We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

House of House Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
House of House Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice and safe place with warm welcome from the landlord! If you want a place for your personal working activities or a place to get rest after an intensive working period, staying at House of House will be a good remedy for you.

Helpful?
Thank David N
HouseofHouse, Owner at House of House Guest House, responded to this review

Dear David, thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our guest house. More 

Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I stayed for 5 days at House of House Guest House in Stellenbosch! I enjoyed the private and heartly atmosphere and felt deeply in love with their dog ;-) Thanks for the nice conversations and your help, Christina

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cbrei_872301
HouseofHouse, Owner at House of House Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Christina, Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the guest house, and I am sure Montana (the dog) also fell in love with you. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, House of House More 

Fort Beaufort, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Dxcellent B and B. Comfortable spaious room with fine mountain views. Equiped for business wigh desk and good lighti g. Goo baghroom. Good breakfast. Kind and warm host. First feared the dog but found out she is friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gvmona59
HouseofHouse, Owner at House of House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking time to give us a review. We are glad we lived up to your expectations. More 

Nairobi Region, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2016

I really loved my stay at House of House, from the tasty breakfast to daily conversations with the manager about any and everything, it really started to feel like home for the five days I was there in midJune! The dog is so cute😍 My room lived up to expectation and I love the artsy uniqueness of everything. I could... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thethenki
HouseofHouse, Owner at House of House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we lived up to your expectations. We do offer personalized breakfasts when requested, and I have asked the manager to inform guests of this at check-in. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2016

I was very disappointed in the place. They tried to do the Africa theme but not my style. We had an apartment with 2 bedrooms but no Privacy. Only a GLASS door in between the bedrooms. The breakfast was good but no eggs was served - No Choice or variety. The first morning the shower water was cold

Helpful?
Thank alwyn1_12
HouseofHouse, Owner at House of House Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our guest house. We have since put up blinds on the glass doors so that there is privacy in the rooms. All our rooms have their own themes, the one you stayed in was our Kayamandi suite, named for the informal settlement outside of Stellenbosch. We are sorry you did... More 

South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2016

There is absolutely nothing nice to say about this place. They must have bought their 4 stars! Old fashioned, not very clean, outdated, tatty broken furniture, ill fitting curtains, knobs falling off cupboard doors, fridge off when we arrived, one sachet of no name brand coffee in the room and a hostess who announced that she was doing something new... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SouthAfricaLisa
Rustenburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Very enjoyable stay. Facilities included TV, DSTV, microwave, Bar fridge with stocked honesty bar. All cutlery and equipment necessary for a quick meal. Rooms artistically decorated giving the home away from home feeling. Very close to centre of Stellenbosch (walking distance for restaurants and shops) etc. For those who like a bit of pampering there is a Hair salon and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vaughan2016
Knysna
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed at House of House on a two day business trip. I stayed in the Mirror Room...a room with unique and arty elements with 20 mirrors of all shapes and sizes on the walls. I had everything I needed and more! Fantastic bed and linen had me sleeping like a baby. Filter Coffee, tea, biscuits, stocked fridge, dstv, aircon, thick... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne V
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in the honeymoon suite for one night while visiting Stellenbosch. Great room, big bath and shower, huge comfy bed. Very central to town, restaurants and pubs. Jolene was fantastic, excellent friendly service, with breakfast served in our room. Safe and secure and very quiet. Bathroom extractor fan a bit noisy.

Helpful?
Thank BrazoD
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at House of House for eight days while doing a training course in Stellenbosch. It was a very peaceful, secluded and quiet place. I was welcomed with a beautifully homemade Lasagne, something much appreciated after a 30 hour journey. I loved the comfort of the bed, it was so cozy and just right. Lovely plunger coffee replenished every... More 

Helpful?
Thank Henriette_P1

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.5 km away
5 Seasons Guesthouse
5 Seasons Guesthouse
#41 of 114 in Stellenbosch
83 reviews
0.1 km away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#4 of 114 in Stellenbosch
300 reviews
1.6 km away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#40 of 114 in Stellenbosch
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#3 of 114 in Stellenbosch
385 reviews
1.1 km away
22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation
1.3 km away
Eendracht Self-Catering
Eendracht Self-Catering
#15 of 48 in Stellenbosch
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
House of House is a unique guesthouse situated in Stellenbosch, offering accommodation of unparalleled style and quality in the heart of the Cape Winelands. We are dedicated to the art of living, creating a beautiful and comfortable environment for our guests. We offer five suites, each decorated with a distinct ambiance and character to give guests an experience as far removed from the impersonal assembly-line quality of large hotel franchises as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about House of House Guest House

Address: 30 Jonkershoek Street | Mostertsdrift, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $167 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — House of House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your House of House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from House of House Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you need privacy don't take the Garden room”
 of 5 bubbles alwyn1_12, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Try the honeymoon suite with the dual shower”
 of 5 bubbles Blackdelilah, 10 Apr 2011 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay