We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Devon Valley Hotel

Agoda.comUS$78*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$105*
US$78*
Great Deal
US$90*
US$88*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Devon Valley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

574 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 483: English reviews
Start your review of Devon Valley Hotel
 Click to rate
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed today NEW

Attention to detail and personal service. I felt welcomed from the minute we drove through the gates. The drive to the hotel is so beautiful. When we walked to reception they greeted us by name, offered us a welcome drink and porter assisted with luggage to our room. The bathroom was beautiful and room decorated tastefully. We had dinner at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelAboutHeidi
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Delightful old fashioned charm Peaceful, tranquil and comfortable in a beautifull setting Great personalised service by management and staff Good food in the dining room with piano on Sunday and informally outside on the terrace The whole team made a real effort to ensure that we enjoyed every moment of our stay Will definitely return

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidtE8977PY
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I've always liked the location of the hotel. Just outside Stellenbosch in a beautiful valley with great views. Checked in 6 months ago for one night and my first attempt at a shower was met with alternating scalding hot water or cold water. Complained, was told it was fixed. Tried again same story. And the same the next morning. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
Strand, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A beautiful afternoon spent with my hubby, daughter & her fiance at this hidden gem in the heart of the Stellenbosch Wine lands. The ambiance surrounded by the scenic views from the terrace where we enjoyed a scrumptious buffet lunch served by lovely waiters made my mother's day such a pleasant and unforgetfull one. The management and staff from the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenixwp
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was difficult to say goodbye. Such a beautiful property, lovely airy rooms. Absolutely great and friendly staff. Nice view of the mountains. Also offers wine tours. Close to the town as well. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shasdas
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a late lunch with family. It was nice and sunny on the terrace when we arrived but it started getting cooler as the evening progressed, we were offered fluffy blankets and they lit a "bonfire". The food, presentation, service and wine was outstanding paired with a beautiful view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie B
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fabulous lunch on the patio, beautiful setting stunning views. The lunch was magical due to the amazing service from Edgar. Thank you for making the afternoon special A wonderful warm venue, comfortable accommodation, business center not forgetting the free wifi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FionaAngelico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Delicious buffet with my two children and my husband - perfect for a hungry family. Lovely meals including starters, carvers, puddings and cheeses and great service and setting. Well worth the per head cost and extensive wine menu.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamsin F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything from location, food , etc was lovely. Only complaint would be no mirror or dressing table in the bedroom. Makes it difficult for a lady to do her hair and make up. The room was so big and spacious, didn't understand why no dressing table.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank W9623HTdeborahs
Jean-Paul v, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DeborahS, Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the feedback regarding the dresser, we will most definitely look into it. Warmest Regards, Jean-Paul and the Devon Valley Hotel team.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After being very sceptic booking a Sunday luncheon Buffet at the hotel, because we could not get a booking anywhere else, we arrived with a bit of trepidation but, we were met at the front door with a glass of vino and or orange juice, ushered in to a well appointed dining room for a truly delivious luncheon. When one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edwina H
Jean-Paul v, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Edwina H, Wonderful to hear that your expectations were not met, but exceeded! Our team prides themselves on ensuring our guests experience 'Handmade Hospitality' first hand. We will be sure to commend all involved on a job well done! Looking forward to hosting you in the near future. Warm Regards, Jean-Paul and the Devon Valley Hotel team.

322 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (237)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
8.8 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,768 reviews
4.5 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
857 reviews
5.9 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
775 reviews
5.8 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.5 km away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $106 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Devon Valley Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Devon Valley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“take rooms far from reception to get quietness”
TravelAboutHeidi, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay - only had lunch”
, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 26 on ground floor, which was very nice. Appreciated having nice outdoor area to sit & relax”
jackieb242, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for rooms 1 to 7”
GoldenOldie1954, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“deluxe rooms dont have fridges.”
rrustler, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$78* /night
View Deal
Preferred HotelsUS$90
Hotwire.comUS$88
HotelQuicklyUS$105
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates