We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Boulders Lodge & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Boulders Lodge & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Boulders Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Not what I expected for the rating of the place. No shower gel in the shower. Breakfast was a real disappointment. I think the only time the reception smiled was when we paid would not come back again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leos587
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We arrived late afternoon and kids went straight in the pool. Ordered drinks which took an age to come. Seemed like they really would rather have not had guests that night. We had to pre choose from a very limited menu which was basic home cooking and overpriced for what it was. Breakfast minimal but adequate, would recommend you look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank . G
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Our stay at Boulder's Loge & Spa was very last minute as my daughter and I decided to make a detour and stop at the Cango Caves. We booked on Bookings.com, the closest spot to the caves for an early arrival. The lodge boasts an onsite restaurant, but the menu is very limited and definitely homestyle cooking. The lodge is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny907
LeRoux V, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of Boulders Lodge & Spa. We are sad to hear you did not like our style of guest house. We honor your preferences and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip through the Garden Route. As you mentioned we offer simple but homely dinner menu options in our dining room. We invite...

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 31 December 2015

We loved our stay. The room was clean and spacious. It was great having the playground for our kids. Safe and secure too. Best Dom Pedros ever. I would suggest a bar fridge especially in the family rooms, we struggled with our daughters bottles of milk. Friendly service from all the staff. Love it and will definitely be back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolelR8496VV
LeRoux V, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Good to hear from you again. We had a lovely time serving you and your family. I can't help smiling at your reference to the Dom Pedro's, I was whipping those up almost every night through December. I take note of your suggestion about the bar fridges, we will look into this option for our next renovations in...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

We spent one night in this lovely hotel. Has a very nice pool with plenty space for relaxing in the sun. Definitely need a car as not within walking distance of restaurants etc. For this reason we ate in and the food was simple but very nice. Would certainly recommend it for a stop over.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron U
LeRoux V, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments posted. We appreciate your support during your holiday. We are happy to hear about your positive experience and appreciation shown for the spacious area around the pool, as well as that you enjoyed your dinner experience. It was our pleasure to serve you and hope to see you again. Kindest regards Le Roux...

Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

This was a lovely place to stay in during our holiday, beautiful relaxed environment, the kids loved the play area. Clean and absolutely stunning rooms. Food was tasty and fresh, cocktails to die for❤️. Will definitely visit again next year👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻worth every penny!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianedR1726JV
LeRoux V, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Great to receive your review. I must say that it was a great joy serving you and your family during your multi week stay here at Boulders Lodge & Spa. This is one of the reasons we love our work, meeting and spending time with guests like yourselves. We wish you best of luck with your new year...

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed here on 25/12/2015...it is well situated and location great.....Our stay for albeit one night was most pleasant ....we were received promptly and efficiently. ..the owner who was on duty was most helpful. ...the breakfast was delicious ...... Will deff recommend and will be back for sure....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HarryPMB02
LeRoux V, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review of your experience here at Boulders Lodge & Spa. Thank you for the recommendation and we are glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We have now added locally produced Latana cheese to our breakfast buffy which broadens the "local tastes" theme. Visit us again soon to try these. Kindest regards Le Roux Owner

Clanwilliam, South Africa
Reviewed 26 December 2015

We stayed at boulder on our way home.it was fantastic.the friendly staff.clean pool,gorgeous rooms with ac and spa bath.very nice dinner menu and everyone went out of their way to make our stay there as comfortable as possible. Thumbs up for boulders lodge in outdshoorn.awesome lodge

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johang534
LeRoux V, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Wow, what a nice review. Thank you for your comments about your stay here! It was a great pleasure to serve you with friendliness, helpfulness, and through rooms that met your expectations. Thanks for the thumbs up and we hope your will visit us again soon. Kindest regards Le Roux Owner

Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

Beautiful Spa with very helpful staff who are very friendly. Location was perfect as we were a stones throw from Cango wildlife ranch. Food was perfect with alot of local and fresh produce on the menu. Would definitley reccomend and return to when visiting Oudtshroon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
LeRoux V, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest We really appreciate your review of Boulders Lodge & Spa. The Cango Wildlife Ranch is indeed a wonderfully interesting activity and well worth a visit. We will always try our utmost best to serve local and fresh options at dinner and breakfast. These local tastes i.e. ostrich, cheese, wine and beer, are what makes Oudtshoorn so unique and...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Lodge is a little bit out of town. Too far to walk in the evening to restaurant but central located to explore usual touristic activities in Oudtshoorn. Secure shade parking in front of the house. Welcome professional and helpful. Rooms are equipped with flat screen TV, aircon, coffee station, hair dryer and terrace with chairs. Pool is clean and garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frogy007
LeRoux V, Owner at Boulders Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We are happy you stayed at Boulders Lodge & Spa during your visit. Thank you for mentioning that you would have liked more personal attention. We always try our best to answer in our guests needs. As you mentioned we make drinks available after 21:30 when arranged. Our dining room is available to...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
2.4 km away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 8 in Oudtshoorn
271 reviews
0.7 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 8 in Oudtshoorn
436 reviews
4.5 km away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#7 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
484 reviews
14.1 km away
Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
11.5 km away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#10 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and enjoy an unforgettable holiday in the Klein Karoo en route to the Cango Caves. The Boulders Lodge is fully air-conditioned, a wi-fi hotspot and a sparkling blue pool and jacuzzi on the deck awaits visitors who are ready to restore peace to body and soul. Boulders Lodge is more than a home away from home, it provides playtime for the kids (Jungle gym), pampering for the weary or romantic (Boulders Spa) and delicious dinners in our dining room when available. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Boulders Lodge & Spa

Address: 20 Bruwer Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $120 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulders Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Boulders Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Boulders Lodge & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Sheffield, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Boulders Lodge & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Late afternoon sun heats up the west facing rooms. Air con had to work hard to cool the room down. Pool facing rooms are much cooler.”
 of 5 bubbles 857johanv, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room with a bath”
 of 5 bubbles WarrenMWalker, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room number 1. It had a big shower and a jet bath. It's a corner suite that is large and sunny.”
 of 5 bubbles maggied909, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The poolside room was brilliant - it also has the spa bath.”
  • Poolside room
 of 5 bubbles AneTheron78, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We saw 4 rooms which all looked very nice”
 of 5 bubbles 976g, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay