We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aan Dorpstraat Guest House

23/05/2017 24/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Aan Dorpstraat Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aan Dorpstraat Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We last stayed at Aan Dorpstraat for Christmas over 2 years ago. I'm glad to report that nothing has changed. We received a very warm welcome from Gwen & Johan having driven straight here from CPT after our overnight flight from LHR. It takes less than 30 minutes so is a great place at which to either start or end...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nicmeljones
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Gwen and Johan are great hosts! The room was spacious and clean. I will definitely return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nlopez71
Berkshire, England
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was our second stay at the Aan Dorpstraat. Once again we had a super two day stay with Gwen and Johan. We really couldn't fault it and yes, it certainly is 4 star luxury! After our stay we spent 6 nights at Spier and to be honest, we wish we had booked for longer with Gwen and Johan. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller from UK
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Gwen and Johan immediately make you feel at home.We were given a room in the loft which was perfect.The breakfast is very good.Johan cooking and Gwen serving,good team. Stellenbosch is a great place to stay with wonderful restaurants and interesting shops. The hosts will give you good advice on where to eat,and also vineyard tours.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neilpam
Northiam, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Gwen and Johan are a great couple and made us feel at home immediately. They are excellent hosts and gave us lots of information on what to do and where to eat. The rooms are very well appointed and had lots of amenities. The breakfasts were great and Johan makes very good scrambled eggs! Stellenbosch is a lovely place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is a lovely place in a fantastic location within easy walking distance of some great restaurants and shops. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The owners are also full of information to help your stay. Having said that, The loft style room was hot and difficult to keep cool without really noisy aircon and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yangrima
GwenHugo, Owner at Aan Dorpstraat Guest House, responded to this review

We highly value the comments of our guests and take these comments very seriously and personally indeed. Thank you very much for the positive comments in the first paragraph of your review. They are very much appreciated. If I may, though, I would like to give my feed-back on the two negative aspects mentioned in your review, that lead you...

scotland
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We are more used to staying in hotels, but Fiona ( my friend) assured me Guest houses in South Africa were to way to go. I can say were we not disappointed. After a long flight from Scotland via Dubai we were warmly greeted byGwen and Johan. We were shown our room and unpacked while we waited for our friends...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tummytank
GwenHugo, Owner at Aan Dorpstraat Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Friends I am responding to all of you who have written such kind comments on our guesthouse. Thank you all so much! We are so thrilled to read them all and are very grateful and humbled by these wonderful reviews. The wonderful thing about TripAdvisor is not so much the ranking - although it is really VERY nice to...

Songea, Tanzania
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We were two couples - one from Tanzania and one from Scotland - and our first destination in the western Cape was Aan Dorpstraat. We picked this guest house on the strength of other reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. We chose Stellenbosch and Aan Dorpstraat as our first port of call as we'd travelled fairly long distances...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FionaVan
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Others have said it all. Gwen and Johan are great hosts and run an excellent B&B. Very well appointed room. Gwen was happy to spend quite some time giving us helpful advice and we wish we could have stayed longer. Stellenbosch is an interesting town surrounded of course by by superb wineries in magnificent scenery. Gwen & Johan got up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WatersideJim
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Spotlessness clean and with every conceivable extra in our large stylish rooms, our stay at Aan Dorpstraat was delightful. Ideally situated in a quiet but very central location, Gwen and Johan were the ideal hosts. Gwen talked and Johan cooked! As a consequence we were told of all the best places to visit, tour and eat whilst feasting on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ggnuk

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
23/05/2017 24/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 km away
Hunneyball House
Hunneyball House
#8 of 112 in Stellenbosch
198 reviews
2.3 km away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#5 of 112 in Stellenbosch
340 reviews
0.3 km away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#1 of 112 in Stellenbosch
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
The Stables Lodge
The Stables Lodge
#58 of 112 in Stellenbosch
123 reviews
1.0 km away
Besigheim
Besigheim
#69 of 112 in Stellenbosch
25 reviews
1.2 km away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#9 of 112 in Stellenbosch
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4-Star luxury, B&B accommodation including air conditioning, internet, silent mini-bar fridges, filtered water, small swimming pool and secure parking. All rooms fully en-suite - some with bidets. Owners, Johan and Gwen offer warm hospitality and personal service. Located centrally. 2 - 10 minutes’ walk from great restaurants and business centre. Short drive to wine estates, golf course, beach and other attractions (30 km from Cape Town International Airport). No children under 12 years. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aan Dorpstraat Guest House

Address: 14 Papegaai Street | Twon Centre, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $150 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan Dorpstraat Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aan Dorpstraat Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aan Dorpstraat Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are great!”
CHHLondon, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
433PhilipH, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They are all great!”
CHHLondon, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Most (all?) top floor rooms have low beams. During summer air con needs to be on continuously in the top floor rooms. Conversations from other rooms (and breakfast area) can intrude.”
735clivem, 9 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Room 7 is really lovely (huge shower !)”
UndercoverGuest, 2 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates