We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 334: English reviews
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

We are only commenting on the older owners and hopefully the new owners might take heed of a few points. Agreed with others that the cabins need upgrading, air con might be nice, white linen looks so much nicer than the multi coloured worn ones. The electrics are an accident waiting to happen. The food at the time did no...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marmiecat
Belinda B, Owner at Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

My fellow traveller, we really do appreciate your comments and we, as new owners will definitely take heed of your pointers. It is essential to listen to our guest and see where we can upgrade. Please do follow our progress on Facebook, and hopefully we will see you again.

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! Andre and Jenny were welcoming hosts and the setting was so beautiful. Hiking trails are marked and hiking to watch the sunset from the rocks was spectacular. Relaxing on the balcony looking at the sky filled with stars, surrounded by the sounds of nature was magical. Another highlight was eating dinner and breakfast while...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ilove2travel1000
Belinda B, Owner at Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Our job is complete! It is our aim to leave you in total awe of the surroundings and good food. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay immensely and please do keep following us as we aim to only improve. Hope to see you very soon. Take care and enjoy the rest of your travels.

Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016

The cabin was poorly furnished, bedlinen was very old and bobbly, electrics were very basic, bathroom was awful I didn't want to touch any of it, the folding door to the bathroom was off its runner, hot water if you were lucky! It all needed a complete refurbishment. Breakfast and dinner were included, but no choice, we were told if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevetwiggs
Belinda B, Owner at Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

My dearest traveller. What a disappointment that you felt and had to experience such an evening. The only consolation we can give you is that we have just recently bought the Lodge in March and aim to do a full upgrade. We now only do dinners on a wood fire and although we still like to keep a set menu,...

Surbiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Located out of the way and down a few dirt tracks when you finally arrive you'll be glad you made the effort. We only stayed one night and loved it. The cabin had all the amenities we needed and we loved the solitude. (admittedly it was fully booked the nights before and after us but we were alone our night)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NichFence
Belinda B, Front Office Manager at Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your absolutely wonderful review of our place. Jenny and Andre will be extremely pleased that they were able to make your stay so enjoyable. How lucky you were to have had the guest farm all to yourselves in order that you were able to soak in the solitude and grace the farm possesses. We aim to increase...

London
Reviewed 8 March 2016

We spent 2 nights here and a really good time. We wanted to stay somewhere a little bit different from the usual accommodation for a change.....and we got a change. Only 3 cottages and very private. We did a couple of walking trails which were easy and saw some of the local wildlife. Now, what can I say about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dasmith91
Belinda B, Owner at Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Wow amazing 5 stars. many thanks for such an awesome review. We have recently bought the farm over from Jann and Camilla but we intend on keeping things exactly the same, and only hope on your next trip back to South Africa you will decided to come by and visit us again. Maybe a few nice changes like a swimming...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Zwartberg View Mountain retreat is an absolute jewel in the middle of the most exquisite landscape, A truly inspiring place and a sanctuary where we found food for our soul. Jann and Camilla you are such a wonderful couple and take hospitality to a new level.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 102tanya
Belinda B, Owner at Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

At Zwartberg View we aim to invite people to come and take some time out from their busy schedules and sit back, relax and watch world go by. Jann and Camilla are wonderful people and we hope, as new owners to the Guest farm that we can continue to build on the good foundations they have laid. We are extremely...

Amsterdam
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Sure we could complain about the lack of insect screens (we had a few mosquito bites), poor cooling from the fan (which was basicly too low to cool at bed-level, or the poor Wifi reception in the room, but this is not a 5-start hotel. The supreme setting, amazing intimacy of the place and close up animal encounter more than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tactix
jannharoldbader, Owner at Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent review, we love the fact that you started out uncertain, but ended up giving us five stars....normally, one takes five star reviews for granted, but in the interests of future travellers, we should just correct a few issues... we have no mosquitos as we have no standing water, and we are in a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Somewhere we thought to begin with that it's not for us but once we ventured down to pre dinner beers and met Camilla, Amanda and Jann (again) and the wild life we changed our mind. The 3 course dinner was very good and enjoyed our chats while we ate. We were the only guests on the first night so spent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue56_11
Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 25 February 2016

The lodge hosts only 6 guests in three small chalets on a hill. The view from the terrace is unbelievable: nothing but nature and the far range of mountains in all shades of red. One can take long walks through the finbos. Breakfast and dinner is served in the restaurant a bit down the hill. Jann, the owner, seems to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xSolix
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

This description equally applies to both the estate and Jann and Camilla that own Zwartberg View! If you are looking for something different, off the beaten track and being at one with nature then this is the place for you! My wife and I had a great stay with Camilla and Jann. They were very friendly, entertaining and funny. Jann...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer_Alex42

321 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (309)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (148)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
16.0 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
455 reviews
22.1 km away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#7 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
167 reviews
17.1 km away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 km away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
840 reviews
7.2 km away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
445 reviews
44.8 km away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#12 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Zwartberg View Mountain Retreat is set in our own private nature reserve 15 minutes from Oudtshoorn and de Rust - our chalets are high up in the hills above a natural amphitheatre where wildlife abounds and the views are spectacular. Our dinners and breakfasts, included in our rate are internationally renowned, our furnishings and fittings very African and very unique. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge

Address: Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $147 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cape Town Central, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private cottage is great if you like to braai/barbecue”
 of 5 bubbles Kocacanavar, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Self catering unit near to the main building or chalets with a view a little further away”
 of 5 bubbles 481katel, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“This is not a hotel but a game reserve with chalets so it does not matter which one you get.”
 of 5 bubbles 615andye, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all rooms seems to be similar”
 of 5 bubbles alwyn1_12, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All of the individual mountain view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles cthecliffs, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5