We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 296: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here with my husband while we visited some family that live in the area. We had such an amazing experience at Devonvale that we didn't want to leave! Our mornings started off with a delicious buffet breakfast that was included, with such a great variety. We the enjoyed ourselves by the pool and at the spa followed by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariaan H
Annie W, Marketing Employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your great experience on our lovely Estate.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Since years we are coming to our favoured place in South Africa. Every and each time we enjoy staying at Devonvale. The staff is extremely friendly and never annoyed with all my strange requests. We love this place as everybody gives us the feeling they have been waiting the whole year for us to come back. The welcoming from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angbjoern
Annie W, Marketing employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we are always happy to welcoming you and look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We just want to say the service at Devonvale was excellent we enjoyed it on the golf course and at the lodge. We Had lunch and supper at the restaurant and we received such good service, I just want to thank you Devonvale for an great time. I would like to let everyone know if you want to have an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefan E
Annie W, Marketing employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we were very happy to greet you, and look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My fiancé and I had a great time at Devonvale over Christmas. We stayed in a One bedroom suite with a nice garden area and a braai. The room had great views of the surrounding Stellenbosch mountains. We were just a few steps away from the pool, and ordered a lovely light lunch while enjoying our cocktails lounging in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liza-mari H
Annie W, Marketing employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you again.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As far as idilic country surroundings go, it's got to up there with the nicest. Loved the vista at breakfast which was lovely overlooking one of the greens, and breakfast itself was lovely, a buffet featuring everything you could want. The rooms were modern and nicely appointed, personally I would have preferred a larger bed. The pool area, was nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
Annie W, Marketing employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced on your arrival on Christmas day. We have taken note.... Wishing you a great year 2017.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant is empty. The phones are down. The electronics are down. The golfers have left. A tumbleweed blows past unused time-shares. Welcome to Devonvale. View the website and you would imagine vineyards around a country home type golf estate. In reality, it's a grey sprawling impersonal world of identikit blandness, in the middle of nowhere. Clearly most of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
Esther P, General Manager at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Dear Mr P we are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate. It is true that we have been badly attacked by a hacker who decrypt all our programs that we were not able to connect anymore to our server. To recap we unfortunately had to close all our businesses for online bookings...

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Room spacious and comfortable. Lovely view over the golf course. Staff friendly & helpful. Would be good to have a pot of tea or coffee instead of having to ask for refill. Pool facilities. Managed to get a last minute appointment for manicure & pedicure at the SPA

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anitagU7328UZ
Annie W, Marketin employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We like to make all our guests feel special and do our utmost to do so.

Swellendam, South Africa
Reviewed 10 December 2016

cottage was large and airy with beautiful views of the golf course and the mountains. The famous restaurant was fully booked, no suprise there, we had a good meal at the smaller restaurant. Breakfast buffet with everything, friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank capsud2015
Annie W, Marketing employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, and are pleased you had a most enjoyable stay with us and you did find an alternative meal area to our restaurant.

Bendestorf, Germany
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Many improvements compared to five years ago. You can spend weeks of lovely golf hollidies without getting bored. Compliments for the inhouse wine offerings regarding quality and value for money. Quality food for a wide range of tastes and special interests in addition to the attractive breakfast buffet.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burkhardt P
Annie W, Marketing employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and are pleased you enjoyed the improvements made since your last visit 5 years ago.... Looking forward to welcoming you again, maybe in less than 5 years though.

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 29 November 2016

we stayed a month. Very good accomodation. Friendly service. Good help for teetimes at golfcourse. This was second visit and we will come back.Nice at poolside and the whole property is in very good condition

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 710weissl
Annie W, Marketing employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, and are please that, once again, you enjoyed your month holiday with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Annie W

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
10.2 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,540 reviews
2.4 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
495 reviews
6.7 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
315 reviews
8.1 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
662 reviews
10.3 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#2 of 16 in Stellenbosch
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate

Address: Bottelary Road, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $133 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#8 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on a higher floor have a better view of the mountains and golf course”
 of 5 bubbles tarrylion, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Top floors are nice”
 of 5 bubbles 776rinam, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Garden rooms are great with braai area and access to the pool”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Garden rooms have a great outside patio with braai area”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles ianhD9743QL, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay