We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cliffhanger Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Cliffhanger Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A little of heaven! Was the most memorable weekend, definitely worth the drive from CPT for 2 days of relaxation! The view is breath taking!! The hike in the Reenendal forest is a must. (It costs R20 per person to get into the park so remember to take cash as they don't accept cards)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank belindacummins
ings_young, Owner at Cliffhanger Cottages, responded to this review

We're thrilled to hear that you so enjoyed your stay with us - in heaven!! It is a long drive from Cape Town, but that all melts away when you put your feet up and drink in the view (and a glass of wine ;) ) I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the lovely forest so close to us!!...

UK
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had travelled all the way from Brenton on Sea, may be all of 20kms. to get to Cliffhanger Cottages and Cliffedge in particular but in reality a world away. Peaceful, tranquil, all the " promises " delivered in such comfortable and unique accommodation. Everything from 1st. enquiry to departure was so smooth and it was an absolute delight to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LOGOS45
ings_young, Owner at Cliffhanger Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Always glad to hear that we have lived up to expectation.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Cliff Hanger cottage for our honeymoon and could not have been more happy with our choice! The views from every window in the cottage displays the beauty of the Outeniqua mountain range. The cottage is nice and spacious for two people, boasting just about every amenity you may require. You will end up spending a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
ings_young, Owner at Cliffhanger Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Cliffhanger Cottage as your honeymoon destination. After the 'busy-ness' of a wedding, the peace and quiet at Cliffhanger gives you time to reflect on this special occassion.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect cottage overlooking the forest covered valley. Attention to detail, quality finishes, private and quiet - just the sound of the breeze in the trees and the birds calling to one another. The cottage is well designed and has all the mod-cons needed to make your stay effortless. Absolutely amazing views - even from the shower!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
ings_young, Owner at Cliffhanger Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Telling it like it is, is helpful to us, and future guests!

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is fabulous on all levels. It perches on a hill overlooking a valley of indigenous forest and out over far hills. Inside, the open-plan space is inviting and pristine, with lots of little personal touches that make it seem like home. You can see great care has gone into creating the cottages. Another fab feature is the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie S
ings_young, Owner at Cliffhanger Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Cliffhanger Cottages. It's always wonderful to receive such glowing reviews! Thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the space so much and that you recommend it as a romantic getaway.

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Wow! What a beautiful place to stay! My husband and I celebrated our 1 year wedding anniversary here and we loved every second of it! The view us just BREATH TAKING!!!! The cottage itself is really well equipped and so clean. The location is great too - close to everything, yet still private to insure and intimate stay. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katryn1
ings_young, Owner at Cliffhanger Cottages, responded to this review

What a special memory to celebrate at Cliffhanger Cottages. Glad that we could be "part of it!" To hear that you left us with spirits renewed and souls at peace is exactly how it should be.

London
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Peaceful and tranquil setting in the mountains outside of knysal. We stayed in the more basic cottage called hedge but still very nice. Some great views and very quiet. Don't forget to check out by 10.00

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andyyy6
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 12 October 2016

My wife and i always stay in the same cottage...its amazing and i would recommend this to anybody. The beautiful view of the forrest is amazing. The view takes away all the city stress. We found ourselves just sitting and staring for hours. Love it

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank georgemQ301RT
ings_young, Owner at Cliffhanger Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for always choosing to stay with us!! Makes us believe we're doing it right ;) ...and thank you for your recommendations! Looking forward to welcoming you back :)

Reviewed 9 October 2016

This is a real hidden gem. There is so much to say about this special place. Peace and tranquility at its best. Unfortunately we only stayed for 2 nights. We did however make the right decision not to go anywhere for the weekend so we did indeed "wash the city from our souls." The ever changing forest views and bird...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BelindaLJonker
ings_young, Owner at Cliffhanger Cottages, responded to this review

Wow! What a great review!! Thank you. Glad to hear that you did indeed, "wash the city from your soul" - that is our intention.

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Hosts were super friendly on arival and we were amazed from the moment we stepped inside the cottage. Photos can't do the view justice and we loved the little fireplace inside. Will definitely be going back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rohanns
ings_young, Owner at Cliffhanger Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. We agree - the photos just don't do it justice...so you HAVE to come and see it for yourself ;) We look forward to welcoming you back - hopefully in the not too distant future!!

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rheenendal
6.1 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
13.6 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 29 in Knysna
696 reviews
6.9 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 29 in Knysna
325 reviews
12.3 km away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 101 in Knysna
268 reviews
12.5 km away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 19 in Sedgefield
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For Honeymooners, lovers, and nature lovers. Peaceful and very private timber chalets with awesome views of Knysna forest and the Outeniqua mountains yet only 15 minutes from Knysna town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliffhanger Cottages

Address: Rheenendal Road, Rheenendal, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Rheenendal
Price Range: $120 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cliffhanger Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cliffhanger Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“With just 2 choices book as early as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles LOGOS45, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have views”
  • View from the porch
  • Bedroom view
 of 5 bubbles paullS1273SF, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you stay longer than 2 nights.”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cliffhanger and Cliff Edge cottages have wonderful views”
 of 5 bubbles 67annies, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles Bertram1972, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay