We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch

Certificate of Excellence
09/05/2017 10/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 291: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
 Click to rate
Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were travelling in a group of friends on a wine tour, and stayed at this Hotel for four nights. The accommodation was very good, large apartments, and comfortable. There is a very good pool in the grounds. Staff were friendly and cheerful. The wifi was either rather bad or non existent. On arrival to our room, and those of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joywAustralia
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for rating us on Tripadvisor, we appreciate all our GUESTS feedback. It is a standard with in Protea that we all make use of the Vivreau water system, please see below more information about the Vivreau system. You can also read more about them on their website. Established in the late 80's, Vivreau has grown to...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Highs The public areas are fairly good - the breakfast in the mornings is great and so are the view. The bedroom was nicely decorated and made up, although really small. No bar fridge in the room we had. Lows The bathroom was horrid. Definitely neat - but just really small and badly equipped. House keeping didn't bother to change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M2675WWmelissap
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Good day Melissa Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. I would like to inform you that we do have rooms that is bigger and also have a bigger bathroom, it is our deluxe rooms. It is beautifully equipped with a lounge area, kitchenette and full bathroom. I have...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We got an upgrade so we don't really know how the normal rooms look but we do know that the Deluxe rooms have an Upstairs and Downstairs which is quite luxurious.The breakfast was quite nice not very fancy but tasty. The people that work there are very nice. But the area that the hotel is placed in is not great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BooperDooperPoo... L
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for your rating. I would just like to make a 100% sure that you have stayed at our property or at the Protea in town called Dorpshuis. Reason why I am asking is we do not have an upstairs and downstairs in our deluxe rooms and I know Dorpshuis do have. But I am glad to...

Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel did not match up the the accommodations and service in the other Protea hotels where we stayed during our visit to South Africa. No luggage rack in the room, light bulbs in outside entry were not working - dangerous at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdJablonsky
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Good day I would like to thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. I have addressed the issues with the relevant department heads and they have discussed it with their STAFF and solved the problems with regards to the...

Cape Town
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed here a couple of times for a weekend and really love it. The deluxe rooms are great and very spacious. Service is friendly at both reception and the restaurant. Good variety for breakfast and a great restaurant Die Wingerd. We will always come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WilIls
Elze L, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for giving us feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we have met you expectations and that you will return. Looking forward to welcome you back to Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch. Kindest Regards,

CT
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Protea Stellenbosch for two nights. We chose it because of the Marriott brand and we are familiar with the high-quality service this brand brings. Unfortunately, our experience here was not like those we've had at their other properties. The hotel sits high on a hill in the Stellenbosch wine region. It is on a busy road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CKF
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Good day, I would like to thank you for giving us such constructive feedback with regards to your recent stay. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay with us. I have informed our Housekeeping department regarding your tub that was not clean, our Executive Housekeeper will follow up with the relevant Room Checker...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

A hotel really set up for conferences and tour groups. Ok for a couple, but there will be more intimate ones available. Close to Golf Course and Bleuuklippen Vinyard. Well worth a visit. Food was fine in the restaurant but the buffet breakfast was very good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anneha451
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback with regards to your recent stay. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, I hope you had the change to experience our surrounding wine farms and golf courses. Hope you will visit us again whenever your travels bring you back to Stellenbosch....

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This was our first stop when we arrived in Stellenbosch and it's definitely not anything special. The reception staff were friendly and professional but, that's about where it ended. The room we got was huge but, the doors didn't close properly, the shower was like I was standing next to a waterfall and felt a bit of spray on me....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shan12015
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Good day, I would like to thank you for giving us feedback with regards to your recent stay at our hotel. I do apologize for your bad experience at our Wingerd restaurant, I would really like to find out who the staff member was that "greeted" you. I would really appreciate it if you can give me a name or...

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Very friendly staff. Beds are to die for...if you are on holiday and want to rest propperly at night this is the place. Clean. Nice view. Breakfast very nice and fresh. Blaauklippen wines is just across the road..bargain...and close to other malls and shops. We stay her every year on our vacation to Stellenbosch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 346elenes
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you so much for your positive comments with regards to your recent stay at our property. We do appreciate your feedback and will certain share your feedback with our STAFF and Management TEAM. Hope to see you again whenever your travels bring you back to Stellenbosch. Kindest Regards,

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We have recently stayed at this Protea for 2 nights. Being a world traveller I had high expectations of the hotel due to the location. The views of the mountains around Stellenbosh is gorgeous, the staff friendly and helpful in the restaurant and reception.....aha....and then the rooms! Rooms are sort of airy and light but cupboards and some furniture are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chillisolutions
Elze L, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this review

Good day, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback with regards to your recent stay at our property. I do apologize for the maintenance faults in your room and also our Housekeeping department that was not up to standard. I have informed our Food and Beverage manager with regards to your experience...

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Other (11)
09/05/2017 10/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.0 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,715 reviews
4.0 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
754 reviews
4.1 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa
7.2 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
559 reviews
3.4 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of the Winelands, in one of the most beautiful and heritage conscious towns, Stellenbosch is the second-oldest town in South Africa and affectionately referred to as the "Eikestad." Nestled between two international golf courses, Protea Hotel Stellenbosch offers all guests the best of the Winelands. Accommodation is available in Executive, Deluxe and Standard Twin rooms, where Deluxe and Standard rooms configure to a two-bedroom apartment ideal for families and groups. Executive rooms have the best view in the house and are designed with the executive traveller in mind. Whether it’s the magnificent backdrop of mountain ranges you seek, perhaps just a scenic drive or wine tasting at the many surrounding wine farms, you will never run out of things to see and do. The hotel boasts two restaurants, two swimming pools, braai facilities, wireless internet access and the largest conference venue in Stellenbosch. If that’s not enough, why not gaze at the 270° view of the Helderberg mountain range, Blaauwklippen vineyards and the De Zalze Golf Estate. Whether it’s a family holiday or a team building activity you are looking for, Protea Hotel Stellenbosch is just the venue for you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch

Address: Techno Avenue, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $116 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotwire, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Protea Hotel
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“good view from upstairs”
joywAustralia, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The deluxe rooms are really great.”
WilIls, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Corner suites are the best option”
angeretted, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else in Stellenbosch?”
489steveb489, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“South facing rooms offer the best views”
  • Pliers to operate diverter valve
  • Holes in bathroom walls
  • New hose at least fitted
KevinKraaibosch, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Protea Hotels
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates