Violet! Our hosts were charming and friendly and the guest suite was perfect for us and our furchild. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the shower waterpressure excellent! Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlossomKnysna
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

Colleen and Peter, it was a pleasure having you both to stay - and your impeccably well behaved Sparky. Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to your return when you next visit Cape Town.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

So glad we decided to make it a two night stay. Jenny is a gem of a host and made us feel at home from the onset when she called ahead of our arrival to ask about our ETA. This was without any pressure whatsoever to rush through the Friday afternoon traffic. The upgrade she gave us was an extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

Delighted that you enjoyed your get-away stay. We are always happy to be able to upgrade when we can! Come again :)

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Excellent 5 star accommodation. 5 star furniture. 5 star breakfast. We will go back again to this beautiful view. Very friendly reception. You will see me again. I wish other guesthouses will implement the same standard. Dino and Anette

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mwtosca
JenniStewart, Manager at African Violet, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for that glowing review. It was such a pleasure having you both to stay! We are delighted that you enjoyed the birthday breakfasts and that the furniture was to your liking. Positive feedback is encouraging. We look forward to welcoming you back to African Violet.

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordhoek
24.3 km away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,168 reviews
5.3 km away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
197 reviews
21.8 km away
Alta Bay
Alta Bay
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
African Queen
African Queen
#1 of 11 in Noordhoek
172 reviews
3.5 km away
Goose Green Lodge
Goose Green Lodge
#2 of 11 in Noordhoek
92 reviews
3.1 km away
Wild Rose Country Lodge
Wild Rose Country Lodge
#4 of 11 in Noordhoek
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer accommodation in five beautiful, fully equipped self-catering luxury suites, set high up against the mountain overlooking Noordhoek Valley to the Atlantic Ocean. Tasteful contemporary African decor in each apartment. Sun drenched garden and rock pool. Quiet neighborhood. Centrally situated gives easy access to around Cape Town and the south peninsula. Near to Cape Point, penguins, Table Mountain, beaches, local shops, bank, top restaurants. Accommodate groups of 2 to 12 people. Quality beds and linen. DSTV. Free Wi-Fi. Each apartment has beautiful views and its own private outdoor area. Weber-braai available. Perfect for couples, families or family re-unions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about African Violet

Address: 12 Mauritius Crescent | Capri,, Noordhoek 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Noordhoek
Price Range: $83 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — African Violet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your African Violet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from African Violet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The design studio does not have its own pool but if you walk down stairs you can use the communal pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles Raybelline, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Terrace suite décor is lovely and the pool is just stunning!!!”
  • View at night - Terrace Suite
  • Bathroom - terrace suite
  • Kitchen area - terrace suite
  • Living area - terrace suite
 of 5 bubbles I9492QVjessicac, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the room with the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles andre547, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Any of there rooms is to die for because the view is awesome from all angles”
 of 5 bubbles kashiefaa, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“views, child friendly, warm and clean”
 of 5 bubbles onelife-livenow, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5