We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summerwood Guest House

368 reviews
Save
Traveller (113)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (13)
Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good13%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Airport Transportation
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (368)Write a Review
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
253
33
5
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
253
33
5
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housecomplimentary coffeelovely guesthouselovely poolminute walk into the centretop floorhonesty barour honeymoonbreakfast areacape townnice touchesattention to detailour room was spaciousspent two nightsquiet areaa wonderful place to stayswimming pool
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent 4 really enjoyable nights here at the start of our trip to SA. Location is good within walking distance to centre. We had a great room, very spacious with large comfortable bed. Garden and pool area are a great place to relax. Staff were...More

Thank Mary-Cheshire1234
Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Reviewed 20 October 2017

You can't beat perfection, so just book and enjoy. We had the very spacious top room with windows and views on every wall. 6ft bed. Enjoyed the free bikes. Wonderful food and great staff. Lovely books to read. Thank you for such a delightful stay.More

Thank ChantalMW
Response from SWGuesthouse, Manager at Summerwood Guest HouseResponded 21 October 2017

Thank you so very much for a lovely review, we really appreciate all your compliments. It was such a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope that you visit us again when you come back to South Africa. Kind Regards Ninke Saunders...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So, we stayed in Stellenbosch for 2 nights at the summerwood guesthouse, double room/ garden room. I must admit, unfortunately, that I have been quite disappointed... especially because of all the good reviews on TripAdvisor. firstly, the welcome was not as warm hearted as we...More

Thank Josefine W
Response from SWGuesthouse, Owner at Summerwood Guest HouseResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Josefine, As you know, I have already contacted you directly in response to your review It is always heartbreaking to hear a guest of Summerwood was so disappointed, but I have taken your critique very seriously and am speaking with my team on immediate...More

Reviewed 14 January 2018

I was very much looking forward to staying at Summerwood after reading the reviews and the Tripadvisor rating but I was left disappointed. Let's focus on the positives first. The hotel was well located, the room we had was clean and large (room 8), but...More

Thank awslufc
Response from SWGuesthouse, Owner at Summerwood Guest HouseResponded 15 January 2018

Dear guest I am truly saddened to read your review. Apologies that you did not find us welcoming upon your arrival. Other guests recently requested to be provided with such important information upon checkin and we implemented it for that reason. Understandably, it is however...More

Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

I don’t often write reviews but Summerwood Guesthouse is a wonderful place to stay in Stellenbosch not only the rooms, garden and breakfast but especially the people who made our stay fantastic. A special thank you to André and Chanel. You guys are the best!!

Thank cocochouchou
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345659
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Concierge
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Details
Price range
US$135 - US$230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$135 - US$230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (113)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (13)
Pool & Beach (8)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
John F
8 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SWGuesthouse | Property representative |
Hi John, we have newly renovated our house and it looks great, so you can look forward to an even more beautiful house, brilliant service and a peaceful nights rest. We would love to accommodate you again soon!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Top floor room was great."
Read review
"Room 8 is lovely - on the top floor with windows on 4 sides (though a couple of flights of stairs to get..."
Read review
"Book top floor room fantastic views of mountains and sunsets"
Read review
"I think all the rooms overlook the pool area which is very pleasant."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing