We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Agoda.comUS$128*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$135*
US$128*
Great Deal
US$135*
US$135*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

845 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 661: English reviews
Start your review of Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
 Click to rate
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I was so looking forward to Asara's Vineyard Stay that I was afraid it might disappoint. And I must say, it was close to being Wonderful! Landscape Upon entering its gate, you'll be led on a picturesque long driveway laced with beautiful vines and trees. Colors of red, auburn, gold and green on hills warmed the dreamy blue sky. Receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelPeeker
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TravelPeeker, Many thanks for the detailed review of your visit to Asara, we appreciate all the kind remarks but are sorry to hear that your experience was only 'close to wonderful'. We do agree completely with your advice that views are of paramount importance when considering accommodation in Stellenbosch, and are glad to hear that you had fun at...

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a wonderful fine dining experience at Mise en Place restaurant. Beautiful setting overlooking a dam with Stellenbosch mountains in the background. Presentation was beautiful. All the elements were perfectly prepared with lovely balance of flavours. I particularly enjoyed the black pudding! Good value for money as well!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun_Stell
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shaun_Stell, Many thanks for the visit to mise en place and kind review, we're delighted to hear that it was a wonderful dining experience all-round. And thank-you also for mentioning the important value for money aspect. The new winter menu will be available soon (within two weeks), and we hope you'll be back to give it a look. Kind...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed for three gorgeous nights solo and really loved it. The pool area is quiet and beautifully nestled into the rolling vineyard hills. I made use of the hiking trail around the grounds each morning, which was amazing. Breakfast was excellent. I dined in both the casual restaurant and the newer fine dining restaurant and everything was really good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahmstephens
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sarahmstephens, Many thanks for the visit and kind recommendation, we're delighted to hear that you so much enjoyed your time with us, and hope to welcome you again when you are next in SA. Thank-you and kind regards, Asara Hotel Management

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Asara wine Estate is set in a stunning Vineyard central to both Stellenbosch town and beautiful wine farms. The accommodation is excellent. The Zansibar gin bar and Bistro has stunning views and knowledgeable staff. We had a gin tasting which was very unique. Their wines are excellent. MISE EN PLACE their so called fine dining experience is far from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sinclairs250967
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sinclairs250967, Thank-you for the visit and review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the gin tasting, and that you thought the views were stunning, but disappointed to hear that your dinner at mise en place was a letdown. Since its opening in October, mise en place has been, for most of our guests, an absolute highlight of their...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful view at the Sansibar, the Egyptian geese were such a lovely sight to see as they added to the relaxing atmosphere around us... An awesome Vineyard platter but perhaps just too little cheese portions for a Cheese Mouse like me. For a real gin based cocktail lover like myself I would have preferred that the gin powered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jleg2016
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jleg2016, Thank-you for the visit to Sansibar and review, we're glad to hear that you so much enjoyed the meal and atmosphere. We hope you will be back for many more celebrations - and please discuss your gin and cocktail preferences with Joseph or Thierry next time, there is no end to the gins available at Sansibar! Thank-you and...

South Brent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When arriving at a hotel you are not quite sure what to expect. The reception put us immediately at ease with their relaxed helpful introduction. The room was first class with sublime views. It gets better,the view is incredible with lots of wild life activity on the lake. The restaurant service and food delightful. Tomorrow we are out for lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret W, Many thanks for the visit to Asara and for the lovely review. We're delighted to hear that you thought Asara was fantastic, and that you'll be back soon. Seeing those views is indeed, as you say, a sublime experience! Thank-you, we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Asara Hotel Management

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First off, the views are spectacular, the service was very friendly and the rooms clean. But this hotel lacks class and attention in order to be a five star hotel. It deserves four but no more. Way overpriced for what you get. I don't remember everything but things were adding up and I was frustrated while there. Rooms are nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BerlinTravelQueen
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BerlinTravelQueen, Thank-you for the visit and review, we're glad to hear that you so much enjoyed the views and service, but sorry that we fell short of your expectations in some respects. The scheduled opening time of the pool bar is 10h00 daily, and we apologise for the lapse you experienced in that regard. We accept that some guests...

Miami
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Definitely not a 5 stars hotel, the was with very cheap materials and not pretty at all. On our check out day we had the wine tasting with them and they were very rude because we were supposed to check out at 11 and we were at the tasting at 11:30, they hurry us to be out asap! I really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lurogo9
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lurogo9, Thank-you for the visit and review. Our check-out time of 11h00 is quite normal and standard (as is our check-in from 14h00), and is repeatedly made clear throughout the booking, confirmation and check-in process. We will, and do, happily store luggage for guests who may want, as in your case, to do a wine tasting, or to have...

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Beautiful location. Our room had a beautiful view of the pound, hills, vineyards and mountains in the distance. The whole complex is very well maintained. the staff is friendly. Great breakfast. Good bar/restaurant for lazy evenings. I was especially surprised with their very large gin collection. The even have more than 40 South African gins available. And while you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robza
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robza, Thank-you for the visit to Asara and kind review, we're glad to hear that you so much enjoyed the estate and all it has to offer. We would however to point out that Sansibar is actually open every day from 12h00 to 11pm (and sometimes, when occasion demands, even later). Sansibar is a lovely spot for both an...

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Visited here for Sunday lunch, it was a lovely experience, we ate in the Bistro and sat outside overlooking the lake. The service was very good, and the food lovely, the pizzas looked great. There is an ice cream parlour there and we couldn't resist having one on the way out. Prices were reasonable and the wine was delicious. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie J
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosie J, Thank-you for the visit and kind review, we're delighted to hear that you had a lovely time at our bistro, and hope you'll be back soon, perhaps to try one of those flat-bread pizzas! Many thanks and kind regards, Asara Hotel Management

560 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (515)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (210)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.6 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,717 reviews
7.8 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
615 reviews
4.9 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
560 reviews
6.7 km away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
361 reviews
5.0 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Asara is a 5-star hotel, set on a 180-hectare wine estate, in the heart of the Cape Winelands. The hotel offers warm hospitality, luxury accommodation, and the finest in food and wines - at highly competitive rates. A major feature of the hotel is its unique location on the Polkadraai Hills just outside of Stellenbosch, which affords stunning views of the surrounding vineyards and mountains, and creates a relaxed, get-away atmosphere. Asara is situated just 4kms from Stellenbosch and 25kms from Cape Town International Airport, making it ideal as a base from which to discover and explore the fabulous Cape Winelands, and further afield in the Western Cape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $206 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Asara Wine Estate & Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Asara Wine Estate & Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room overlooking the lake, keeps you viewing all day!”
410margaretw, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a view of the vineyards / mountains”
Robza, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room with balcony facing wineland and not one that opens onto a dark, dingy courtyward.”
, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 209 had a spiral staircase to bathroom - wonderful”
alison17, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms are close to everything”
Plumptous, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$128* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$135
Hotels.comUS$135
TripAdvisorUS$135
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates